We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 2:00 PM - 4:00 PM
Save
Book In Advance
In high demand - travelers recommend booking ahead!
Why Book on TripAdvisor?
  • Tour highlights & full itinerary
  • Easy online booking
  • Lowest price guaranteed
More Information
  
Reviews (448)
Filter reviews
448 results
Traveler rating
349
64
21
8
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
349
64
21
8
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews current owners first floor miss pat the owner our tour guide dining room plantation home gothic style beautiful house wonderful tour main floor civil war delicious snacks true southern hospitality tour ended home owners delightful afternoon
Filter
Updating list...
221 - 226 of 448 reviews
Reviewed January 7, 2017

The attention and detail to this mansion by the current owners is outstanding!!!
Through all of its history it maintains a beautiful southern charm.

Date of experience: January 2017
Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank jeanettec279
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2017

The home and grounds are beautiful! The docent is passionate about sharing the history of the home and its inhabitants in a thoughtful and lovely way. There are interesting artifacts discovered on the property on display. The current owners have lovingly restored the home over 9 years and it shows! At the end of the downstairs tour there is a delicious tea for the visitors.

Date of experience: January 2017
Thank dianesur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2017

First, the folks who now own this mansion had a huge vision and project. I respect that. It was an interesting experience to "tour" a home that is being occupied by the owners. It was a bit off-putting to be nickled and dimed (wine upon entry for $5 on top of the tour fee!) and the snacks were a selling opportunity for the chef. My suggestion is to lighten up on the "selling" and just let that be an afterthought or option that you gently offer.

Date of experience: December 2016
Thank Ollie201550
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded January 6, 2017

Thank you for responding and posting on trip advisor. I do apologize if you felt put off
by the additional items that we sell during the tour here at Rose Hill Mansion. These items do help with the maintenance and upkeep on the home. I do believe we are the only tour that allows our guest to enjoy a glass of wine while touring the 158 year home.
We also do make a FREE coupon available for our guest on our web site for a free glass of wine if the book on our web site or cut the coupon out in our local paper. We do try to create a very welcoming feel for each of our guests. This is why we allow guest to sit within the home on the furniture and enjoy food and beverage after the tour. Again ,the additional product sales at the gift shop help with the upkeep of the mansion.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2017 via mobile

The historical tour incorporates only the first floor of a 10,000 sq ft mansion, but the docent is extremely knowledgeable and an excellent story teller. The histories of the land, it's current and previous owners, visitors during the war, and found items on the property can keep you interested for hours. Sampling many southern favorites from sweet potato pie to their own jarred jams and salsas was a surprising delight we did not expect. I have not seen such a beautifully unique plantation home done in Gothic revival style.

Date of experience: December 2016
Thank yayajlg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2016 via mobile

We had an afternoon to kill while in Bluffton and decided to book a last minute history tour of Rose Hill Mansion on the Rose Hill Plantation. We initially thought that the fee ($25) was a little steep, but for that we had a very informative two hour history lesson about Bluffton during the Civil War, the Kirk family that founded Rose Hill, the disappearance of Sea Island cotton, the 1987 fire that devastated the Mansion, and her purchase and revival by her current and very artistic owners, Rusty and Robin. The house is beautiful, especially around Christmas, and at the end of our tour, our group was treated to a delicious buffet of cheese grits, macaroni and cheese, pound cake, cornbread, cheese and crackers, sweet potato pie, salsa and chips, and jalapeño sweet pickles, plus sweet peach tea or lemonade to drink, all lovingly arranged and described by the talented "Miss Pat." After the tour, we were at our leisure to explore the first floor of the house on our own, take photos, and chat with the tour guide in the kitchen. There were also wonderful gifts for sale by local artists at a reasonable price in the "pantry" and conservatory. All in all, it was a great value and a fun way to spend an afternoon.

Date of experience: December 2016
Thank fernandez21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews