We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Tour”
Review of Rose Hill Mansion

Rose Hill Mansion
Book In Advance
More Info
$25.00*
and up
Rose Hill Mansion Tour in Bluffton SC
Ranked #2 of 23 things to do in Bluffton
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: The historic Rose Hill Mansion, known as the most beautiful plantation house in the Low Country, has long held a treasured place in Southern history. Originally built in the late 1850s by planter and physician, Dr. John Kirk and his wife Caroline, the plantation was a wedding present from Caroline's father, James Kirk. Work was halted by the Civil War, and while occupied through the years, the interior was not completed until 1946, when new owners John and Betsy Gould Sturgeon finished it in grand style. In 1980, the Welton family purchased the land and the house was later listed in the National Register of Historic Places. In 1987, a fire devastated the house & it sat in a state of ruin until purchased and restored by The Middleton White Foundation. After a decade long restoration, the home is now shared with the public each day, via guided history tours. Reservations are required for all tours.
Reviewed May 21, 2017

Our tour guide, Jan Kirk, was very knowledgeable and made the mansion tour very interesting. Thanks, Jan, "who is not related to the Kirk's!"

Date of experience: May 2017
Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank Lora D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (449)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"current owners"
in 38 reviews
"first floor"
in 23 reviews
"miss pat"
in 21 reviews
"the owner"
in 55 reviews
"our tour guide"
in 33 reviews
"dining room"
in 22 reviews
"plantation home"
in 14 reviews
"gothic style"
in 10 reviews
"beautiful house"
in 9 reviews
"wonderful tour"
in 16 reviews
"main floor"
in 8 reviews
"civil war"
in 32 reviews
"delicious snacks"
in 8 reviews
"true southern hospitality"
in 8 reviews
"tour ended"
in 8 reviews
"home owners"
in 7 reviews
"delightful afternoon"
in 6 reviews
Filter

152 - 156 of 448 reviews

Reviewed May 21, 2017

The house is very interesting but I have a couple of reservations following my visit.
There were 40 in the group I was in. This is a very big group and although we could wander around the rooms after the official tour, there were far too many people to get into each room during the tour.
When it came to the snacks at the end, each dish was described in detail, a kind of sales talk for the relishes marketed by the estate. We then had to queue up for ages to sample the food as there were so many people.

Date of experience: May 2017
Review collected in partnership with this attraction
1  Thank MagicFlute
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2017

The tour guide was fantastic! She made the history of this plantation come alive with her command of the information about the home, the fire, the past family, the present family and the contents of the house. Very descriptive and pleasant to all of the people on the tour. And the treats at the end were also created to give one the distinct flavor of the period and the South. Excellent!

Date of experience: May 2017
Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank abkline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2017

only get to see downstairs. Noting from the past was on the land, very disappointed I didn't get any information on a working plantation

Date of experience: April 2017
Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank Designer13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed May 15, 2017 via mobile

We had Jo Anne for our tour guide and she was very good. The tour through the first floor of this private residence was most interesting. Lots of history, from the time it was begun in 1858, surviving the Civil War, almost destroyed by fire in 1987, and lovingly restored by Rob and Robin White after they purchased it in 1997. At the end of the tour we were treated to snacks prepared by lifelong Low Country resident Miss Pat. (Of course I purchased her cookbook and had her autograph it). No complaints about the $25 admission, it is certainly worth it in my opinion.

Date of experience: May 2017
Thank bunnyyoop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rose Hill Mansion also viewed

Bluffton, Coastal South Carolina
Bluffton, Coastal South Carolina
 
Bluffton, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Rose Hill Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing