We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Southern charm and style”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Rhett House Inn
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Beaufort
Certificate of Excellence
New Jersey
1 review
“Southern charm and style”
Reviewed January 2, 2007

Charming old southern home completely updated. Lovely parlor where tea and cookies is served in the afternoons. Extremely comfortable bedroom. Lovely verandas to relax on, breakfast on.

Food is unbelievable. Scrumptious breakfasts, homemade cookes in the afternoons, desserts put out at night. The night I was there, they were pecan pie, lemon cream pie, chocolate cake. All homemade of course. Alcoholic beverages are available in the evening on the honor system. Soft drinks are free.

Excellent hostesses take care of every request and dig for extra information.

Price is reasonable for all you get.

  • Liked — The ambiance and food
  • Disliked — views
  • Tips/Secrets — Go there and enjoy it.
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank nightflightNewJersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,003 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    805
    128
    40
    23
    7
See reviews for
138
630
28
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (297)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 2, 2006

The Rhett House Inn is a quaint b&b-- a perfect balance of Southern charm and modern convenience. The inn itself was beautiful and, although we stayed in a smaller room on the lower level, we were very pleased with the pleasant decor. The flat screen TV and 600 thread-count sheets weren't bad, either! The hospitality was also noteworthy--the staff was very attentive. The breakfast featured a menu with two different options (pancakes or eggs/sausage/grits, for example). Cocktail hour included delicious cheeses and crackers, as well as small finger foods like mini quiches. Three different desserts were set out in the kitchen each evening with coffee. The location was very convenient to both the waterfront park and the downtown shopping district--both were just a block away--ideal for walking. We had a truly wonderful stay!

  • Liked — The beautiful historical building and the convenient location to downtown Beaufort and the waterfront area.
  • Disliked — We really liked everything about it!
  • Tips/Secrets — Beaufort is a quiet town--perfect for a low-key getaway. Ask about local or seasonal events and plan the trip when something fun is happening in town.
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank ecossick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2006

We loved this place - So far we have loved all the "Classic Inns of the South) which include 9 magical historical inns in the Carolinas and Georgia. The room was clean and well presented. The service was impeccable, pleasant, and attentive. The breakfast (included with the stay) was nice with the best grits we’ve ever had. You can sit at one of several private dining tables (on the porch and in the dining room) and do not have to wait for space at a long single dining table. Wine and appetizers are complimentary in the late afternoon, and multiple complimentary desert selections appear in the evening so you can return to the inn to enjoy coffee and desert. The columned porches have wicker furniture and swings for your relaxation, and there’s a brick patio w/ fountain. The bathrooms are basic and small. The location is only one block from the marina (where the tours and boat events start) and one block from Bay Street which is filled with shops and restaurants. The only slight bummer is that across the street from the Rhett House is a new hotel (Best Western) which although it has been designed and built to look “old”, it has a well-lit, tree-covered, parking lot which rather spoils the feeling of being back in the 19th century.

  • Liked — Feeling like everything was being done to make us happy
  • Disliked — Across the street is a Best Western Hotel
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Baywood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, NC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2006

My husband and I spent our 10 year wedding anniversary at the Rhett House Inn. The staff was very attentive. Our room was gorgeous. The bed was fit for a princess. We were in Room #9. For breakfast we had the Southern Breakfast, which consisted of Eggs (any way you want), sausage or bacon, grits, biscuit, toast, or muffin. The Grits were so good, I got the recipie. There were desserts, tea, lemonade through the day and at night, OHHHH the desserts - SUPERB!!

The Inn's location was right in the heart of Beaufort. We walked the town and viewed the homes. We had a special treat - the Shrimp Festival was in town. What fun that was.

We've never stayed in a B&B before and all others will have big shoes to fill.

  • Liked — The Bed
  • Disliked — Can't think of a thing
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mom10kid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Or.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2006

We had a wonderful stay at The Rhett House Inn. Great location within walking distance of the historic district and waterfront. We particularly enjoyed the horse drawn carriage tour. Very informative and generally better than the one we took in Charleston a few days earlier. The Inn exceeded expectations. While the exterior could use a fresh coat of paint, the rooms, balconies and common areas were all very comfortable, clean and relaxing. We enjoyed the breakfast on the front porch along with the evening desserts and "happy hour" offerings. The staff was very accomodating. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Liked — location, authentic feel, staff
  • Tips/Secrets — Make sure you take the carriage tour. Don't forget to stop at "The Chocolate Tree" .
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank cousin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2006

We had a lovely stay at the Rhett House Inn - the inn was decorated with a refeshing style - breakfast was delicious and generous - our only regret was that our stay was not longer. Highly recommend a stay here.

  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank eralt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2006

We had high hopes for The Rhett House Inn, but found our stays disappointing (yes, we tried a second time, just in case the first was a fluke). The main problems were the cleanliness of the rooms (not very), general tattiness (frayed and stained bed linens), and insects (two rooms had dead cockroaches, one had live ones). We had no hot water one day. The breakfasts were adequate but rushed (by the staff). We won't be returning.

  • Liked — Location, front porch
  • Disliked — Cleanliness
  • Tips/Secrets — There are lots of inns in Beaufort.
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank miz_carolina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Beaufort hotels
0.2 mi away
The Beaufort Inn
The Beaufort Inn
#4 of 15 in Beaufort
1,161 reviews
0.2 mi away
City Loft Hotel
City Loft Hotel
#1 of 15 in Beaufort
933 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Sea Island Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Beaufort
1.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Beaufort
Hampton Inn Beaufort
#6 of 15 in Beaufort
696 reviews
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn & Suites Beaufort at Highway 21
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Rhett House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rhett House Inn

Property: The Rhett House Inn
Address: 1009 Craven St, Beaufort, SC 29902-5577
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Beaufort
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Beaufort
#2 Romantic Hotel in Beaufort
#3 Business Hotel in Beaufort
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Rhett House Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The multi award winning historic Rhett House Inn, located in Beaufort, SC, with its sprawling verandahs and white columns, is known for it's Southern Hospitality and has been the home away from home for many movie stars like Barbara Streisand, Ben Affleck, and Gwyneth Paltrow. Bordering the Intracoastal Waterway and in Beaufort's Historic District, the Rhett House Inn is a few walking blocks to all restaurants, bars, and shops. Complimentary champagne on arrival and after dinner deserts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your The Rhett House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Rhett House Hotel Beaufort
The Rhett Hotel
Rhett Hotel Beaufort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing