We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptionally beautiful & educational experience touring Rose Hill Mansion in SC.”
Review of Rose Hill Mansion

Rose Hill Mansion
Book In Advance
More Info
$25.00*
and up
Rose Hill Mansion Tour in Bluffton SC
Ranked #2 of 23 things to do in Bluffton
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: The historic Rose Hill Mansion, known as the most beautiful plantation house in the Low Country, has long held a treasured place in Southern history. Originally built in the late 1850s by planter and physician, Dr. John Kirk and his wife Caroline, the plantation was a wedding present from Caroline's father, James Kirk. Work was halted by the Civil War, and while occupied through the years, the interior was not completed until 1946, when new owners John and Betsy Gould Sturgeon finished it in grand style. In 1980, the Welton family purchased the land and the house was later listed in the National Register of Historic Places. In 1987, a fire devastated the house & it sat in a state of ruin until purchased and restored by The Middleton White Foundation. After a decade long restoration, the home is now shared with the public each day, via guided history tours. Reservations are required for all tours.
Reviewed December 13, 2016

The sampling of the homemade local foods & beverages following the tour was outstanding. The mansion owners and the catering manager were so graciously hospitable, and the docent was most knowledgable in relating the families' & mansion's history.

Date of experience: December 2016
1  Thank jlytwyn1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (449)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"current owners"
in 38 reviews
"first floor"
in 23 reviews
"miss pat"
in 21 reviews
"the owner"
in 55 reviews
"our tour guide"
in 33 reviews
"dining room"
in 22 reviews
"plantation home"
in 14 reviews
"gothic style"
in 10 reviews
"beautiful house"
in 9 reviews
"wonderful tour"
in 16 reviews
"main floor"
in 8 reviews
"civil war"
in 32 reviews
"delicious snacks"
in 8 reviews
"true southern hospitality"
in 8 reviews
"tour ended"
in 8 reviews
"home owners"
in 7 reviews
"delightful afternoon"
in 6 reviews
Filter

233 - 237 of 448 reviews

Reviewed December 9, 2016

It was fascinating to see an antebellum plantation house which was meticulously restored by the owners. It was filled with artifacts and the guide, Joan, was very interesting.

Date of experience: December 2016
Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank Gary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2016

It was a beautiful, warm, sunny day in Hilton Head today. Perfect day to go on a tour of Rose Hill Mansion. To look at the outside of the building you would think that it was once a church, but that was not the case. Interesting history, lovely antiques, southern hospitality, well-kept grounds, and some tasty appetizers all contributed to making this an excellent tour. So glad I went. Oh, one other thing - make sure you check out the bathroom. It's unique.

Date of experience: December 2016
1  Thank Tamra57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2016

Having vacationed on Hilton Head Island several times over the past five years we have always said one day we should visit Rosehill Plantation House? This time along with our son and daughter-in-law we booked online for a visit. Our tour was scheduled for 2:00 and we arrived at the main gate at 1:40 to be greeted by the individual at the gate. When I told him that we had a tour at 2:00 he said somewhat rudely "at which time you may enter, until then you may park outside the estate" we were somewhat taken aback by this but none the less we reversed and located somewhere to park before being allowed into the grounds. It wasn't until afterwards when I checked the tickets did I see that we were actually meant to arrive early not really a good start to our visit.

Upon arriving at the beautiful house we parked the car and were met by our tour guide. We were offered a glass of wine to bring along with us on the tour. Normally it is $5 per glass, but they had a special online offer and so it was complementary. So this balanced out our initial poor e peri eve at the gate. The tour itself lasted about an hour. Our tour guide clearly loved her job and was full of interesting information, both about the house itself and the family who currently own the house. Tour is limited to just three rooms on the ground floor. Would have been nice to see more of the house, but given that it is also a private residence I can understand why not. Lots of interesting items on display. At the end we sampled some home made treats and had a chance to purchase some.

The mansion itself is a beautiful place do steeped in history. I just don't think that it was worth the $25 a head for what we got to see. Left somewhat disappointed.

Date of experience: November 2016
Review collected in partnership with this attraction
2  Thank Brownbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed December 2, 2016

We arrived on a beautiful warm sunny day and were greeted by Miss Kim dressed in period costume. Her narrative on the history of the mansion took you back in time and made you feel part of the history. Her knowledge of the house and area was extensive. She made you feel like you were a guest rather than a tourist. At the end of the tour we were treated to some delicious snacks including jams and preserves from the estate. Miss Pat described each snack she had prepared. All in all I would highly recommend this tour.

Date of experience: November 2016
1  Thank Linda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rose Hill Mansion also viewed

Bluffton, Coastal South Carolina
Bluffton, Coastal South Carolina
 
Bluffton, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Rose Hill Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing