We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 2:00 PM - 4:00 PM
Save
Book In Advance
In high demand - travelers recommend booking ahead!
Why Book on TripAdvisor?
  • Tour highlights & full itinerary
  • Easy online booking
  • Lowest price guaranteed
More Information
  
Reviews (448)
Filter reviews
448 results
Traveler rating
349
64
21
8
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
349
64
21
8
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews current owners first floor miss pat the owner our tour guide dining room plantation home gothic style beautiful house wonderful tour main floor civil war delicious snacks true southern hospitality tour ended home owners delightful afternoon
Filter
Updating list...
104 - 109 of 448 reviews
Reviewed October 26, 2017

If you are intrigued with architecture, antiques and American History, this is a place for you! Walk around the grounds of the Rose Hill Mansion, transport yourself to the mid to late 1800s and feel the vibes of those who went before you. A delightful nugget of southern Americana!

Date of experience: October 2017
Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank deborahroth55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2017

This is the first tour of its kind that we’ve done. The current owner Robin was very kind and had that sweet southern charm. The house is gorgeous and so much history. I’d definitely recommend this tour to anyone in the area as well as those for are looking for that history connection.

Date of experience: October 2017
Thank Joann K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2017

we loved our time at Rose Hill. This was our second trip and we will be returning. the restoration was simply amazing. thank you

Date of experience: September 2017
Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank janefergusonart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2017

We spent a pleasant hour and a half learning about the old mansion and its history. Some of the reviews were not favorable due to it's lack of being just like a mansion during that time - it had been rebuilt a number of times. We found the tour fascinating and worth our time.

Date of experience: September 2017
Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank Curacao1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2017

This tour is an absolute scam. Our group was excited to learn about the history of this near 200 year old plantation and see the architecture but instead heard almost nothing but the tour guide bragging about the current owners and saw only 4 rooms. The website says the tour is 2-4 hours but our tour started at 2:00 and was finished by 2:45. I had to ask basic history like when the house was built but heard all about Rob and Robin [ -- ]. Both Rob and Robin have rooms dedicated to themselves with murals of themselves, Robins wedding dress was framed on the wall among other things as if this was a museum of the people who bought the house a couple decades ago instead of the actual history of the place. As if this experience wasn't weird enough they had countless racist dolls and statues throughout the house of slaves, there was even a slave doll with racist facial features next to a change box and a sign that said 'Help us raise money for a Slave Cabin' with absolutely no description and there was no mention of 'Slave Cabin' ruins that were going to be rebuilt all of this just gave the impression that they wanted to build a new slave cabin..IN 2017?! These things made me uncomfortable and I'm a white man, I feel sorry for any person of color who may go on this tour. I would NOT go again if they paid me.

Date of experience: September 2017
7  Thank officialclothing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann S, Webmaster at Rose Hill Mansion, responded to this reviewResponded October 19, 2017

I wish to respectfully respond to the above post by “officialclothing” concerning his recent experience at Rose Hill Mansion. We appreciate any and all feedback. It's always good to address concerns, and I politely take exception to his misrepresentation of our tour – especially his slanderous Title and first sentence.

First of all:
“… but instead heard almost nothing but the tour guide bragging about the current owners…”

-----.I wonder if he actually listened to the docent during the entire tour since all he seems to “remember” is the part about the present owners, which is only a small part of the entire history of this old house. Several families have occupied the house since the original Kirk family and all have had a part in its history.

“…and saw only 4 rooms. The website says the tour is 2-4 hours but our tour started at 2:00 and was finished by 2:45.”

-----.In addition to the six main rooms on the first floor, guests are able to visit the kitchen, Butler’s Pantry and three bathrooms at their leisure after the tour. Rose Hill is a private home and the owners occupy the upper floor, which, of course, is not open to the public. Tours last an hour or over and many times guests are still here around 4:00 visiting.

“Both … have rooms dedicated to themselves with murals of themselves, Robins wedding dress was framed on the wall among other things as if this was a museum of the people who bought the house a couple decades ago instead of the actual history of the place. “

-----.This is a private home, and of course there is personal memorabilia, including family photographs & “Portraits” (not “murals”); there are authentic touches in every room ranging from artifacts dug on the property that are over one thousand years old, to Civil War era ammunition, buttons from various military regiments, farming equipment, pottery and much more in every single room on the tour. Original Kirk furnishings have made their way back to the mansion as well--donated by family members who are direct descendants of the original Kirks

And, yes, many of the furnishings are personal belongings of the people who live in the ENTIRE house when tours are not in progress. All period furniture is authentic to the period and not reproductions.

“…they had countless racist dolls and statues throughout the house of slaves,…” “…and a sign that said 'Help us raise money for a Slave Cabin' with absolutely no description and there was no mention of 'Slave Cabin' ruins that were going to be rebuilt all of this just gave the impression that they wanted to build a new slave cabin..IN 2017?!...”


-----.This is an antebellum (pre-civil war) house, and, like all plantations of any size in the south, there were slaves. They were a vital part of our history, and to ignore their involvement would be re-writing history as so many try to do these days.
No one has been able to confirm for us exactly where the slave cabins were located; but with 129 slaves listed in those losses, we can be sure that there were slave cabins on the plantation.

There are numerous original slave cabins still in existence in this country (north & south), which can be purchased and moved to help present-day tourists visualize a typical cabin.



“These things made me uncomfortable and I'm a white man, I feel sorry for any person of color who may go on this tour.”

-----.We are sorry that you were uncomfortable, but we try to be honest and authentic with our history. Over the many years of our tours we have had many African-Americans who have praised our tours and were appreciative of the fact they we include this part of Rose Hill’s story. Several have been thrilled to find ancestors listed in Dr. Kirk’s list of Civil War Losses included in the framed original document filed with U.S government after the war.


-----. Finally: “officialclothing”’s interpretation is disappointing to say the least. We at Rose Hill Mansion will continue to share our stories and our love of history with all who want to learn and understand. Our’s is a story of survival and needs an honest understanding to truly appreciate it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews