We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rose Hill Mansion”
Review of Rose Hill Mansion

Rose Hill Mansion
Book In Advance
More Info
$25.00*
and up
Rose Hill Mansion Tour in Bluffton SC
Ranked #2 of 23 things to do in Bluffton
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: The historic Rose Hill Mansion, known as the most beautiful plantation house in the Low Country, has long held a treasured place in Southern history. Originally built in the late 1850s by planter and physician, Dr. John Kirk and his wife Caroline, the plantation was a wedding present from Caroline's father, James Kirk. Work was halted by the Civil War, and while occupied through the years, the interior was not completed until 1946, when new owners John and Betsy Gould Sturgeon finished it in grand style. In 1980, the Welton family purchased the land and the house was later listed in the National Register of Historic Places. In 1987, a fire devastated the house & it sat in a state of ruin until purchased and restored by The Middleton White Foundation. After a decade long restoration, the home is now shared with the public each day, via guided history tours. Reservations are required for all tours.
Reviewed May 20, 2017

only get to see downstairs. Noting from the past was on the land, very disappointed I didn't get any information on a working plantation

Date of experience: April 2017
Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank Designer13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (448)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"current owners"
in 38 reviews
"first floor"
in 23 reviews
"miss pat"
in 21 reviews
"the owner"
in 55 reviews
"our tour guide"
in 33 reviews
"dining room"
in 22 reviews
"plantation home"
in 14 reviews
"gothic style"
in 10 reviews
"beautiful house"
in 9 reviews
"wonderful tour"
in 16 reviews
"main floor"
in 8 reviews
"civil war"
in 32 reviews
"delicious snacks"
in 8 reviews
"true southern hospitality"
in 8 reviews
"tour ended"
in 8 reviews
"home owners"
in 7 reviews
"delightful afternoon"
in 6 reviews
Filter

155 - 159 of 448 reviews

Reviewed May 15, 2017 via mobile

We had Jo Anne for our tour guide and she was very good. The tour through the first floor of this private residence was most interesting. Lots of history, from the time it was begun in 1858, surviving the Civil War, almost destroyed by fire in 1987, and lovingly restored by Rob and Robin White after they purchased it in 1997. At the end of the tour we were treated to snacks prepared by lifelong Low Country resident Miss Pat. (Of course I purchased her cookbook and had her autograph it). No complaints about the $25 admission, it is certainly worth it in my opinion.

Date of experience: May 2017
Thank bunnyyoop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2017

Lots of history here and the tour ended with a delightful tasting of foods prepared by Miss Pat. We would have liked to see more of the home, other than just the main floor but quite understand that these are their living quarters. I personally enjoyed viewing the paintings ...as an artist I was particularly impressed with the works by the owner, an accomplished painter.

Date of experience: May 2017
Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank Lynne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2017

This home is a gem to see and well worth the drive to Bluffton! We left for the tour a few hours early and took a walking tour of Bluffton prior to arriving at Rose Hill. Rose Hill Mansion's property is lovely, surrounded with magnificent oak trees with this beautiful home. While the tour would not be recommended for young children, teens would benefit from seeing the house with a tour guide who is very informative and knowledgeable about the home's connection with the Civil War. The home has a rich history from the time it was built in 1858 to the present, with the new owners, Robert and Robin White. The White's have poured their love into Rose Hill to make it the mansion today, what it once was many years ago. The White's are very gracious hosts when they open up their home not only for the tour, but also the yummy refreshments served in the dining room at the end of the tour. After the tour and refreshments guests have time to revisit rooms and ask questions of the hosts. We never felt hurried, this was a lovely, relaxed afternoon with true southern hospitality! A beautiful house tour not to be missed, if you have the time when you are visiting in the area!!

Date of experience: April 2017
Thank Karule
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed May 8, 2017

Lovely home. Tour guide was informative and entertaining. I did not appreciate the Trump pic on display. Surroundings were beautiful. Great setting for a wedding.

Date of experience: May 2017
Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank Pat C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rose Hill Mansion also viewed

Bluffton, Coastal South Carolina
Bluffton, Coastal South Carolina
 
Bluffton, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Rose Hill Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing