We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 2:00 PM - 4:00 PM
Save
Book In Advance
In high demand - travelers recommend booking ahead!
Why Book on TripAdvisor?
  • Tour highlights & full itinerary
  • Easy online booking
  • Lowest price guaranteed
More Information
  
Reviews (448)
Filter reviews
448 results
Traveler rating
349
64
21
8
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
349
64
21
8
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews current owners first floor miss pat the owner our tour guide dining room plantation home gothic style beautiful house wonderful tour main floor civil war delicious snacks true southern hospitality tour ended home owners delightful afternoon
Filter
Updating list...
100 - 105 of 448 reviews
Reviewed November 12, 2017

I think that you have to make reservations for the tour but it is such a wonderful experience. The building is very interesting and the tour guide was really fantastic. Our tour ended in a full buffet lunch which was out of this world. I would say that this is not to be missed. I attended with a group but I would imagine that it would be the same for all who make reservations. The lunch was a collection of the best from the South - grits and pulled pork to fruit or cream pies! It was served beautifully and the charming chef came out to explain each dish and what she put into it. She also spoke of her history, family and training. I thoroughly enjoyed this visit and would take friends and family there when they come for a visit. It was not inexpensive but worth every penny.

Date of experience: July 2017
1  Thank MelonfromNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2017

This is a great tour of a wonderful old house with a long and exciting history. The fact that it is still standing and available to visit is remarkable. The story of the house is so interesting and our tour guide was excellent, providing lots of information and answering all of our many questions. Young children are not invited due to the fact that the house is packed with historical items on display. There was seating available in each room so we were able to relax and absorb all the info given us. The tour finished up in the dining room with samples of delicious treats make by the lively cook, Miss Pat. Following the one hour tour, we were invited to stay and look around at our leisure, so we spent another hour looking at all the fascinating items on display. This tour encompasses only the ground floor, as the upper levels are inhabitated by the owners. Oh, and there are ghosts, although none were mentioned during the tour. I enjoyed reading the book about these ghosts which was sold in the little pantry. Maybe these stories should be included in future tours. Thank you for a wonderful afternoon!

Date of experience: November 2017
1  Thank Darrell S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2017

Make a reservation before you go. Tours are limited to 40 people and there is one tour a day. When you arrive at the gated community, listen closely to the instructions on how to get to the house. There are no signs directing you to the house.

I arrived at 1:30 and took photos before going to the front entryway to sign in for the tour. I enjoyed the view of the staircase and walked through some of the rooms before the tour started at 2pm.

This mansion has a storied past. It isn’t possible to cover it all in the one hour tour. But after the tour, when refreshments are served, make sure you listen to others questions and ask some of your own.

I loved seating on the porch in a rocker eating my refreshments. It was delightful.

Do some research before you go, this will allow you to ask more questions while you are there. The White’s, who own the home and have been restoring it for the last 22 years, have tried to meld their interests (history, antiques, collectibles, and art), with the history of the home.

This is one of only a few plantation homes near Hilton Head that survived the civil war. Thankfully The White’s are willing to spend money to preserve history. This is an incredible personal endeavor and they are sharing history in a unique manner.

Date of experience: October 2017
Thank 2mchfn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2017

We recently visited the Rose Hill Plantation. It gives One an Interesting slice of history in the Bluffton area. The house is beautifully restored. You can access the bottom floor, as the top floor is occupied by the owners. Refreshments are served at the end.

Date of experience: October 2017
Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank Karen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2017

If you are intrigued with architecture, antiques and American History, this is a place for you! Walk around the grounds of the Rose Hill Mansion, transport yourself to the mid to late 1800s and feel the vibes of those who went before you. A delightful nugget of southern Americana!

Date of experience: October 2017
Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank deborahroth55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews