We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“awsome”
Review of Claude and Uli's

Claude and Uli's
Ranked #1 of 199 Restaurants in Bluffton
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $35
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Description: Claude & Uli's Bistro is a small unpretentious European restaurant and bar, serving classic French-style bistro fare at affordable prices. Please note we are closed between lunch and dinner from 2pm-5pm.
Savannah, Georgia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“awsome”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

had reservation for 7pm were seated as we walked in,restaurant was full with early special customers, we had a party of six,server was very attentive and very knowledgable,menue was awesome, had appetizers,bottle of wine claudes private label,veal was excellent,she crab soup to die for,all meal cooked to perfection deserts were spectacular, we left at 10 (closing time) last to exit so early crowd and older crowed but very pleasant, hard to locate if your not familiar with area other couple from Knox. and had hard time locating coming off the island

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dougtrudy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

477 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    363
    79
    22
    6
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Bluffton, South Carolina
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“DELIGHTFUL DINING EXPERIENCE”
Reviewed September 2, 2013

We have eaten here several times for lunch and early bird specials. The food is always exceptionally good.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sam R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
37 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Made a special evening”
Reviewed August 29, 2013

We made reservations here as a surprised for our 85 year old mother in law as she had always wanted to try it. Since her birthday is on sept 10th & we were passing thru town we wanted to surprise her. I believe we succeeded . We all loved the she crab soup. 2 had the special which was crispy salmon stuffed with crabmeat & cheeses in a puff pastry. Whatever sauce it was in was excellent. Everyone raved about it. One had the crab cakes and ate them dispite just having a tooth pulled that day -so they must have been good. Even my salad with big chunks of crabmeat,avocado,veggies & excellent dressing & sauces was perfect. We then ordered the dessert trio for 2 which was a perfect ending to a perfect evening. Plus a sparkle for the birthday girl. We will go back for all special events. A+++

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Floridahomebody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton Head, SC
Level Contributor
96 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Reasonably Price French Cusine”
Reviewed August 26, 2013

My wife and I have eaten at Claude & Uli's for years. I decided to write a review when I realized that these reviews can actually mean something to the restaurants. Since my brother-in-law owns a similar restaurant on Hilton Head I am a little reticent to write this review, but Claude & Uli deserve it.

This is French. This is as French as you are going to get in South Carolina including any restaurant in Charleston. And, this is good. My wife and I went last week with another couple. He had the escargot and pronounced them suburb. I had a pate trilogy that was truly amazing, almost a meal in it self. My wife and her friend had the caesar salads. And this was only the first courses. I then had a local trout that was poached in wine with mushrooms and was excellent. My friend had the salmon that he stated was fabulous. Meanwhile my wife and her friend had appetizers for main courses, a seafood crepe and a chicken crepe that were both tasty, but also filling.

The wine list was more than adequate. It was not large, but it had a number of inexpensive quality choices at prices that I have not seen in any other local restaurant. I was impressed. And the desserts---where can you find a large number of quality desserts for less than $6.00? This is where you need to come to have a sophisticated meal in a relaxing setting and know what dining is all about.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HiltonHeadWolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent place..uli and Amanda are so kind”
Reviewed August 23, 2013 via mobile

Uli and Amanda which are the family who owns the place are so nice.the food was amazing.great prices and great drinks.my favorite place in Hilton head by far.check this place out.you won't have any regrets

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank zan22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Claude and Uli's also viewed

Bluffton, Coastal South Carolina
Bluffton, Coastal South Carolina
 
Bluffton, Coastal South Carolina
Bluffton, Coastal South Carolina
 
Bluffton, Coastal South Carolina
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Claude and Uli's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing