We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 2:00 PM - 4:00 PM
Save
Book In Advance
In high demand - travelers recommend booking ahead!
Why Book on TripAdvisor?
  • Tour highlights & full itinerary
  • Easy online booking
  • Lowest price guaranteed
More Information
  
Reviews (448)
Filter reviews
448 results
Traveler rating
349
64
21
8
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
349
64
21
8
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews current owners first floor miss pat the owner our tour guide dining room plantation home gothic style beautiful house wonderful tour main floor civil war delicious snacks true southern hospitality tour ended home owners delightful afternoon
Filter
Updating list...
176 - 181 of 448 reviews
Reviewed April 8, 2017

This past week I visited with several friends. We were staying in Hilton Head, playing a lot of golf, and all needed a change of pace. Rose Hill was about a half hour drive away and we all agreed it was just what we wanted! The drive up towards Rose Hill was thrilling, evocative of Tara with all the ancient, beautiful oak trees dripping with lacy Spanish Moss which were blowing in the (considerable) wind that day. The extraordinary gothic architecture was somewhat surprising since the broad, sweeping Georgian style was more the norm when the house was initially built. Once inside, we were welcomed by our tour guide Joanne, a delightful lady with tons of information. She made us all feel at home inviting us to sit anywhere we'd like - now that's different! Once the tour began, we moved through the main floor rooms and were once again invited to sit anywhere (with only a few exceptions) and look at everything. At no point was anyone admonished not to touch! The history of the house was fascinating, although as others have mentioned, more Antebellum information would have been very welcomed. The Civil War history of the house and the entire area was most interesting. At the end of our little tour, a lady named Pat (quite the character) came in to talk about the foods laid out on the dining room table and everyone was invited to help themselves to crackers, cookies with various jams and spreads as well as a welcome offering of water, lemonade, and a fruit punch. At that point, to our delight, the owner Robin White stepped into the room and remained actively chatting with visitors until they left around 4 o'clock. No, this house isn't like other plantations you might visit but so what? It was delightful and even included a surprise birthday cake for Joanne, candles and all, which we were all invited to share. A most delightful afternoon!

Date of experience: April 2017
1  Thank Bonnie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2017

Docent was knowledgable of the property. The tour was very informative. We were able to meet and visit with the owner, they are very welcoming and love sharing their home with the people on the tour..

Date of experience: April 2017
Review collected in partnership with this attraction
1  Thank X7707TLmarye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2017

This was my third visit to Rose Hill as I'm always excited to share this beautiful home with friends who
visit us in Hilton Head. It has been wonderfully restored, and the tour guide shared her passion for
the home and the family. After the tour we were treated to a tea and cake buffet. The cook explained
all the goodies she had prepared.

Date of experience: March 2017
Review collected in partnership with this attraction
1  Thank Grandnine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2017

We took out of state friends to the tour. The Docent was excellent and was very knowledgeable about the History. It was an interesting and fun visit. The Chef Pat prepared light homemade refreshments which was an unexpected and lovely ending to the tour. Robin White was welcoming and gracious and greeted all the guests at the end of the tour and answered any questions about the Mansion renovations. We highly recommend this tour.

Date of experience: March 2017
Review collected in partnership with this attraction
1  Thank David A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2017

We are five girlfriends who wanted something different to do while staying on Hilton Head Island. And this was a perfect girl's day out! We were awestruck when we arrived at the front of the house, it was so beautiful. The trees on the property were magnificent too. The inside of the house is beautifully maintained. The number of rooms we could see was fewer than I expected but they told a great story. The docent who guided us from room to room was exceptional (Kirk). She was very knowledgeable and passionate about the house and its history. Meeting the owners was a treat, what a pleasant welcoming couple. We really enjoyed sitting outside and eating the local treats at the end of the tour .
I look forward to returning next year and bringing other friends.
But don't come a minute earlier than 30 minutes before your tour. The gate staff are not nice to early birds,

Date of experience: March 2017
Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank Traveler155002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann S, Webmaster at Rose Hill Mansion, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2017

Thank you for responding and posting such a nice review on trip advisor. I do apologize if you felt put off by the guard at the Security Gate. The POA had some new employees at the time of your visit, and we are sure this "rude" greeting is NOT the norm.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews