We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 2:00 PM - 4:00 PM
Save
Book In Advance
In high demand - travelers recommend booking ahead!
Why Book on TripAdvisor?
  • Tour highlights & full itinerary
  • Easy online booking
  • Lowest price guaranteed
More Information
  
Reviews (448)
Filter reviews
448 results
Traveler rating
349
64
21
8
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
349
64
21
8
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews current owners first floor miss pat the owner our tour guide dining room plantation home gothic style beautiful house wonderful tour main floor civil war delicious snacks true southern hospitality tour ended home owners delightful afternoon
Filter
Updating list...
203 - 208 of 448 reviews
Reviewed February 26, 2017

Really enjoyed the history and being able to tour the lower level of the mansion. It takes you back in time.

Wish they had kept the touring group to a minimum; some of the rooms could not accommodate the entire group.

Date of experience: February 2017
Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank brendai24257
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2017

A very interesting tour of the house. The very informative tour guide walked us though the history of the house before and after the fire. The furnishings are wonderful. The owner of the house is very personable. Having refreshments (wine lemonade) and Miss Pat's delectable treats after athe tour were a delightful touch.

Date of experience: February 2017
Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank paulfC787SN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2017

I can't think of a BETTER way to spend an afternoon! The history of the plantation was explained in depth by our docent and we even met the mistress of the plantation. So much to learn about this period in history with regard to how people lived before and after the civil war. Beautiful pieces of furniture, clothing and keepsakes that we can learn from even today. I can't say enough about what a beautiful plantation this is and how we enjoyed it!! Don't want to forget about the delicious treats and wine that we received too.

Date of experience: February 2017
Thank c0ndie514
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2017

This tour was more interesting than others I've done because the lady who owns the house lives in it and was there greeting the guests. She was very gracious and added unique information that we may not have heard otherwise. The tour guide was excellent; very knowledgeable and accommodating. There were numerous artifacts throughout the house that made the tour very memorable and we were allowed to take photos of everything in the house except for one historic document. One word of caution: the house is part of a gated community and the sign to the house is small; just be on the lookout for it and you won't miss it.

Date of experience: February 2017
Thank stevepolk1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2017

I really enjoyed my visit to Rose Hill Mansion because it was very different from other types of historic home tours I have taken. The home owner was with the tour guide greeting everyone as they came in, offered us a glass of wine and genuinely welcomed everyone into her home. The guests were able to sit on the sofa's and chairs in each of the rooms, which is very unusual in historic home tours. At the end of the tour there were just homemade snacks (sweet potato pie, dips and breads) from the family cook. The home owners were also there answering any questions and you were able to re-visit any rooms in the tour and grounds taking as much time as needed. This was truly a unique and enjoyable experience!

Date of experience: February 2017
Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank loribp56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews