We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Rose Hill Mansion - CLOSED
Save
Book In Advance
Why Book on TripAdvisor?
  • Tour highlights & full itinerary
  • Easy online booking
  • Lowest price guaranteed
More Information
  
Reviews (449)
Filter reviews
449 results
Traveler rating
349
65
21
8
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
349
65
21
8
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews current owners first floor miss pat the owner our tour guide dining room plantation home gothic style beautiful house wonderful tour main floor delicious snacks true southern hospitality tour ended civil war fascinating history home owners
Filter
Updating list...
173 - 178 of 449 reviews
Reviewed April 12, 2017

I had visitors from out of state and visited the mansion on a day of touring the area. All of us enjoyed the tour from the fabulous tour guide to the snacks. Great history of our area. Was a bonus to meet the home owner!

Date of experience: April 2017
Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank jengelb123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2017

What a great tour. We loved it. So many artifacts found on the property. Don't miss it! Owners have a true love for the property.

Date of experience: April 2017
Thank jrober50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2017 via mobile

This was different then other mansion tours we have taken in that the owners still live in the house. You were encouraged to sit on the furnishings and explore the rooms which were full of collections many of them civil war related. You did only get to tour the ground floor not the upstairs.

Date of experience: April 2017
Thank 358dustinf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2017

This home was restored down to the very last detail after a devastating fire in 1987. It was purchased by the owners who currently live in the home as well. Robin, who is the female half of the couple also takes part in the tour and subsequent presentation. A small tapas is also included at the end of the tour. Highly recommend for history buffs as well!

Date of experience: April 2017
Review collected in partnership with this attraction
1  Thank GWENCO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2017

This past week I visited with several friends. We were staying in Hilton Head, playing a lot of golf, and all needed a change of pace. Rose Hill was about a half hour drive away and we all agreed it was just what we wanted! The drive up towards Rose Hill was thrilling, evocative of Tara with all the ancient, beautiful oak trees dripping with lacy Spanish Moss which were blowing in the (considerable) wind that day. The extraordinary gothic architecture was somewhat surprising since the broad, sweeping Georgian style was more the norm when the house was initially built. Once inside, we were welcomed by our tour guide Joanne, a delightful lady with tons of information. She made us all feel at home inviting us to sit anywhere we'd like - now that's different! Once the tour began, we moved through the main floor rooms and were once again invited to sit anywhere (with only a few exceptions) and look at everything. At no point was anyone admonished not to touch! The history of the house was fascinating, although as others have mentioned, more Antebellum information would have been very welcomed. The Civil War history of the house and the entire area was most interesting. At the end of our little tour, a lady named Pat (quite the character) came in to talk about the foods laid out on the dining room table and everyone was invited to help themselves to crackers, cookies with various jams and spreads as well as a welcome offering of water, lemonade, and a fruit punch. At that point, to our delight, the owner Robin White stepped into the room and remained actively chatting with visitors until they left around 4 o'clock. No, this house isn't like other plantations you might visit but so what? It was delightful and even included a surprise birthday cake for Joanne, candles and all, which we were all invited to share. A most delightful afternoon!

Date of experience: April 2017
1  Thank Bonnie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews