We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Inn in the South!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Rhett House Inn
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Beaufort
Certificate of Excellence
Charleston, South Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Best Inn in the South!”
Reviewed February 16, 2013

OK - so I have not stayed at many inns in the South but I find it hard to believe that anyone could top this place. Lanier is a jewel - felt like I came home to an old friend when I was through with my day. Sipping champagne at the end of the day with delicious cheese wafers by the fire with delightful conversation makes business travel much more enjoyable! The piece of walnut pie I took back to my room for later was scrumptous!

I had Cottage #4 that was adorable, well appointed and secluded. I enjoyed waking up to sit on the porch and watch the birds! Wonderful bed and linens, sitting chair, coffee maker with good coffee and real half and half in the fridge! The little gas fireplace really heats up the room in temperature and ambience! Breakfast was delicious with wonderful service.

Look no further! From Anya's wonderful service when making my reservation (and sharing the cheese wafer recipe) to the welcoming feel of the inn both night and day, you will feel like you are at a good friend's house.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank charlestoncat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anya C, Manager at The Rhett House Inn, responded to this review, February 23, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful review. We are so glad you enjoyed your accommodations and the amenities we offer. Lanier is a very gracious host and I will make sure to pass your compliments on to him. We look forward to your return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,008 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    810
    128
    40
    23
    7
See reviews for
138
634
28
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (297)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2013

What's the secret to a great B&B?An Excellent staff.
From the welcoming fire Joyce build,to the extra time she spent sharing information about Beaufort!
Smiles and greetings and from kitchen and wait staff the next morning.
Plus the morning of departure a young male manager gave help in finding a VW service center,
The Rhett House exudes Southern Charm
LCQ

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LCQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anya C, Manager at The Rhett House Inn, responded to this review, February 23, 2013
On behalf of the entire staff thank you for your wonderful compliments. It is our pleasure to provide each guest with a wonderful experience. We look forward to welcoming you back the next time you visit Beaufort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Shores, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2013

My partner and I traveled 8 hours to Beaufort, SC, on business and arrived in the town about 8:00 p.m., without a reservation - I had an important business meeting the next morning. We searched TripAdvisor for B&B's on our cell phone and called the closest one in the old town, the Rhett House. The on-duty host, Lanier, answered the phone, welcomed us at the door, showed us the available accomodations (we selected Room #2 on the 2nd Floor), checked us in, offered us a selection of wines, directed us to a restaurant, and made sure we both took a slice of homemade Key Lime Pie to our room for an after dinner dessert, and lent us one of 5 movies made locally in Beaufort to watch later on. For walk-ins without a reservation, we couldn't have been welcomed more warmly. We slept well. Although I had to be at my business meeting at 8:00 a.m., my partner slept in. When I returned at 10:00 a.m., I was expecting to receive coffee at most, but was delightfully surprised to sit down and, in short order, have a full breakfast served (pancakes, eggs, bacon - the whole works) - they have a chef on staff. Before we checked out at 11:00 a.m., we were greeted personally by the owner, thanking us for staying, and the morning hostess provided us a map detailing a self-guided walking tour of the historic town, which we loved. Overall, we had a fabulous experience at the Rhett house, and are looking forward to visiting again soon - with a reservation.

Room Tip: Next time we will spluge on the room Barbara Streisand stayed in for two months when she was filing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anya C, Manager at The Rhett House Inn, responded to this review, February 16, 2013
It was our pleasure to show you what Southern hospitality is all about. Lanier is a gracious host and very accommodating. We are glad you enjoyed your accommodations and the wonderful amenities that we offer. We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simpsonville, South Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2013

We just spent a fabulous weekend at the Rhett House and can't wait to return! We were warmly greeted by Lanier, the vivacious and knowledgable host, and given a brief history of Beaufort and of this beautiful home's place in it. We were given a glass of champagne and then shown to our room (#5) and was pleased to find it comfortable and, in the midst of a busy B&B, very private feeling. They offer many special touches with refreshments and appetizers being offered throughout the day and a fabulous array of desserts displayed every evening. Breakfast was wonderfully prepared by Beverly (her grits are A-MAZ-ING!) and served to us by Devondra, who was just a jewel and a wonderful ambassador for her hometown. What you search for in Charleston is what you find in Beaufort - a quaint town, rich in history and ripe with great restaurants, shops and people....but at more affordable prices! Go and tell 'em we sent you!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michele H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anya C, Manager at The Rhett House Inn, responded to this review, February 16, 2013
On behalf of the entire staff we appreciate your wonderful compliments. We are glad you enjoyed all of the amenities we offer. We pride ourselves on our Southern hospitality and our staff truly enjoys what they do. Thank you for helping to spread the word and we look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 4, 2013

We love the Rhett House! Our favorite rooms are in the cottage and the furnishings are beautiful and comfortable and the rooms are impeccably clean. The breakfast is amazing and the desserts at night are a special treat. This was our fourth stay and we will definitely be back.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank atbpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anya C, Manager at The Rhett House Inn, responded to this review, February 16, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay with us time and time again we always look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perrysburg, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2013

We spent three days at the Rhett Inn last weekend and found it to be one of our best travel experiences. All staff went out of their way to make sure that our stay was comfortable and memorable. From the nightly desserts to the southern breakfasts, all was perfect. We also really enjoyed having access to the bicycles. We found it to be a fun way to ride through the historic neighborhoods of Beaufort.

Room Tip: We were in room 15 which is actually across the street from the main Inn. It had a private entrance...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brenda Atzinger C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anya C, Manager at The Rhett House Inn, responded to this review, January 27, 2013
Thank you for your review. The bikes are a great way to explore Beaufort and we are glad you had the opportunity to use them. It was our pleasure to make your stay memorable and we look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ladson, South Carolina, United States
1 review
Reviewed January 21, 2013

My wife and I got away for our 29th anniversary. and stayed at the Rhett Inn. from the moment we arrived we were gretted with good down to earth southern hospitality. champaign upon arrival with appetizers and refreshments (lemonade is outstanding)the staff and owner, made us feel like Royalty. we spent 2 days and nights, and wanted to stay longer. very relaxing. and while your there go visit the Chocolate Tree.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anya C, Manager at The Rhett House Inn, responded to this review, January 27, 2013
Thank you for choosing to celebrate your 29th anniversary with us. It was our pleasure to show you the Southern hospitality we are known for. We are glad you enjoyed the amenities we offer and look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Beaufort hotels
0.2 mi away
The Beaufort Inn
The Beaufort Inn
#4 of 15 in Beaufort
1,196 reviews
0.2 mi away
City Loft Hotel
City Loft Hotel
#1 of 15 in Beaufort
949 reviews
0.0 mi away
Best Western Sea Island Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Beaufort
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn & Suites Beaufort at Highway 21
1.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Beaufort
Hampton Inn Beaufort
#6 of 15 in Beaufort
720 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Rhett House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rhett House Inn

Property: The Rhett House Inn
Address: 1009 Craven St, Beaufort, SC 29902-5577
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Beaufort
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Beaufort
#2 Romantic Hotel in Beaufort
#3 Business Hotel in Beaufort
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Rhett House Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The multi award winning historic Rhett House Inn, located in Beaufort, SC, with its sprawling verandahs and white columns, is known for it's Southern Hospitality and has been the home away from home for many movie stars like Barbara Streisand, Ben Affleck, and Gwyneth Paltrow. Bordering the Intracoastal Waterway and in Beaufort's Historic District, the Rhett House Inn is a few walking blocks to all restaurants, bars, and shops. Complimentary champagne on arrival and after dinner deserts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon and Agoda so you can book your The Rhett House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Rhett House Hotel Beaufort
The Rhett Hotel
Rhett Hotel Beaufort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing