We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful time. ”
Review of Rose Hill Mansion

Rose Hill Mansion
Book In Advance
More Info
$25.00*
and up
Rose Hill Mansion Tour in Bluffton SC
Ranked #2 of 23 things to do in Bluffton
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: The historic Rose Hill Mansion, known as the most beautiful plantation house in the Low Country, has long held a treasured place in Southern history. Originally built in the late 1850s by planter and physician, Dr. John Kirk and his wife Caroline, the plantation was a wedding present from Caroline's father, James Kirk. Work was halted by the Civil War, and while occupied through the years, the interior was not completed until 1946, when new owners John and Betsy Gould Sturgeon finished it in grand style. In 1980, the Welton family purchased the land and the house was later listed in the National Register of Historic Places. In 1987, a fire devastated the house & it sat in a state of ruin until purchased and restored by The Middleton White Foundation. After a decade long restoration, the home is now shared with the public each day, via guided history tours. Reservations are required for all tours.
Reviewed September 28, 2014 via mobile

Great location, incredible views, excellent hostess. Work a wedding Herr and it was a pleasure. I would recommend for any event. Cynthiana went out of her way for our clients and us.

Thank RichardL5543
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (448)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"current owners"
in 38 reviews
"first floor"
in 23 reviews
"miss pat"
in 21 reviews
"the owner"
in 55 reviews
"our tour guide"
in 33 reviews
"dining room"
in 22 reviews
"southern plantation"
in 15 reviews
"gothic style"
in 10 reviews
"beautiful house"
in 9 reviews
"wonderful tour"
in 16 reviews
"main floor"
in 8 reviews
"civil war"
in 32 reviews
"delicious snacks"
in 8 reviews
"true southern hospitality"
in 8 reviews
"tour ended"
in 8 reviews
"home owners"
in 7 reviews
"delightful afternoon"
in 6 reviews
Filter

388 - 392 of 447 reviews

Reviewed September 25, 2014

Please see the next review - it was exactly the experience we had - both Cynthia & Robin were fascinating, warm, welcoming and thoroughly engaging! We would do this tour again in a heartbeat!

Date of experience: September 2014
1  Thank Jeri G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2014 via mobile

Not just worthwhile, but highly recommended!! We arrived at Rose Hill on what turned out to be a rainy Tuesday on the second day of our vacation. We were part of a large group, and we both found the tour charming and delightful. Both Cynthia and Robin (docent and owner) were wonderfully hospitable and made all feel at home immediately. In the beginning of the tour you are seated in the grand entrance and glasses of wine are offered at $5 per glass. I chose the white Pinot Grigio style, a local wine from ancient vines, and I must say, I was quite impressed with the generous pour of a pleasant easy drinking wine. Definitely this tour is worth the $25 per person. Cynthia is very friendly and charming and a wealth of knowledge regarding the family, the history, and the area. She has a gift for presenting vignettes about the house and family and many relevant factoids. We both learned a lot on this tour and better still the lively, lovely Cynthia kept it interesting enough to maintain our attention and help us remember the details. The owners are so gracious as to lay out a significant spread of refreshments for their guests to sample at the conclusion of the tour. At this time, all are welcomed to lounge and relax while they enjoy their treats, as well as to continue touring the house and grounds individually so you may take a closer, longer look at whatever captures your fancy or those things you may have missed. I found the gift shop to be perfect - I got some lovely African Shea butter handmade locally. There is a small, well curated selection of local gifts and goodies such as body products as well as chutneys, jams, ornaments and etc and also the delicious wine we sampled at the outset of the tour is reasonably priced and available for purchase. This was one of the highlights of our ten day break to Savannah and The Lowcountry. Cynthia and Robin are wonderful and the tour is very comprehensive and compelling. A must see if you find yourself in the area!

4  Thank Erica K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2014

Interesting tour of a restored pre civil war plantation house. Only includes the first floor of the house, but the history is very interesting. The style of the house is a little different than what I expected of a southern plantation. The tour guide is a descendant of the original owner family and the new owner joins the tour at the end. it is a home that is lived in and we were invited to sit on any of the antique furniture in the rooms.
Lots of yummy treats in the dining room at the end of the tour and you can stay and revisit any rooms you like.

Date of experience: September 2014
1  Thank STETSONANNE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed September 17, 2014

Not sure what dsa_honey expected but we thought the mansion was just stunning and the fact the tour guide, Cynthia, had a direct link to family history made it all the better. She was fantastic - knowledgeable and interesting. And the fact that the "new" owners have put so much love, labor and certainly a lot of personal money with no grants into rebuilding this beauty just boggles the mind. I thought the white wine was quite good, and the treats after the tour were great, especially the sweet potato pie! Yum. We very much recommend that people go - a good way to spend a couple of hours being entertained and learning about the history of the south.

Date of experience: September 2014
3  Thank Sue R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rose Hill Mansion also viewed

Bluffton, Coastal South Carolina
Bluffton, Coastal South Carolina
 
Bluffton, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Rose Hill Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing