We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Rose Hill Mansion - CLOSED

Book In Advance

Start Date
End Date
Why Book on TripAdvisor?
  • Tour highlights & full itinerary
  • Easy online booking
  • Lowest price guaranteed
More Information
  
Reviews (449)
Filter reviews
449 results
Traveler rating
349
65
21
8
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
349
65
21
8
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews current owners first floor miss pat the owner our tour guide dining room plantation home gothic style beautiful house wonderful tour main floor delicious snacks true southern hospitality tour ended civil war fascinating history home owners
Filter
Updating list...
232 - 237 of 449 reviews
Reviewed December 13, 2016

This tour is absolutely amazing!. As you enter the mansion, you have the option to purchase a glass of wine and you are allowed to leisurely browse around the various rooms on the first floor and even encouraged to sit on the furniture. Then the group tour began with our docent, Kim Poovey, who was very knowledgeable, entertaining and she answered so many questions. At the end of the 1 hour tour, there was an assortment of delicious refreshments from appetizers to desserts for you in the dining room (all included in the admission to the mansion). We even met the owners of the mansion. A very nice gift shop of homemade items, jewelry, books, baked and canned goods are available. Sit outside on the patio, or on a front porch rocker, or take a look at the beautiful landscape. This is a must do!!!! Be sure to have your camera with you. Enjoy every moment at Rose Hill Mansion!

Date of experience: December 2016
1  Thank KS L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2016

The sampling of the homemade local foods & beverages following the tour was outstanding. The mansion owners and the catering manager were so graciously hospitable, and the docent was most knowledgable in relating the families' & mansion's history.

Date of experience: December 2016
1  Thank jlytwyn1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2016

It was fascinating to see an antebellum plantation house which was meticulously restored by the owners. It was filled with artifacts and the guide, Joan, was very interesting.

Date of experience: December 2016
Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank Gary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2016

It was a beautiful, warm, sunny day in Hilton Head today. Perfect day to go on a tour of Rose Hill Mansion. To look at the outside of the building you would think that it was once a church, but that was not the case. Interesting history, lovely antiques, southern hospitality, well-kept grounds, and some tasty appetizers all contributed to making this an excellent tour. So glad I went. Oh, one other thing - make sure you check out the bathroom. It's unique.

Date of experience: December 2016
1  Thank Tamra57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2016

Having vacationed on Hilton Head Island several times over the past five years we have always said one day we should visit Rosehill Plantation House? This time along with our son and daughter-in-law we booked online for a visit. Our tour was scheduled for 2:00 and we arrived at the main gate at 1:40 to be greeted by the individual at the gate. When I told him that we had a tour at 2:00 he said somewhat rudely "at which time you may enter, until then you may park outside the estate" we were somewhat taken aback by this but none the less we reversed and located somewhere to park before being allowed into the grounds. It wasn't until afterwards when I checked the tickets did I see that we were actually meant to arrive early not really a good start to our visit.

Upon arriving at the beautiful house we parked the car and were met by our tour guide. We were offered a glass of wine to bring along with us on the tour. Normally it is $5 per glass, but they had a special online offer and so it was complementary. So this balanced out our initial poor e peri eve at the gate. The tour itself lasted about an hour. Our tour guide clearly loved her job and was full of interesting information, both about the house itself and the family who currently own the house. Tour is limited to just three rooms on the ground floor. Would have been nice to see more of the house, but given that it is also a private residence I can understand why not. Lots of interesting items on display. At the end we sampled some home made treats and had a chance to purchase some.

The mansion itself is a beautiful place do steeped in history. I just don't think that it was worth the $25 a head for what we got to see. Left somewhat disappointed.

Date of experience: November 2016
Review collected in partnership with this attraction
2  Thank Brownbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews