We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 2:00 PM - 4:00 PM
Save
Book In Advance
In high demand - travelers recommend booking ahead!
Why Book on TripAdvisor?
  • Tour highlights & full itinerary
  • Easy online booking
  • Lowest price guaranteed
More Information
  
Reviews (448)
Filter reviews
448 results
Traveler rating
349
64
21
8
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
349
64
21
8
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews current owners first floor miss pat the owner our tour guide dining room plantation home gothic style beautiful house wonderful tour main floor civil war delicious snacks true southern hospitality tour ended home owners delightful afternoon
Filter
Updating list...
216 - 221 of 448 reviews
Reviewed January 29, 2017

My recent tour of the Rose Hill Plantation House was a surprise. Although I've lived in the area for several years, this was my first trip to Rose Hill. If you are a history buff, this visit is a must. The knowledgeable docent talked about this Civil War Era plantation as well as the effect of the war in the area. I especially enjoyed the antiques which included both American and European pieces from the 18th and 19th centuries. Take time to enjoy the setting among the south's impressive live oak trees.

Date of experience: January 2017
Review collected in partnership with this attraction
1  Thank jennifersB8561RL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2017

We have lived in Bluffton for about 9 years and I always thought about going to Rosehill Mansion but never got around to it. Friends are visiting this week from Maryland and she too likes old houses so we booked the afternoon tour. Everything about it was delightful. The docent was very interesting and seemed to know so much about the history and the present day of the house. It was lovely (and different from other historical houses) to be able to sit comfortably on the furniture (except some heirlooms) during the tour. The glass of wine beforehand and Miss Pat's treats were a wonderful addition. We loved the entire tour, the house, the grounds, and most especially the care in which the present owners are putting into the restoration. This is a "must see" on any visit to Bluffton.

Date of experience: January 2017
1  Thank Debi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2017

We highly recommend the tour of Rose Hill Mansion. It provides a great mix of historical insights from before and during the civil war (great discussion of why Rose Hill wasn’t burned when it was controlled by the Union Army), family histories, and trials and tragedy’s all too familiar to anyone who has remodeled a house (e.g. the catastrophic fire in 1987 and the nine years the White’s had to live in the adjacent servant’s quarters while Rose Hill was restored to its former glory). The house is architecturally beautiful and full of interesting European antiques. Our tour guide was excellent, we appreciated the snacks and the discussion of how they were prepared by the lady who did so, and it was an honor to meet the owner, Robin White, who, along with her husband, has put so much into restoring the house. Remember to print the on-line coupon from the website (or have it on your phone) to get your free glass of wine. Also, visit the Church of the Cross in Blufton while you are in the neighborhood.

Date of experience: January 2017
1  Thank dickgull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2017

Restored mansion is a private residence filled with period pieces, some originals, and items found on the estate. Truly beautiful and in outstanding condition! Our tour guide, Kim, was costumed to fit the era and very knowledgeable about the original family, the mansion and its history, and the area history. We stayed for the afternoon tea served in the dining room--it was delightful! The delicacies served with the tea were made on site by the catering manager, Pat, and were very tasty!

Date of experience: January 2017
Thank cdanddr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2017 via mobile

Fun afternoon to give a look back in time. Guide was very informative and open to some crazy questions. Owners were welcoming--it is a private residence. Miss Pat's cooking is yummy!

Date of experience: October 2016
Thank William T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews