We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Rose Hill”
Review of Rose Hill Mansion - CLOSED

Rose Hill Mansion
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: The historic Rose Hill Mansion, known as the most beautiful plantation house in the Low Country, has long held a treasured place in Southern history. Originally built in the late 1850s by planter and physician, Dr. John Kirk and his wife Caroline, the plantation was a wedding present from Caroline's father, James Kirk. Work was halted by the Civil War, and while occupied through the years, the interior was not completed until 1946, when new owners John and Betsy Gould Sturgeon finished it in grand style. In 1980, the Welton family purchased the land and the house was later listed in the National Register of Historic Places. In 1987, a fire devastated the house & it sat in a state of ruin until purchased and restored by The Middleton White Foundation. The Mansion is permanently closed until further notice.
Reviewed December 8, 2016

It was a beautiful, warm, sunny day in Hilton Head today. Perfect day to go on a tour of Rose Hill Mansion. To look at the outside of the building you would think that it was once a church, but that was not the case. Interesting history, lovely antiques, southern hospitality, well-kept grounds, and some tasty appetizers all contributed to making this an excellent tour. So glad I went. Oh, one other thing - make sure you check out the bathroom. It's unique.

Date of experience: December 2016
1  Thank Tamra57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviews (450)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"current owners"
in 38 reviews
"first floor"
in 23 reviews
"miss pat"
in 21 reviews
"the owner"
in 55 reviews
"our tour guide"
in 33 reviews
"dining room"
in 22 reviews
"plantation home"
in 14 reviews
"gothic style"
in 10 reviews
"beautiful house"
in 9 reviews
"wonderful tour"
in 16 reviews
"main floor"
in 8 reviews
"delicious snacks"
in 8 reviews
"true southern hospitality"
in 8 reviews
"tour ended"
in 8 reviews
"civil war"
in 32 reviews
"fascinating history"
in 7 reviews
"home owners"
in 7 reviews
Filter

236 - 240 of 449 reviews

Reviewed December 2, 2016

Having vacationed on Hilton Head Island several times over the past five years we have always said one day we should visit Rosehill Plantation House? This time along with our son and daughter-in-law we booked online for a visit. Our tour was scheduled for 2:00 and we arrived at the main gate at 1:40 to be greeted by the individual at the gate. When I told him that we had a tour at 2:00 he said somewhat rudely "at which time you may enter, until then you may park outside the estate" we were somewhat taken aback by this but none the less we reversed and located somewhere to park before being allowed into the grounds. It wasn't until afterwards when I checked the tickets did I see that we were actually meant to arrive early not really a good start to our visit.

Upon arriving at the beautiful house we parked the car and were met by our tour guide. We were offered a glass of wine to bring along with us on the tour. Normally it is $5 per glass, but they had a special online offer and so it was complementary. So this balanced out our initial poor e peri eve at the gate. The tour itself lasted about an hour. Our tour guide clearly loved her job and was full of interesting information, both about the house itself and the family who currently own the house. Tour is limited to just three rooms on the ground floor. Would have been nice to see more of the house, but given that it is also a private residence I can understand why not. Lots of interesting items on display. At the end we sampled some home made treats and had a chance to purchase some.

The mansion itself is a beautiful place do steeped in history. I just don't think that it was worth the $25 a head for what we got to see. Left somewhat disappointed.

Date of experience: November 2016
Review collected in partnership with this attraction
2  Thank Brownbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2016

We arrived on a beautiful warm sunny day and were greeted by Miss Kim dressed in period costume. Her narrative on the history of the mansion took you back in time and made you feel part of the history. Her knowledge of the house and area was extensive. She made you feel like you were a guest rather than a tourist. At the end of the tour we were treated to some delicious snacks including jams and preserves from the estate. Miss Pat described each snack she had prepared. All in all I would highly recommend this tour.

Date of experience: November 2016
1  Thank Linda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2016

Expansive, well kept grounds greeted us as we pulled into the makeshift parking lot. Was glad to see it unpaved, retaining the inherent charm of this 'Grand Dame'. The Gothic exterior gable soared before us as we strolled to the front door. We were greeted by a self-confirmed yankee, who was delightfully knowledgeable about her history...both the good and not so good (namely her catching fire)...of this southern treasure! We were allowed by the gracious owners and residents to tour the lower level of this home and we're surprised and delighted to see many historical vestiges and artifacts adorning the several rooms. It would have been a special treat to visit the upstairs, but given the owner's residency, their request for privacy is completely understood and appreciated. Another topic, though an uncomfortable one...the house fire...provides another interesting page to this home's history. The restoration was done quite well and visually undetectable were it not for the shared story. Well worth the $25 entry fee!!

Date of experience: November 2016
Review collected in partnership with this attraction
1  Thank Steven H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed November 30, 2016 via mobile

Ms. Jean Kirk (no relation to the former owners!) gave a simply sensational tour of this marvelous mansion and former plantation that is clearly a labor of love for her! While you only tour the bottom floors of the house (current owners actually live upstairs), she spent enough time in each room with the history and background of each, you almost felt like you lived there when you were done! Ask about the ghost stories!! Also, best tour I've ever been on as you can either get an online coupon for a glass of wine at the start of the tour or buy one as you go and then you get snacks at the end made by the kitchen staff with good old fashioned southern flavors and charm! You can also buy some to take home if you'd like. Furthermore, you're allowed to walk the grounds or sit by the reflecting pool to enjoy your snacks afterwards if you'd like! All in all, make an afternoon out of it and enjoy the outside as much as inside. However, tours are generally only offered weekdays by reservation and in the afternoon, so make sure you call ahead. Also, pay attention for the small sign on your left as you drive in the main entry road past the gate house (where you will have to show ID) to find the mansion entry, as it's easy to overlook and then get lost among the houses.

Date of experience: November 2016
1  Thank ltw52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rose Hill Mansion also viewed

Bluffton, Coastal South Carolina
Bluffton, Coastal South Carolina
 
Bluffton, Coastal South Carolina
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing