We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Trip back in history”
Review of Rose Hill Mansion

Rose Hill Mansion
Book In Advance
More Info
$25.00*
and up
Rose Hill Mansion Tour in Bluffton SC
Ranked #2 of 23 things to do in Bluffton
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: The historic Rose Hill Mansion, known as the most beautiful plantation house in the Low Country, has long held a treasured place in Southern history. Originally built in the late 1850s by planter and physician, Dr. John Kirk and his wife Caroline, the plantation was a wedding present from Caroline's father, James Kirk. Work was halted by the Civil War, and while occupied through the years, the interior was not completed until 1946, when new owners John and Betsy Gould Sturgeon finished it in grand style. In 1980, the Welton family purchased the land and the house was later listed in the National Register of Historic Places. In 1987, a fire devastated the house & it sat in a state of ruin until purchased and restored by The Middleton White Foundation. After a decade long restoration, the home is now shared with the public each day, via guided history tours. Reservations are required for all tours.
Reviewed September 2, 2016

The owners of this plantation graciously open their doors to expose all of us to the past. This home is lovely, filled with antiques and period pieces. The tour guide was very informative and educated us not just on the home but on the area as well. It is set up in such a way as to be able to sit on the furniture, touch some of the pieces.
The staff were very friendly and open to questions. At the ed of the tour, they had prepared refreshments. The mac and cheese beet Kraft Miss Pat!

Date of experience: August 2016
Thank AztecJoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (449)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"current owners"
in 38 reviews
"first floor"
in 23 reviews
"miss pat"
in 21 reviews
"the owner"
in 55 reviews
"our tour guide"
in 33 reviews
"dining room"
in 22 reviews
"plantation home"
in 14 reviews
"gothic style"
in 10 reviews
"beautiful house"
in 9 reviews
"wonderful tour"
in 16 reviews
"main floor"
in 8 reviews
"civil war"
in 32 reviews
"delicious snacks"
in 8 reviews
"true southern hospitality"
in 8 reviews
"tour ended"
in 8 reviews
"home owners"
in 7 reviews
"delightful afternoon"
in 6 reviews
Filter

266 - 270 of 448 reviews

Reviewed September 1, 2016

Wonderful docent Joann and Miss Pattys snacks wonderful. Well preserved and lovingly restored. Thank you!

Date of experience: August 2016
Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank Tjehle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2016 via mobile

We took our 2 boys to this house not really knowing what to expect. As frequent visitor s to old houses in the UK, we have high standards.

This exceeded these with a delightful guide who was very professional and enthusiastic. The trip ended with some food cooked by the very cheerful Miss Pat, and we immediately bought some her produce: pecan pie and apricot jam were beyond delicious.

So if you are in the area, you must go along

Date of experience: August 2016
1  Thank keith s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2016

We were in Hilton Head for a Girls' Getaway when a member of our group suggested we visit the Rose Hill Mansion. After looking it up on Tripadvisor, we made reservations online for the next day. The mansion holds tours Monday-Friday at 2 pm. and has a $25 admission fee. You must check-in between 1:30 and 1:45 pm at the Rose Hill Plantation front gate. At the gate you must show your reservation and driver's license. The mansion is located past the equesterian center at the back of the neighborhood. We were all awed as we pulled in the driveway and parked at the front of the Gothic inspired home. As we walked up to the front door, we were greeted by our tour guide, Joan. She was so inviting and friendly offering us a glass of wine or other refreshment. While we waited, she explained to us what the tour would include and gave us some instructions. We were not allowed to take pictures during the tour, but she welcomed us to take as many pictures as we wanted at the end. The tour would only include the first floor because the owners live in the house and the upstairs is their private area. She invited us to sit on the furniture except for a few museum pieces. By the end of the tour all four of us agreed that this was the most informative, interesting one that we have ever taken. When we entered the dining room we were introduced to Miss Pat that prepared a table full of goodies for us to taste. It was hard to pick a favorite as we tasted items such as sweet potato pie, macaroni and cheese, chips and salsa, dill dip, and bread pudding. The southern delights were delicious, and we were happy to learn that Miss Pat had a cookbook that would be available soon. It was a wonderful afternoon and would recommend the tour to any of our family and friends.

Date of experience: August 2016
Thank Teachgz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed August 12, 2016

A 35 minute ride from downtown Savannah, GA is the Rose Hill Mansion. We had a wonderful one hour tour full of history of the plantation and its owners going back to colonial times. The building, which had a fire, has been restored and is full of things that you would see in a museum. After a one hour talk and walk we were served some great snacks and refreshing drinks. I would recommend this for children or adults. It's a fun afternoon. Just so it

Date of experience: August 2016
Thank Carl B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rose Hill Mansion also viewed

Bluffton, Coastal South Carolina
Bluffton, Coastal South Carolina
 
Bluffton, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Rose Hill Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing