We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful piece of Southern Charm”
Review of Rose Hill Mansion

Rose Hill Mansion
Book In Advance
More Info
$25.00*
and up
Rose Hill Mansion Tour in Bluffton SC
Ranked #2 of 23 things to do in Bluffton
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: The historic Rose Hill Mansion, known as the most beautiful plantation house in the Low Country, has long held a treasured place in Southern history. Originally built in the late 1850s by planter and physician, Dr. John Kirk and his wife Caroline, the plantation was a wedding present from Caroline's father, James Kirk. Work was halted by the Civil War, and while occupied through the years, the interior was not completed until 1946, when new owners John and Betsy Gould Sturgeon finished it in grand style. In 1980, the Welton family purchased the land and the house was later listed in the National Register of Historic Places. In 1987, a fire devastated the house & it sat in a state of ruin until purchased and restored by The Middleton White Foundation. After a decade long restoration, the home is now shared with the public each day, via guided history tours. Reservations are required for all tours.
Reviewed October 7, 2016

We enjoyed the beautiful Rose Hill Mansion, and it's lovely area with stately homes. The visit inside the house was personal and tasty, thanks to Miss Pat. Our guide was knowledgeable and friendly and gave us lots of time to ask questions. We highly recommend a visit.

Date of experience: October 2016
Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank Toni F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (449)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"current owners"
in 38 reviews
"first floor"
in 23 reviews
"miss pat"
in 21 reviews
"the owner"
in 55 reviews
"our tour guide"
in 33 reviews
"dining room"
in 22 reviews
"plantation home"
in 14 reviews
"gothic style"
in 10 reviews
"beautiful house"
in 9 reviews
"wonderful tour"
in 16 reviews
"main floor"
in 8 reviews
"civil war"
in 32 reviews
"delicious snacks"
in 8 reviews
"true southern hospitality"
in 8 reviews
"tour ended"
in 8 reviews
"home owners"
in 7 reviews
"delightful afternoon"
in 6 reviews
Filter

259 - 263 of 448 reviews

Reviewed October 5, 2016

The mansion and grounds were wonderfully restored, and the home was decorated beautifully in the victorian style. The tour guide was very informative. She knew a lot of tidbits to make the history come alive! We also met Robin, one of the home owners, who kindly answered our questions. The sweet little lady who made the great southern refreshments shared some of her secret ingredients. We would highly recommend Rose Hill Mansion!

Date of experience: October 2016
Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank 386joyceb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2016

This tour helps to bring history to life. The challenges of the people who have lived here are sobering.

Date of experience: September 2016
Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank bcbest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2016

This tour was a pleasant surprise. When we made our reservations we were not aware of the luncheon that followed. The fact that the family who now owns this home actually lives there is unusual and I found it so generous that they opened the first floor up to strangers! One thing that I really liked about this tour was that you did not feel rushed to leave when it was over. You could go back into the rooms, take pictures, walk the property and sit on the porch. I have never experienced such a casual atmosphere on a tour before. Our guide was excellent, the grounds beautiful and the food was very good. It is not a sit down meal but very nice. We saw a family group taking pictures on the front porch which was a nice setting for pictures. It didn't take long to get there from Hilton Head where we were staying.

Date of experience: September 2016
Thank Judy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed September 13, 2016

On our visit to Rose Hill Mansion we learned about the owner, and his care for his slaves, whom he cared for as family. This gave me a different not often publicized view of some slave owners. The local history of Bluffton and the beginning of the Civil war are very intwined.

Date of experience: November 2015
Thank Wayne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rose Hill Mansion also viewed

Bluffton, Coastal South Carolina
Bluffton, Coastal South Carolina
 
Bluffton, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Rose Hill Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing