We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delilghtful B&B”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Rhett House Inn
Ranked #4 of 15 Hotels in Beaufort
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 12, 2013

We spend 2 nights at the Rhett House Inn, cottage rm 15, and enjoyed our stay very much. Cottage room had a porch and was very quiet at night. I didn't see any of the rooms in the main house so can't compare. It's within walking distance to everything in quaint downtown. Breakfasts were excellent, pecan pie at dessert hour was the best we have ever tasted! Beaufort and surrounding islands is an interesting area for it's beautiful homes, history, Gullah art and heritage, and scenic beaches.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PeggyK52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anya C, Manager at The Rhett House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 15, 2013

Thank you for your review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and enjoyed learning about the history and charm of our beautiful town. I will let Becky our baker (who has been with us for 14 years) know about your compliments of her pecan pie. Desserts are not to be missed. We look forward to welcoming you back the next time you are in Beaufort.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,018)
There are newer reviews for The Rhett House Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

568 - 574 of 1,018 reviews

Reviewed June 10, 2013

A lovely stay with a spacious room and terrific staff, especially during breakfast. It was a nice getaway for us and we could not have been more pleased. Restaurants were in close proximity to the Rhett House, and it was a very relaxing stay for us.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gwakja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anya C, Manager at The Rhett House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 15, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are glad you had a relaxing visit and enjoyed our great location right in the heart of the Historic district. On your next visit to Beaufort we hope to welcome you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2013

We recently spent two nights here and enjoyed our stay very much. The B&B is highly rated by TripAdvisor. The rating is well deserved. We stayed in Room 3 which is on the second floor. The room was large and very nicely furnished. Our bed was very comfortable. Everything was immaculately clean.

The hall has a door that goes directly outside to the veranda. We enjoyed relaxing in the comfortable chairs and hammock there as we took in the atmosphere. Our room was on the corner of the B&B. We could hear the click clack of the horses pulling the tour groups, though the sound was not loud enough to be bothersome. The view of the nearby live oaks and Spanish moss added to the atmosphere.

The staff was very courteous and attentive. The B&B provides an champagne welcome, afternoon snacks and desserts in the evening. The breakfast on the veranda was wonderful. Everything was tasty and tasteful.

You will find this a very convenient base to tour the historic area. It is a charming small town with friendly people. While I love Charleston, Beaufort being much smaller offers an nice change.

Room Tip: We really enjoyed our stay in Room 3. I recommend staying in the second floor of the inn itself. It...
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ed T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anya C, Manager at The Rhett House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 15, 2013

Thank you for your review. We are so glad you enjoyed your accommodations and the charm of not only the Rhett House Inn but our beautiful town. We look forward to welcomin you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2013

We had a cottage room # 17 that was upstairs with a private porch. Lovely, no traffic passing by. As it is a old Historic Hotel, the amenities provided more than made up for it.

I will say the only staff member that went out of their way to be personable was Josh. Other than him you might just as well have stayed at a Best Western or the like. On the night I went in to ask a question he was there interacting with the guests and seemed delighted with their questions. We would return to this hotel just because it seemed Josh appreciated our business.

Room Tip: Pay a little more and have control of the thermostat.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank reecee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anya C, Manager at The Rhett House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 8, 2013

Thank you for your review. Each and every staff member strives to provide excellent customer service and we are glad that Josh was able to make your stay special. We look forward to welcoming you back the next time you visit Beaufort.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2013

We stayed at the Rhett House one night for our fourth anniversary.
Josh was working the front desk and was very nice and welcoming. There was champagne, tea and lemonade upon arrival.

We stayed in room # 2, which had access to the veranda. The veranda has a cozy little hammock (although they should lose the pillow because it was smelly). The bed was heavenly and was so comfortable.

The Inn has beach chairs and towels to use for those visiting Hunting Island State Park (which I highly recommend). Unfortunately, we didn't have time to ride the free bicycles which were provided.

Breakfast on the veranda was awesome! My eggs with cheese and chives were delicious. Dee was a great server.

Oh, and I noticed online that the property is for sale, which may explain the previous comments about the owners not being present.

Overall would recommend this inn for a special occasion stay,

Room Tip: Get a room with access to the veranda.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TobyandChewie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anya C, Manager at The Rhett House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 8, 2013

Thank you for choosing to celebrate your anniversary at the Rhett House Inn. We are glad you enjoyed the amenities that we offer and were able to experience the beauty of Hunting Island State Park and our charming town. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2013

I only got to spend one night at the Rhett House Inn but it was fantastic. Extremely friendly service, beautiful property, great location. The room was very comfortable. And you can't beat the pies and breakfast on the veranda!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mazeltovjp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anya C, Manager at The Rhett House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2013

We are glad you enjoyed our Southern hospitality and our wonderful desserts made by Becky our baker. Breakfast on the verandah is a great way to start your day. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2013

Stayed here for a weekend. Loved every aspect - great breakfast, afternoon snacks, and dessert hour. The room was amazing and had a private porch, huge bathroom, comfortable bed, and beautiful hardwood floors. Friends rented the cottage behind the main house, and that building was beautifully decorated and quite spacious as well. The staff was courteous and attentive, and the location was ideal as we walked everywhere we needed to go. This was our first trip to Beaufort, and we'll definitely plan a trip back just to return to this charming B&B.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank JMLMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anya C, Manager at The Rhett House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2013

Thank you for your review. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your accommodations and the amenities we offer. We are fortunate to be located in the heart of the historic district just one block from the waterfront park and main street. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Beaufort hotels
0.2 mi away
The Beaufort Inn
The Beaufort Inn
#3 of 15 in Beaufort
1,219 reviews
0.2 mi away
City Loft Hotel
City Loft Hotel
#1 of 15 in Beaufort
960 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Beaufort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Best Western Sea Island Inn
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn & Suites Beaufort at Highway 21
1.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Beaufort
Hampton Inn Beaufort
#7 of 15 in Beaufort
737 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Rhett House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rhett House Inn

Address: 1009 Craven St, Beaufort, SC 29902-5577
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Beaufort
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Beaufort
#2 Romantic Hotel in Beaufort
#3 Business Hotel in Beaufort
Price Range: $208 - $348 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Rhett House Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The multi award winning historic Rhett House Inn, located in Beaufort, SC, with its sprawling verandahs and white columns, is known for it's Southern Hospitality and has been the home away from home for many movie stars like Barbara Streisand, Ben Affleck, and Gwyneth Paltrow. Bordering the Intracoastal Waterway and in Beaufort's Historic District, the Rhett House Inn is a few walking blocks to all restaurants, bars, and shops. Complimentary champagne on arrival and after dinner deserts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your The Rhett House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Rhett House Hotel Beaufort
The Rhett Hotel
Rhett Hotel Beaufort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing