We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from Home”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Bluffton
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Bluffton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 30, 2013

I moved to SSI Georgia from Bluffton about 6 months ago, and have been coming back almost every weekend to see friends. I always stay at the Holiday Inn Express. I've never had a bad experience to date. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The rooms are very clean and comfortable. It really does feel like my second home

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rick G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandy G, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Bluffton, responded to this reviewResponded May 31, 2013

Rick G,
Home away from home is a perfect comment about our hotel. Our staff works hard to ensure your stay is amazing. We look forward to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (390)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

239 - 245 of 390 reviews

Reviewed May 29, 2013

The assistant manager of the hotel checked us in and acknowledged me, then turned away and starting talking to an employee not in uniform. After about 30 seconds of talking, she looked back at me and asked me for my name, again. Sorry, customer comes first. We got checked in and got to the room, but the room key would not work. The housekeeper came over and told us that it has to be swiped a few times to work. Ok. They need to work on that. I received a code for the free wi fi, but when I got to the room, it did not work. Upon further inspection, the code was expired. They need to work on that. Other than those little inconviences, the hotel was very nice. Clean rooms, good AC, comfortable beds, ample parking, and a decent breakfast, but not great. Please don't say what do I expect for free. It is not free. It is factored into your room rate. We will stay again. Great location in Bluffton. My wife says be very careful with the hot water. It will change on you to very hot without warning. They need to work on that too.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
Thank DannyG985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheilakbaxley, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Bluffton, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2013

Dear Danny,
My sincerest apologies for your experience at check in. You are correct and yes our guests always come first. I will address each of your issues with my management team to help us improve. I am pleased that you found our hotel to be very nice and clean during your stay with us. We do hope that you will choose to stay with us on your next visit to Bluffton, SC.

Sincerely,
Sheila K. Baxley
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

We stayed at this property over Memorial Day weekend for three nights. Overall we enjoyed our stay, however if you are looking for a hotel that manages guests with pets efficiently...this isn't the place for you. Since we only had a small issue with a barking dog one morning, overall they seem to manage the property pretty well. The staff is pretty friendly, especially the housekeeping staff and breakfast attendants. They offer a hot breakfast buffet with a decent number of options and comfortable dining room seating. The hotel is renovated, but IMO it seems that the bathrooms were overlooked. The rooms are dark, maybe it depends on what direction your specific room faces, but the room we were in was a cave as far as lighting is concerned. The bed is comfortable but the rollaways are shameful...just bring an air mattress if necessary. The hotel is adjacent to a shopping center, with a Target, Dicks, Staples, and Starbucks to name a few. We never ventured to the pool, but it was nice that they offer both a pool and a gym for guests. We'll probably return again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank abangura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandy G, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Bluffton, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2013

Thank you for your feedback about your most recent stay with our hotel. We apologize for any problems you experienced over the Memorial Day weekend. Our hotel is pet friendly and most of the time our pets are very well behaved. The staff works hard to please our guests and it shows from your comments that you felt welcomed and comfortable. Thank you again and we are sorry you will not give us another chance on your next visit to our area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights during Memorial Day Weekend. The hotel was fully booked but all seemed to run smoothly and the staff was always very friendly and helpful. As a matter of fact, I guess that it is rather remarkable and a credit to the staff that we didn't hear any grumbling customers anywhere in the hotel during our entire stay. The rooms are clean, beds comfortable and AC worked well and was reasonably quiet. This hotel is on the mainland, just a few miles from the bridge to HH. It is close to many golf courses, restaurants & outlet shopping. We stopped at one of the local farm markets and got great peaches that were just coming into season. The fresh shrimp looked fantastic - and we would have bought some if we weren't flying home. If you are planning a week of daily trips to the beach, the distance may be inconvenient but for a weekend getaway, the value can't be beat. We would definitely come back.

Room Tip: Our room had a nice view of the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnniefromMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandy G, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Bluffton, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2013

We are thrilled that you choose our hotel for your Memorial Day Weekend celebration. Our staff is amazing and thrives during these busier times in the hotel. We look forward to seeing you again at our hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for five nights with our dog. It is a nice new facility and is well kept. The room was clean and the morning breakfast was nicely done. They have coffee all day, and even put out cookies in the afternoon. Our only complaint was that out room, which was on the first floor right next to the pool, had a lot of gnats (or some other small flying bug) in the room. They were always in the bathroom. It may have been our proximity to the pool, but it was annoying and we were getting bitten. We didn't complain, and just assumed that it was common for the region, but we didn't have the problem at any of the other area hotels we stayed at. Other than the gnats, it was a nice place.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
Thank TJAltz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandy G, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Bluffton, responded to this reviewResponded May 31, 2013

We appreciate you taking the time to tell us about your recent visit to our hotel. Our hotel is pet friendly and our staff works hard to ensure our guest rooms are clean and neat. Thank you again for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2013

We booked this hotel based on it's proximity to a golf tournament my son was playing in. It's pretty typical for a hotel in this range. It was clean and the employees were generally helpful. They do offer a nice breakfast spread. The rooms themselves were clean and had everything you would expect. There were at least 4 places to eat within 300 yards of the hotel. There is also a shopping center about 500 yards away with a Target and a Dicks Sporting Goods. I wouldn't recommend this hotel as an option if you were looking for something close to the beach as it's about 30-40 minutes with traffic to the beaches in Hilton Head. There are several nice golf courses within a few miles though.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dwsewell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandy G, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Bluffton, responded to this reviewResponded May 20, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to comment about our hotel. Our guests enjoy the close proximity to shopping and dinning to the hotel. We hope you will consider our location in your future travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2013

We reserved a king room for three nights - in general we felt it was a very nice room at a decent price for visiting the Hilton Head Island area. As it is high season, the hotels in hilton head proper are quite expensive, so we went farther afield.
PROS: Very large room, attractive, clean, lots of amenites like free Wi-fi, refrigerator, microwave, coffee pot, "full" breakfast . Good HVAC system, fairly quiet. Nice flat screen TV.
Good Irish pub nearby, you can walk there. Many good restaurants in an easy drive.
Close to Northern Hilton Head.
Close to the HH outlets if you like to shop
Personnel were all very nice and tried to be helpful,
Husband liked the pancake making machine in the dining room.
They have an eco-policy of not changing towels or sheets, unless you ask for it I think that is a great idea, and can make a difference.


CONS: this hotel is actually a bit hard to locate in the shopping center, you enter for the back, but you will find it!
Breakfast can be great or not depending on what you eat. If you are looking for low carb or lowfat, not so great. You will get a few things to eat, but not many. Exact same offerings every day.
Mattresses were on the soft side, not that great for bad backs, and pillows were small and pretty uncomfortable.
Housekeeping could have been a little more fastidious in their cleaning attempts of the bathroom, but otherwise was fine.
Pretty far from central and lower Hilton Head Island.

All in all, we liked this hotel and gave it a good rating. We would probably stay there again if we could not find a reasonable hotel closer to Hilton
Head itself.

Room Tip: Our room faced the parking lot, but it was not noisy so we did not care. If you do, ask for one tha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ILuvEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandy G, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Bluffton, responded to this reviewResponded May 20, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to comment about our hotel. We appreciate your feedback and will alert out team to your recommendations. We hope you will consider our location in your future travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bluffton
6.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton,  Bluffton-Sun City
1.2 mi away
Comfort Suites Bluffton
Comfort Suites Bluffton
#5 of 6 in Bluffton
261 reviews
6.4 mi away
Candlewood Suites Bluffton-Hilton Head
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.9 mi away
Beach House, A Holiday Inn Resort
3.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Hilton Head
Hilton Garden Inn Hilton Head
#15 of 28 in Hilton Head
883 reviews
9.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hilton Head Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Bluffton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Bluffton

Address: 35 Bluffton Rd, Bluffton, SC 29910-7620
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Bluffton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Bluffton
#4 Business Hotel in Bluffton
Price Range: $113 - $194 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Bluffton 2.5*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Hotel Bluffton in Hilton Head, SC. Our hotel is the perfect location for anyone who is visiting graduates of USMC-Parris Island, planning a beach vacation in Hilton Head Island, SC or visiting the historic cities of Beaufort, SC & Savannah, GA. Bluffton, South Carolina, is the home of several championship golf courses to Hilton Head Island. Call us to plan your next golf vacation package. The Holiday Inn Express Hotel - Bluffton in Hilton Head, SC is centrally located in the shopping district of this historic town and within walking distance to restaurants, shops, & within minutes of the most recognized golf courses in the area. Bluffton, SC is the gateway to Hilton Head Island, filled with everything you'd expect to find at a world famous resort. While vacationing at our Holiday Inn Express Hotel - Bluffton in Hilton Head, SC, uncover the hidden treasures of this South Carolina beach & golf vacation paradise. Explore & enjoy the Hilton Head Beaches, kayaking, fishing, dolphin/dinner cruises, sunset sails, golf packages, shopping, historic tours, or simply relax at our seasonal outdoor pool. Plan a day trip to visit the beautiful, historic towns of the Old South : Savannah, GA - 25 MI Historic Charleston, SC - 90 MI Beaufort, SC / Parris Island - 20 MI Step back in time and experience the history that made South Carolina a place to vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Bluffton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Bluffton
Holiday Inn Express Bluffton
Holiday Inn Bluffton
Hilton Bluffton
Bluffton Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing