We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“amazing bbq”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Bluffton BBQ

Bluffton BBQ
Ranked #25 of 197 Restaurants in Bluffton
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Dining on a budget, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: located in historic old town Bluffton
Bluffton, South Carolina
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“amazing bbq”
Reviewed February 21, 2013

frequent lunch stop, great pulled pork, sweet potato cassorole to die for. I live a stones throw away and I can smell the bbq slow cooking all day monday and tuesday...by wednesday there is no choice but to go get some. Simple presentation, quick service. $40 for pulled pork tray, great game day or party item.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ahschrem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    132
    33
    15
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newark, Ohio
Level Contributor
62 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Best BBQ I've ever had!”
Reviewed February 16, 2013

WOW!!! If you're within 50 miles of this place...make the trip - you won't regret it. My wife and I split a rack of ribs (amazing) and 2 sides of sweet potatoe casserole and a side of collored greens. This combo was only like $22. They were all out of this world. The owner, Ted, came out and introduced himself. Very friendly place. Only seats 26 inside but they have some seating for the outside. You must go!!! I'm thinking of calling him to see if he'll cook us some ribs, put them on dry ice and mail them to us in Ohio.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RonBaughman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Carolina known for BBQ- this ain't it”
Reviewed February 15, 2013 via mobile

Horrible BBQ. Went here because of the radio ad. However, this place will only draw Yankee tourists who don't know BBQ. The service is fast because they keep the ribs boiling in back, then swab the sauce on 'em before serving. Yeah, this causes the rib to pull away from the bone, but yuck. Warning- anytime a rack of ribs has to be camouflaged in sauce, watch out. Also, only about 5 tables in there, won't sustain the lunch crowd. I give this alleged BBQ joint less than a year. Pulled pork is average, like what you can get from the grocery stores.

Helpful?
Thank Hollingsword
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicholasville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
99 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“BBQ for the people”
Reviewed January 25, 2013

Great BBQ pork and service at a reasonable price. The atmosphere is pure southern BBQ. The only issue I had was that the cole slaw was not good.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TripPsychic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CT
Level Contributor
210 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“wonderful ribs”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

we chose take-out, full rack was quite delish and not badly priced. Nice people, locally owned in up-and-coming area, but this place has been there for a while.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank jardinage45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bluffton BBQ also viewed

Bluffton, Coastal South Carolina
Bluffton, Coastal South Carolina
 
Bluffton, Coastal South Carolina
Bluffton, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Bluffton BBQ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing