We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Getting Better” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sunset Bay - CLOSED

Sunset Bay
Cuisines: American, Seafood
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
149 reviews
123 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Getting Better”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2013

Apparently there is new management of this well-located restaurant overlooking the inland waterway. We avoided early visits as friends' experience was not good. When we heard that there was new management we took a chance. The food was better than expected with a broad menu and traditional favorites. The view was great although we wished that the windows were lower. The tables were spaced well apart helping with the acoustics that might be a problem with a full crowd. Service was okay given that the luncheon crowd was sparse. Visitors on the way to HHI should consider stopping here for lunch before they hit the timeshare.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Snooge42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

27 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    9
    6
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hilton Head, South Carolina
Level Contributor
71 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Spectacular view of the bay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2013

We had lunch and dinner here and it was great. This restaurant just opened in November '12 so we need to give them a chance to perfect their restaurant. I had the sea bass and it was great and my friend had the seafood platter and it was huge and she said the crab cake was awesome. It is not a place for a romantic dinner but if you want some good food and a great view give it a try. I am sure once toursit season starts, they will be slammed. Best view on the island. Great bartender Dave is so pleasant and the drinks were great.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Misha00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
54 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Very hit or miss on food and service.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2013 via mobile

Beautiful location, but only half the tables get to see a sunset and half get to look at the highway to Hilton Head. Ordered drinks and teas, wonderful Sangria, tea was tinted water and beer glass had bug in it. Mixed grill broiled was excellent as we're the crab cakes, but pasta and shrimp were drownding in too much sauce. Cheesecake ok, lava cake very good. It is very hit or miss.

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank islandlover1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bluffton,SC
Level Contributor
78 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Two Out of Three Ain't Bad!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2013

Do you remember the song "Two out of Three Ain't Bad?" Well, two out of three of our visits were good, one was disappointing! My wife and I are South Carolina locals and have enjoyed the Sunset Bay this January, 2013 on three occasions. This restaurant was formally, the "Sea Trawler" and is now the "Sunset Bay." The new owners have made some wonderful improvements and the view is outstanding.

We have to rate the "Locals Lunch" and restaurant dinner as five (5) Star! Today, we sampled the "Sunday Brunch" with another couple and were, sad to say, disappointed. When our meal was delivered, every entry was wrong!

My wife had to wait while her order was corrected and we waited to start our brunch until her order was served. Would we return for the "Sunday Brunch?" NO! Sorry, there are so many wonderful restaurants in the Hilton Head, Bluffton area. We will dine at the Sunset Bay for lunch and dinner but never for the "Sunday Brunch."

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton Head, South Carolina
Level Contributor
37 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2013

This restaurant is under new management and the change is welcome. The dining room is very large and the new owners have added several large planters to break it up a bit. The view of the low country marsh and waterway is very nice. The menu was varied and the prices seemed very reasonable. I chose the fried shrimp for $14.95. The shrimp were plump and juicy. It was served with french fries, cole slaw, and hush puppies. I had a cup of their she crab soup and it was thick and delicious. My wife ordered the twin crab cakes for $15.95. The cakes were large and prepared just right with a lobster sauce. Served with sweet potato fries, and a veggie. We had a few Bud Lites with our meal and was surprised to see on the bill that they were only $2 each. My kind of place. We will definitely go back and try some of their other offerings in the next week or two.

The bar area was very nice and for a Wednesday night they had a nice crowd of about 30 folks.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Doug M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sunset Bay also viewed

Bluffton, Coastal South Carolina
Bluffton, Coastal South Carolina
 
Bluffton, Coastal South Carolina
Bluffton, Coastal South Carolina
 
Bluffton, Coastal South Carolina
Bluffton, Coastal South Carolina
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing