We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 2:00 PM - 4:00 PM
Save
Book In Advance
In high demand - travelers recommend booking ahead!
Why Book on TripAdvisor?
  • Tour highlights & full itinerary
  • Easy online booking
  • Lowest price guaranteed
More Information
  
Reviews (448)
Filter reviews
448 results
Traveler rating
349
64
21
8
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
349
64
21
8
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews current owners first floor miss pat the owner our tour guide dining room plantation home gothic style beautiful house wonderful tour main floor civil war delicious snacks true southern hospitality tour ended home owners delightful afternoon
Filter
Updating list...
153 - 158 of 448 reviews
Reviewed May 20, 2017

The tour guide was fantastic! She made the history of this plantation come alive with her command of the information about the home, the fire, the past family, the present family and the contents of the house. Very descriptive and pleasant to all of the people on the tour. And the treats at the end were also created to give one the distinct flavor of the period and the South. Excellent!

Date of experience: May 2017
Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank abkline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2017

only get to see downstairs. Noting from the past was on the land, very disappointed I didn't get any information on a working plantation

Date of experience: April 2017
Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank Designer13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2017 via mobile

We had Jo Anne for our tour guide and she was very good. The tour through the first floor of this private residence was most interesting. Lots of history, from the time it was begun in 1858, surviving the Civil War, almost destroyed by fire in 1987, and lovingly restored by Rob and Robin White after they purchased it in 1997. At the end of the tour we were treated to snacks prepared by lifelong Low Country resident Miss Pat. (Of course I purchased her cookbook and had her autograph it). No complaints about the $25 admission, it is certainly worth it in my opinion.

Date of experience: May 2017
Thank bunnyyoop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2017

Lots of history here and the tour ended with a delightful tasting of foods prepared by Miss Pat. We would have liked to see more of the home, other than just the main floor but quite understand that these are their living quarters. I personally enjoyed viewing the paintings ...as an artist I was particularly impressed with the works by the owner, an accomplished painter.

Date of experience: May 2017
Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank Lynne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2017

This home is a gem to see and well worth the drive to Bluffton! We left for the tour a few hours early and took a walking tour of Bluffton prior to arriving at Rose Hill. Rose Hill Mansion's property is lovely, surrounded with magnificent oak trees with this beautiful home. While the tour would not be recommended for young children, teens would benefit from seeing the house with a tour guide who is very informative and knowledgeable about the home's connection with the Civil War. The home has a rich history from the time it was built in 1858 to the present, with the new owners, Robert and Robin White. The White's have poured their love into Rose Hill to make it the mansion today, what it once was many years ago. The White's are very gracious hosts when they open up their home not only for the tour, but also the yummy refreshments served in the dining room at the end of the tour. After the tour and refreshments guests have time to revisit rooms and ask questions of the hosts. We never felt hurried, this was a lovely, relaxed afternoon with true southern hospitality! A beautiful house tour not to be missed, if you have the time when you are visiting in the area!!

Date of experience: April 2017
Thank Karule
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews