We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AWESOME FOOD!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Cottage

The Cottage
Ranked #6 of 197 Restaurants in Bluffton
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Winner of Hilton Head Monthly Reader's Choice Awards and Best of Bluffton Awards in 2014, 2013, 2012, 2011 and 2010! Sit back and relax in this cozy, 1868 Low Country cottage, then savor delicious, sophisticated fare for Breakfast, Lunch, Brunch, Afternoon Tea, Early Dining, Dinner, and Sunday Brunch. Breakfast items include Green Eggs N' Ham, Cottage Hash, French Toast, Huevos Rancheros, and a long list of Benedicts! Lunch includes award-winning Tacos, Pot Pies, Awesome Salads, Lettuce Wraps, Paninis, the BEST Fried Green Tomatoes EVER, and house specials such as B'Town Gumbo, Shrimp & Grits, Lobster Avocado Roll, Cranberry Trout , Flounder Amandine and more! The Cottage features 20-30 different desserts every day. Award-winning Pistachio Cake is a MUST! Choose from the daily delectable assortment of pies, cakes, cookies, bread pudding, dessert bars, brownies, shortbread, corn bread, homemade granola, cheesecakes, local honey and more! The Cottage offers a full bar including wine and beer, house-roasted coffees, cappuccinos, lattes, espresso and more than 75 loose-leaf teas to choose from. Dine indoors or out on the wrap-around porch. Pet friendly. Reservations suggested for parties of five or more.
Wichita, Kansas
Level Contributor
142 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“AWESOME FOOD!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2014

Charming is a term oft-used to describe this restaurant, but it really should be the picture alongside the word ‘charming’ in the dictionary.

When the breakfast burrito arrived the size of a football you know you have hit the mother-lode of comfort food! My classic Eggs Benedict was perfect, perfect, perfect.

The “team” concept of serving tables was a well-coordinated effort. We never wanted for any attention and all the servers were pleasant if not comical with one commenting on the “radio voice” of my companion while another, walking by, quipped, “Yeah, radio face, too!” He meant no disrespect, and we all had a good laugh.

The salt-caramel rolls in the case behind our table beckoned, but by the time we were done with the hefty servings of truly fabulous food, we had to walk away without them.

Go. Indulge.

Date of Visit: 21Mar14

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Anne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

794 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    473
    201
    69
    31
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Southington, Connecticut
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Charming little cafe”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2014 via mobile

The Gumbo was delicious, having just the right amount of spice and the accompanying salad was crisp and fresh. I felt very comfortable as a solo diner. The Staff was friendly and attentive. I would definitely return on my next visit to Bluffton.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Molly16_81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville
Level Contributor
71 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2014

4 of us went for lunch during the farmers market day. This meant we had to wait. The hostess was a bit off on her wait time but we were finally seated outside as it was a beautiful day. Great daily special choices and an extensive menu. Three of us had the daily specials...fried green tomatoes rated excellent; the chicken salad special also rated excellent and lastly, the fish tacos...to die for. The fourth meal was the French dip which was very delicious. We were too full to indulge in dessert but they looked extremely delightful. I would not hesitate in going back here!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ShineshineOakville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
268 reviews
219 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Nice Outdoor Seating”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2014

We went to the Cottage, located in Old Town Bluffton, on the recommendation of the desk clerk at our hotel. We wanted to patronize a local restaurant, not a chain, for breakfast. The Cottage did not disappoint! We chose to sit outside along the sidewalk. They brought homemade corn muffins to the table as a starter. They were the best I've ever had. Then we both ordered their "Eggs your Way" breakfast, which consisted of eggs, fried potatoes with onions and peppers, your choice of ham, bacon, or sausage, and one piece each of cantaloupe and honeydew melon. Delicious!! The eggs were light and fluffy, not overcooked; and the fried potatoes were so good. We will definitely go back the next time we're in that area.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Wanda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh
Level Contributor
97 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Fantastic lunch spot”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2014 via mobile

We ate here during the Art weekend and it was crowded, but service was quick and food excellent. Two of us had the salad with crab cakes. Best crab cakes ever. The desserts looked fabulous, but our lunch portions were filling especially with the flatbreads on the side. My husband had the hamburger with pimento cheese and said it was excellent. I imagine their breakfast is to die for.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank NoFo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Cottage also viewed

Bluffton, Coastal South Carolina
Bluffton, Coastal South Carolina
 
Bluffton, Coastal South Carolina
Bluffton, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to The Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing