We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 2:00 PM - 4:00 PM
Save
Book In Advance
In high demand - travelers recommend booking ahead!
Why Book on TripAdvisor?
  • Tour highlights & full itinerary
  • Easy online booking
  • Lowest price guaranteed
More Information
  
Reviews (448)
Filter reviews
448 results
Traveler rating
349
64
21
8
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
349
64
21
8
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews current owners first floor miss pat the owner our tour guide dining room plantation home gothic style beautiful house wonderful tour main floor civil war delicious snacks true southern hospitality tour ended home owners delightful afternoon
Filter
Updating list...
210 - 215 of 448 reviews
Reviewed February 12, 2017

We enjoyed our visit to Rose Hill very much. The tour guide was very knowledgeable and friendly. It is a beautiful property.

Date of experience: February 2017
Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank Debra C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2017

Two years ago we were fortunate to have a tour guided by the gr-gr-granddaughter of Dr Kirk. Her knowledge of the home, its history and the people that lived here was superb. She spoke of her family with emotion and made them come to life. Now we understand that Cynthia Kirk is no longer giving the tours and we were saddened by this. The new tours are more about the current owners and some historical aspects were lost. We were able to meet with Robin White, owner of the home with her husband Robb. No doubt in our minds that she loves this old home and respects it. I just feel that the history is the story to be told..

Date of experience: February 2017
Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank Dld0209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2017

Great tour filled with lots of southern charm. Our docent Joanne was very knowledgeable and made us feel right at home. Gorgeous setting among the century old live oaks dripping Spanish Moss. Very enjoyable. We are moving to the area and I plan on including this tour when guests come to visit.

Date of experience: February 2017
Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank achsahs2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2017

Our visit to Rose Hill was extraordinary. As we drove up a lady was waving to us and said "Welcome, come join us." Little did we know that the lady was Robin, the owner of the house and the person responsible for the restoration of the beautiful Gothic Plantation House. We were offered a glass of wine as we entered the house. After a brief introduction and Robin answering many questions about the house we were given a tour of the lower floor. The house is full of period appropriate antiques and artifacts. The tour concludes with special treats from Miss Pat. The treats included a number of finger foods, all great, and peach tea. Robin again joined us and answered even more questions. I guess what impressed us most was that we were treated as special guests in the house as opposed to just tourists. Rose Hill is well worth a visit the next time you are in the area.

Date of experience: February 2017
Thank Terry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2017

My mom & I were touring Savannah and decided to visit a "plantation" while we were in the south. A quick internet search led us to Rose Hill Mansion.

Upon entering, we were offered a glass of wine for $5. My mother commented that the website advertises "free glass of wine with a tour". They then gave us each a complimentary glass.

We were encouraged to look around the other rooms while waiting for the tour to begin. Unfortunately there were only 2 additional rooms not shown to us on the tour. It would be nice to see more of the four story home and not be restricted to one level.

The guide, Kim, was in a full period costume. She told us about the history of the mansion and a lot about the current owners.

Towards the end of the tour, we were mostly told about the current owners. The man of the house loves to paint and his artwork is for sale and on display. There were many displays of jewelry for sale (with obvious price tags). We were also told that the antique decorations are for sale. At this time, Kim told us to be sure and check out the butlers pantry where the novels she wrote were for sale.

We were then led to another room with a spread of food that we were invited to try. The catering manager was there to explain each item and to promote her cookbook that was for sale. You may have guessed it, each item we tasted was for sale. We politely tried the food and then left as quickly as possible. We felt so uncomfortable that we were trying to sell us so much on the tour.

Overall, this could be nice if tours were led through the entire house (or at least more of it). More history of the area and of the south would also be great. I also suggest not trying to sell so much to customers. The $25 fee should be sufficient.

Until improvements are made, I would suggest visiting an actual plantation.

Date of experience: January 2017
5  Thank Emily M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews