We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Breathtaking property, historically well-done”

Redcliffe Plantation State
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Redcliffe Plantation, completed in 1859, was once the home of James Henry Hammond, three generations of his descendants, and numerous African-American families like the Henleys, Goodwins, & Wigfalls who worked at the site as slaves and later free men and women. Redcliffe provides a setting for exploring the experiences of the enslaved, as well as the larger institution of slavery and reflects the historical experiences and impact of the white and black families who lived and worked at the site. The extant slave quarters, mansion, and iconic lane of magnolia trees planted in 1860 serve to highlight the plantation's rich and varied history. House Tours are offered Thursday through Monday at 11 a.m., 1 p.m., and 3 p.m. There are no tours available on Tuesday/Wednesday. If school groups are scheduled on a day tours are offered, the 11am tour will not be held. Please contact the park in advance if you are planning on attending an 11 a.m. tour.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
36 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Breathtaking property, historically well-done”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2014

Redcliffe is beautiful and educational. The original owner kept very detailed records, helping result in a well-informed tour and display. Nice, new visitor center too.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank TriciaJVN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joy R, Manager at Redcliffe Plantation State, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
We're so glad that you chose to visit us! This is one of the most well-documented plantations in the South and we are happy to share the resources with interested visitors. Thanks for leaving your comments, we hope to see you back soon!

Joy Raintree, Park Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    7
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Columbia, South Carolina
Level Contributor
1,715 reviews
1,308 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 628 helpful votes
“wonderful tour !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2014

had a great time with family. ranger Elizabeth did a great job with guided tour. She has great passion for history. The new visitors center is great,clean restrooms with a small museum and gift shop. the photo ops are many-the grounds are well kept. A must stop for history buffs and lovers of old plantation houses. picnic tables available if you want a nice relaxing lunch in old south environment.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank jlantern3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Carolina
Level Contributor
212 reviews
50 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Visit soon...visit often”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2014

On a quick getaway, we decided to chance a quick visit down to Redcliffe and thank goodness we did. Unfortunately, we missed the last full tour. The park guide, Elizabeth was so full of passion for this property and so willing to share...she had a grace for bringing alive the plantation. We will be back when we have longer to visit and when we can take the full tour. Thank you.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Alleycat0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alabama
Level Contributor
64 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Beautiful Antebellum plantation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2013

We arrived too early to take the house tour, but thoroughly enjoyed touring all of the outbuildings and the beautiful grounds. The Hammond family cemetery is also just town the road. We'll be returning to take the house tour!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Alsabrook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Augusta, Georgia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Redcliffe Plantation”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2013

Made the trip from Augusta on a 4-day weekend. It is worth the drive for the beauty, and if you have kids especially, for educational value and run around time on the huge lawns. They have beautiful magnolias that are 100 years old, I heard from the same planter as at the National, so if you can't get into the National, you can at least see some of the trees here. You can tour the house (there were 3 on our tour), and also the servants quarters. There is a trail, but it is currently only an out and back, as a tornado went through the area a few years ago? Anyhow, a nice couple hour visit. Also a nice place to picnic. Or just sit in the rocking chairs on the porch and enjoy the view.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank KBMovingGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Redcliffe Plantation State also viewed

 

Been to Redcliffe Plantation State? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing