We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing B&B”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Rhett House Inn
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Beaufort
Certificate of Excellence
Charleston, South Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing B&B”
Reviewed July 1, 2013

My husband and I and best couple friends had a fantastic experience at the Rhett House Inn this past weekend. The staff all very hospitable and very friendly, espcially the lady that checked us in and offered us an upgrade when they had a cancellation. They went the extra mile to make sure we had a delightful visit. Our rooms were beautifully decorated and very comfortable. The amenties are endless- the welcome champagne, tea, lemonade and homemade cookies for afternoon refreshments, hors-d'oevres 5-7pm, and delicious homemade desserts 7-9pm. We had late dinner reservations so they let us reserve our dessert choice and had it waiting in kitchen when we got home after 11pm. The breakfast was delightful Sunday morning. Great chef prepared delicious omelets and much more. Devondra also took very good care of us. She is so friendly and efficient. We can't wait to return and have spread the word in Charleston S,C about the Rhett House Inn

Room Tip: we loved room 11(in cottage across street)great a/c and jacuzzi tub for 2
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank movielovers1936
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anya C, Manager at The Rhett House Inn, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Thank you for your review. On behalf of the entire staff it was our pleasure to show you what Southern hospitality is all about. We are glad you enjoyed the amenities we offer and we look forward to welcoming you back the next time you visit Beaufort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,008 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    810
    128
    40
    23
    7
See reviews for
138
634
28
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (297)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Clarksville, Tennessee
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 26, 2013

My husband and I are thinking of relocating to Beaufort when he retires, and we wanted to spend a few days there exploring the area. My sister had spoken highly of the Rhett House Inn, so we followed her recommendation. We booked room #10, with a private entrance and screened porch overlooking the garden. We could not have asked for a better place. When my husband made our reservation, he mentioned that we would be celebrating our anniversary there. Josh (who took our reservation) was there to show us to our room when we arrived. A lovely "Happy Anniversary" card and a bottle of champagne had been left for us. Everything was exceptional from that moment on. We LOVED Josh, who was at the front desk every day during our stay. (I'm sure he will remember me as the woman who constantly threatened to adopt him!) But I have to say the ALL the staff members were extremely personable and helpful. Special thanks to Lanier for restaurant recommendations, garden information, and just general information on living in the area. Breakfasts on the veranda were scrumptious, as were the afternoon snacks in the parlor and evening desserts in the kitchen. We felt as though we were visiting friends in their home rather than staying in a hotel, and we truly hated to leave at the end of our time there. I can't speak highly enough of The Rhett House Inn. I hope I to visit again - sooner rather than later.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2doxiemom77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anya C, Manager at The Rhett House Inn, responded to this review, June 29, 2013
On behalf of the entire staff it was our pleasure to make your stay unforgettable. Thank you for choosing to celebrate your anniversary with us. We look forward to your return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarksburg, Maryland, United States
1 review
Reviewed June 23, 2013

Stayed in room 2 and loved the private entrance to the 2nd floor porch. The staff was very helpful and accommodating. Breakfast was delicious, absolutely loved the blueberry pancakes! It was great that we were able to borrow beach chairs and towels even though a tropical storm was blowing through the weekend we were there. Location is awesome, just a few minute walk to downtown Beaufort. Great place to stay if your son or daughter is graduating from Marine Corps boot camp at Parris Island, which is only a short 10-15 minute drive from the Rhett House. Despite the weather, we had a wonderful stay and will return next time we are in Beaufort.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anya C, Manager at The Rhett House Inn, responded to this review, June 29, 2013
We are glad you enjoyed the Southern hospitality we are known for and our great location right in the heart of the historic district. We look forward to your return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oak Ridge, Tennessee
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2013

Loved staying in room 17. It is in a separate building on the second floor with a porch and large bathroom. We had a very comfortable bed and it was super quiet. We enjoyed getting to know some of the breakfast staff, especially Devondra. I don't remember the cook's name, but she was very nice too. We met Josh who worked later in the day, and he offered to personally drive my husband and me to a nearby restaurant because it was raining. We still walked with an umbrella, but appreciated his generosity. We enjoyed our breakfast every morning. We also liked going to the Sanctuary Golf Club Pool, which is included with your stay at the Rhett House. Also the location of the Inn is great for walking to the shops on Bay Street. We will be back.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anya C, Manager at The Rhett House Inn, responded to this review, June 29, 2013
On behalf of the entire staff thank you for your review. We are so glad you found a new favorite place to visit and enjoyed the charm and history of the Inn and Beaufort. We look forward to your return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2013

This was our first experience with a B&B and it was wonderful. We were in a cottage room with it's own porch. It was quiet and private. The room was large,immaculately clean and the bed was very comfortable. The Inn met all of our needs from beach towels and chairs to bikes for riding around Beaufort. The food was delicious and the staff very friendly. I can not say enough about our visit and we look forward to returning.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NEH60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anya C, Manager at The Rhett House Inn, responded to this review, June 29, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are glad you choose us for your first experience at a B & B Inn and it was our pleasure to provide a wonderful experience. We hope to welcome you back the next time you are in Beaufort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradenton, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2013

We spend 2 nights at the Rhett House Inn, cottage rm 15, and enjoyed our stay very much. Cottage room had a porch and was very quiet at night. I didn't see any of the rooms in the main house so can't compare. It's within walking distance to everything in quaint downtown. Breakfasts were excellent, pecan pie at dessert hour was the best we have ever tasted! Beaufort and surrounding islands is an interesting area for it's beautiful homes, history, Gullah art and heritage, and scenic beaches.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PeggyK52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anya C, Manager at The Rhett House Inn, responded to this review, June 15, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and enjoyed learning about the history and charm of our beautiful town. I will let Becky our baker (who has been with us for 14 years) know about your compliments of her pecan pie. Desserts are not to be missed. We look forward to welcoming you back the next time you are in Beaufort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
charlotte
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed June 10, 2013

A lovely stay with a spacious room and terrific staff, especially during breakfast. It was a nice getaway for us and we could not have been more pleased. Restaurants were in close proximity to the Rhett House, and it was a very relaxing stay for us.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gwakja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anya C, Manager at The Rhett House Inn, responded to this review, June 15, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are glad you had a relaxing visit and enjoyed our great location right in the heart of the Historic district. On your next visit to Beaufort we hope to welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Beaufort hotels
0.2 mi away
The Beaufort Inn
The Beaufort Inn
#4 of 15 in Beaufort
1,196 reviews
0.2 mi away
City Loft Hotel
City Loft Hotel
#1 of 15 in Beaufort
948 reviews
0.0 mi away
Best Western Sea Island Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Beaufort
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn & Suites Beaufort at Highway 21
1.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Beaufort
Hampton Inn Beaufort
#7 of 15 in Beaufort
720 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Rhett House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rhett House Inn

Property: The Rhett House Inn
Address: 1009 Craven St, Beaufort, SC 29902-5577
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Beaufort
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Beaufort
#2 Romantic Hotel in Beaufort
#3 Business Hotel in Beaufort
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Rhett House Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The multi award winning historic Rhett House Inn, located in Beaufort, SC, with its sprawling verandahs and white columns, is known for it's Southern Hospitality and has been the home away from home for many movie stars like Barbara Streisand, Ben Affleck, and Gwyneth Paltrow. Bordering the Intracoastal Waterway and in Beaufort's Historic District, the Rhett House Inn is a few walking blocks to all restaurants, bars, and shops. Complimentary champagne on arrival and after dinner deserts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your The Rhett House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Rhett House Hotel Beaufort
The Rhett Hotel
Rhett Hotel Beaufort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing