We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Rose Hill Mansion - CLOSED
Save
Book In Advance
Why Book on TripAdvisor?
  • Tour highlights & full itinerary
  • Easy online booking
  • Lowest price guaranteed
More Information
  
Reviews (449)
Filter reviews
449 results
Traveler rating
349
65
21
8
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
349
65
21
8
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews current owners first floor miss pat the owner our tour guide dining room plantation home gothic style beautiful house wonderful tour main floor delicious snacks true southern hospitality tour ended civil war fascinating history home owners
Filter
Updating list...
181 - 186 of 449 reviews
Reviewed April 3, 2017

We are five girlfriends who wanted something different to do while staying on Hilton Head Island. And this was a perfect girl's day out! We were awestruck when we arrived at the front of the house, it was so beautiful. The trees on the property were magnificent too. The inside of the house is beautifully maintained. The number of rooms we could see was fewer than I expected but they told a great story. The docent who guided us from room to room was exceptional (Kirk). She was very knowledgeable and passionate about the house and its history. Meeting the owners was a treat, what a pleasant welcoming couple. We really enjoyed sitting outside and eating the local treats at the end of the tour .
I look forward to returning next year and bringing other friends.
But don't come a minute earlier than 30 minutes before your tour. The gate staff are not nice to early birds,

Date of experience: March 2017
Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank Traveler155002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann S, Webmaster at Rose Hill Mansion, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2017

Thank you for responding and posting such a nice review on trip advisor. I do apologize if you felt put off by the guard at the Security Gate. The POA had some new employees at the time of your visit, and we are sure this "rude" greeting is NOT the norm.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2017

We enjoyed a little escape to this beautiful plantation. It is rich with history and beauty. Lovely setting with a glorious breeze. 25 minutes from our hotel and an hour tour. Yummy snacks and beverages at the end.

Date of experience: March 2017
Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank A H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2017

It was a very beautiful and informative tour. Our host was very knowledgeable and pleasant. She gave us a chronology of the mansions history. We were able to tour the grounds and mansion. Should not be missed.

Date of experience: April 2017
Review collected in partnership with this attraction
1  Thank Robert A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2017

After having visited the Mansions in Newport, RI my husband and I decided to book this tour and see what a southern mansion was like. Much different!! The owners of this home open it up to the public Mon-Fri and offer a wonderful history lesson. You get to see the first floor only (as the second is the private living quarters of the owners). Afterward, there is much southern hospitality as you are invited to stay for "tea" and snacks. We really enjoyed learning about the history of the mansion (which once was a plantation) and some of the surrounding area. Definitely, worth the visit.

Date of experience: March 2017
Review collected in partnership with this attraction
1  Thank JoAnn F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2017

Outstanding tour and history of the mansion. Our docent was Joan who was great as she not only had the details but she had flair and southern charm! This was the only home tour that allowed photographs and this was great as the furniture and pieces were exceptional. I rate this as a must see for anyone in Savannah or Hilton Head.

Date of experience: March 2017
Review collected in partnership with this attraction
1  Thank Jim G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews