We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautifully Restored Low Country Mansion”
Review of Rose Hill Mansion

Rose Hill Mansion
Book In Advance
More Info
$25.00*
and up
Rose Hill Mansion Tour in Bluffton SC
Ranked #2 of 23 things to do in Bluffton
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: The historic Rose Hill Mansion, known as the most beautiful plantation house in the Low Country, has long held a treasured place in Southern history. Originally built in the late 1850s by planter and physician, Dr. John Kirk and his wife Caroline, the plantation was a wedding present from Caroline's father, James Kirk. Work was halted by the Civil War, and while occupied through the years, the interior was not completed until 1946, when new owners John and Betsy Gould Sturgeon finished it in grand style. In 1980, the Welton family purchased the land and the house was later listed in the National Register of Historic Places. In 1987, a fire devastated the house & it sat in a state of ruin until purchased and restored by The Middleton White Foundation. After a decade long restoration, the home is now shared with the public each day, via guided history tours. Reservations are required for all tours.
Reviewed January 16, 2018

Prior to today, I was unaware of the Mansion. We went with another couple and were greeted by a lady docent in Victorian dress with a Southern drawl befitting the period. In as much as the current owners occupy the house, the first floor is the only part of the home that is open to visitors, but is more than enough to have a real feel for it's history. At the conclusion of the tour we were served Tea and freshly baked treats by Miss Pat. There was a choice of several teas all of which were excellent. All in all a wonderful day.

Date of experience: January 2018
Thank Great_diner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (449)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"current owners"
in 38 reviews
"first floor"
in 23 reviews
"miss pat"
in 21 reviews
"the owner"
in 55 reviews
"our tour guide"
in 33 reviews
"dining room"
in 22 reviews
"plantation home"
in 14 reviews
"gothic style"
in 10 reviews
"beautiful house"
in 9 reviews
"wonderful tour"
in 16 reviews
"main floor"
in 8 reviews
"civil war"
in 32 reviews
"delicious snacks"
in 8 reviews
"true southern hospitality"
in 8 reviews
"tour ended"
in 8 reviews
"home owners"
in 7 reviews
"delightful afternoon"
in 6 reviews
Filter

88 - 92 of 448 reviews

Reviewed January 15, 2018

Really cool architecture, awesome, unique decorating. Great knowledgeable guide who encourages visitors to sit on antique furniture while listening to guides, pass around photos, touch things, taste wonderful appetizers and desserts along with refreshing flavored tea. Also, last owners of mansion live there, were married there and husband is an awesome artist who specializes in portraits. His wife’s portrait is beautiful and displayed along with her gown and other things in her portrait, The landscape outside is lovely.

Date of experience: January 2018
Thank Jesse T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2018 via mobile

Beautiful civil war era plantation home! Fascinating history. Excellent guide, Joan C. , personalized the tour with interesting facts and stories of all the owners, past and present. Delightful tastes of southern cuisine presented by Miss Patty following the tour. I would go again and tell everyone it’s a must do while visiting Hilton Head.

Date of experience: January 2018
Thank 7,839
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2018 via mobile

We drove all the way from Maine to escape the cold! Our tour guide at Rose Hill Plantation was extremely knowledgeable about the history of the property. We also had a lovely lady, who provided us with wonderful refreshments at the end of the tour!! Well worth the $25 tour fee. Very relaxed tour with plenty of time to explore both the interior and exterior of the property!! We were very impressed with our tour. Lovely home!

Date of experience: January 2018
Thank barb51maine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed January 9, 2018

We never toured the Mansion as we were told there was a power outage upon arrival. We had purchased tickets online only a few hours prior.

Date of experience: January 2018
Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank Bensage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robin W, Owner at Rose Hill Mansion, responded to this reviewResponded January 11, 2018

Hello,

I'm so very sorry that you were not able to experience visiting the Rose Hill Mansion. Unfortunately in combination with the major ice storm that affected us and the surrounding areas over the course of several days and an unforeseen power outage the morning of your tour, we deemed it unsafe to open the home for visitors. Additionally, when booking online you are not required to confirm a phone number or email address so guests that did not have that information were not able to be reached directly. To combat this, our voicemail and social media reflected our closure and all reimbursements were processed prior to guests arrival at 2pm in a last ditch effort to get the word out to those who could not be contacted directly.

As with all reviews, we love to hear feedback on your overall experience and we are saddened that you were not able to join us for a tour of the home. Please feel free to call us directly at 843-757-6046 for more information regarding our tour schedule over the next few weeks as we would be thrilled to rebook your visit for a date that works best for you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rose Hill Mansion also viewed

Bluffton, Coastal South Carolina
Bluffton, Coastal South Carolina
 
Bluffton, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Rose Hill Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing