We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Our annual mother-daughter trip” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Rhett House Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Rhett House Inn
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Beaufort
Certificate of Excellence
North Augusta, South Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Our annual mother-daughter trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

Our third-annual trip to the Rhett House left us with an abiding love for the city of Beaufort and especially for the owners and staff of the Rhett House Inn. This year was especially delightful as we were blessed to enjoy the Newcastle House for three amazing days! Our stay there was almost beyond description. We so enjoyed the décor, the warmth of the sitting room, watching "The Big Chill" on DVD after bike riding to see the house in which it was filmed, and restful nights in the two suites! As always, the staff made us feel so welcome and each time we left for a shopping trip, bike or carriage ride, or phenomenal meal at one of the amazing restaurants, we felt as though we were arriving home. There is no reason to stay anywhere else in Beaufort!

Kerry B

Room Tip: We have stayed in "Charlie's Room" and Room #10 as well as The Newcastle House. All a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kerry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anya C, Manager at The Rhett House Inn, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Dear Kerry, On behalf of the entire staff it is our pleasure to make you feel like this is your home away from home and we are so glad you returned again this year. Beaufort is a very special place and we are glad you enjoyed the wonderful accommodations at the Newcastle House. We look forward to seeing you again next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

977 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    789
    123
    37
    22
    6
See reviews for
137
607
28
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (289)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Creemore, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

We had the good fortune of spending three nights at the Rhett House Inn in Beaufort, SC. Our rooms were an absolute delight and starting our day on the porch eating a delicious and healthy breakfast set the tone.
The staff were friendly and helpful.
Our rooms were clean and inviting.
Don't hesitate to book this hotel. You won't regret it.

Room Tip: Main house and cottages were both beautiful and close to each other.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debbie O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anya C, Manager at The Rhett House Inn, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Dear Debbie, Thank you for your review and choosing to stay with us. We are glad you enjoyed every aspect of your stay and hope to welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013

Wonderful experience, the Staff in all areas excellent.. I was there to celebrate my sisters oldest grandson's Marine Graduation at Paris Island, the Inn was very convenient, and enjoyable. While visiting Beaufort S.C., we were able to spend quality time learning all about the Historical town, so much to do, especially the Carriage ride. Plus we also were able to visit Savannah, GA. so close by, to enjoy it's History. Perfect getaway!!

Room Tip: Rooms available in the Inn, and also they have more accommodations outside the Inn. Staying in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Judy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anya C, Manager at The Rhett House Inn, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Dear Judy, Thank you for choosing to stay at the Rhett House Inn. We are glad you appreciated everything we do it is our pleasure. Not only are the graduations at Parris Island an amazing experience and you are right the history and charm of Beaufort are not to be missed. We hope you will return the next time you have the opportunity to visit Beaufort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

We went to Rhett House Inn with high expectations and they by far exceeded what we expected. We loved everything from the breakfast on the veranda to the fresh lemonade, tea and cookies to the wine and cheese. The key lime pie was awesom!. Thank you Anya, Becky, Devondra, Josh and everyone else that worked there for all your hospitality! We will definitely be coming back!! Your #1 guests in the #1 room!
Bob and companion.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RTMCMC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anya C, Manager at The Rhett House Inn, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Dear Bob, Thank you for your wonderful review. It was a pleasure getting to know both of you and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Pelzer, South Carolina, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

My husband and I have been to The Rhett House Inn twice now. It has became our yearly getaway for our anniversary. They have wonderful breakfast with good cooks and friendly staff to start your day off. The area around has just enough to enjoy the view and added relaxation. Then The Rhett House Inn welcomes you back in with lemonade and cookies. They even tuck you into bed with homemade pies and coffee/tea. The staff has always welcomed us in making us feel as we are their most valued customers. They treat everyone this way!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anthony B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anya C, Manager at The Rhett House Inn, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
We value our return guests and it is always a pleasure to welcome back familiar faces. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brevard, North Carolina
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

This was our third visit in four years to the fantastic Rhett House Inn. The staff goes above and beyond to make sure that you are spoiled during your stay. From the champagne reception on our arrival to taking care of our dinner reservations to recommending activities and tours for our stay, Jo, David, Anya, and the rest of the folks there make you feel as though you are their only guests! Looking forward to our next visit to Beaufort!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anya C, Manager at The Rhett House Inn, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
On behalf of the entire staff thank you for your support of the Rhett House Inn. It is always our pleasure to welcome you back and we look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmel, Indiana, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

We stopped in on our way to Hilton Head and found that the Rhett House exceeded our expectations. It is not as much as a bed and breakfast as a very small boutique hotel. In the heart of old town. Exceedingly friendly staff and very nice facility.

Room Tip: If you have kids, room 8 is the one for you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anya C, Manager at The Rhett House Inn, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are glad to know that we exceeded your expectations. It was our pleasure to show you what Southern hospitality is all about.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Beaufort hotels
0.2 mi away
The Beaufort Inn
The Beaufort Inn
#4 of 15 in Beaufort
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,130 reviews
0.3 mi away
City Loft Hotel
City Loft Hotel
#1 of 15 in Beaufort
5.0 of 5 bubbles 903 reviews
0.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Sea Island Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Beaufort
Hampton Inn Beaufort
#6 of 15 in Beaufort
4.0 of 5 bubbles 654 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Beaufort
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn & Suites Beaufort at Highway 21
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Rhett House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rhett House Inn

Property: The Rhett House Inn
Address: 1009 Craven St, Beaufort, SC 29902-5577
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Beaufort
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Beaufort
#2 Romantic Hotel in Beaufort
#3 Business Hotel in Beaufort
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Rhett House Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The multi award winning historic Rhett House Inn, located in Beaufort, SC, with its sprawling verandahs and white columns, is known for it's Southern Hospitality and has been the home away from home for many movie stars like Barbara Streisand, Ben Affleck, and Gwyneth Paltrow. Bordering the Intracoastal Waterway and in Beaufort's Historic District, the Rhett House Inn is a few walking blocks to all restaurants, bars, and shops. Complimentary champagne on arrival and after dinner deserts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your The Rhett House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Rhett House Hotel Beaufort
The Rhett Hotel
Rhett Hotel Beaufort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing