We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Rhett Inn Hospitality” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Rhett House Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Rhett House Inn
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Beaufort
Certificate of Excellence
Perrysburg, Ohio
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Rhett Inn Hospitality”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2013

We spent three days at the Rhett Inn last weekend and found it to be one of our best travel experiences. All staff went out of their way to make sure that our stay was comfortable and memorable. From the nightly desserts to the southern breakfasts, all was perfect. We also really enjoyed having access to the bicycles. We found it to be a fun way to ride through the historic neighborhoods of Beaufort.

Room Tip: We were in room 15 which is actually across the street from the main Inn. It had a private entrance...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brenda Atzinger C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anya C, Manager at The Rhett House Inn, responded to this review, January 27, 2013
Thank you for your review. The bikes are a great way to explore Beaufort and we are glad you had the opportunity to use them. It was our pleasure to make your stay memorable and we look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

977 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    789
    123
    37
    22
    6
See reviews for
137
607
28
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (289)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Ladson, South Carolina, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2013

My wife and I got away for our 29th anniversary. and stayed at the Rhett Inn. from the moment we arrived we were gretted with good down to earth southern hospitality. champaign upon arrival with appetizers and refreshments (lemonade is outstanding)the staff and owner, made us feel like Royalty. we spent 2 days and nights, and wanted to stay longer. very relaxing. and while your there go visit the Chocolate Tree.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank James D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anya C, Manager at The Rhett House Inn, responded to this review, January 27, 2013
Thank you for choosing to celebrate your 29th anniversary with us. It was our pleasure to show you the Southern hospitality we are known for. We are glad you enjoyed the amenities we offer and look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Pleasan
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2013

My wife and I live in Mount Pleasant, near Charleston. For the last four or so years, we have enjoyed short getaways to Beaufort, South Carolina. Each time, we have stayed at the Rhett House Inn, a small bed and breakfast with close poximity to downtown and a fantastic breakfast each morning. We would not dream of staying anywhere else in Beaufort and look forward to going back each year.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chip M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anya C, Manager at The Rhett House Inn, responded to this review, January 27, 2013
Dear Chip, We always look forward to welcoming you back and are glad you and your wife are able to relax and enjoy the charm of the Rhett House Inn and Beaufort. We look forward to your return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2013

The place is the epitome of old elegance. One can almost see plantation owners and their ladies strolling through the house and around the grounds. We loved our stay and found the staff to be friendly and accommodating. The champaign at check in as well as appetizers and other delicious treats and desserts throughout the day were special touches of this B&B. Breakfasts were tasty but the menu was limited and portions a bit small. I found this to be not in keeping with everything else the Rhett House had done. Our room was very comfortable and well appointed. While it was clean and well maintained, it looked as if it was due for redecorating.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank carguy67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anya C, Manager at The Rhett House Inn, responded to this review, January 27, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are glad you enjoyed our Southern hospitality. Thank you for your suggestions as this only helps us to improve. We hope to welcome you back the next time you visit Beaufort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WEIRTON
Level Contributor
68 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2013

The Rhett House Inn is a beautiful old southern home restored into a lovely inn. We were welcomed with true southern hospitality and a glass of champaign. Appetizers were offered in the evening and a delicious assortment of desserts. The inn staff were so friendly and helpful and the other guests enjoyable. Our room was large and very comfortable.

That being said, they fell short when it came to the breakfast! There was absolutely nothing special about breakfast! There was a choice of eggs or French toast and sausage or bacon. The only side was grits. No fruit, no pastries, no muffins, no specialty entree. My husband requested his eggs very well done and they were served runny with the whites not set. . He sent them back and they brought him out one egg on a small saucer-not even in a dinner plate! For the price charged, and the description of a scrumptious southern breakfast, they did not deliver. As a couple who frequently travel and a fan of B&B's we have enjoyed many great breakfasts but this was a true disappointment.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KatiedooWV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Level Contributor
148 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2013

Whenever we are in the area we stay at Rhett House and request our favorite room...number 10. It has a comfortable king bed, sitting area, separate tub and shower, two sinks, a wet bar and small refrigerator. Our favorite part is the screened-in porch where we (in nice weather) have morning coffee and evening cocktails. The business is currently for sale and we pray that the new owners will maintain the ambiance and service that we have enjoyed for several years. Breakfast is indeed a great start to the day. In the warmer months it is served on the veranda and during winter months in a lovely dining room. My only concern, this trip, was the presence of an unnecessary plug-in room deodorizer. The smell was so overwhelming that we put it outside the door. A bigger concern was that these items have been reported to be fire hazards. Other than that, our trip was the usual comfortable and welcoming stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travellover021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anya C, Manager at The Rhett House Inn, responded to this review, January 27, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay with us whenever you visit Beaufort. We are so glad you enjoyed your room and the amenities we offer. Room 10 is definitely our most requested room. Thank you for your constructive comments regarding the air freshner. We have since removed them from the rooms. We look forward to your return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2012

We recently stayed at the Rhett Inn for an overnight stay as we wanted to check it out due to considering it as a wedding venue. Lets say that we were very impressed from the time we walked in the door up until check-out. The elegant southern ambiance of the place and the friendly staff was just excellent. They greeted us with champagne and saw us off we an incredible home cooked southern breakfast. The staff helped us choose a dinner restaurant that was within walking distance from the inn on the waterfront that we enjoyed. Our room was charming and nice as had a small private area to the porch. There were so many other amenities that we did not get to try as we were only there for a short time. We will definitely return here and booked this for our wedding in the spring. Thank you Rhett Inn staff for a wonderful experience!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Yoli80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anya C, Manager at The Rhett House Inn, responded to this review, January 5, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful review. We are so glad you enjoyed our Southern hospitality and it is our pleasure to provide such a wonderful experience. We look forward to hosting your wedding in the spring! See you then!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Beaufort hotels
0.2 mi away
The Beaufort Inn
The Beaufort Inn
#4 of 15 in Beaufort
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,131 reviews
0.3 mi away
City Loft Hotel
City Loft Hotel
#1 of 15 in Beaufort
5.0 of 5 bubbles 903 reviews
0.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Sea Island Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Beaufort
Hampton Inn Beaufort
#6 of 15 in Beaufort
4.0 of 5 bubbles 654 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Beaufort
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn & Suites Beaufort at Highway 21
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Rhett House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rhett House Inn

Property: The Rhett House Inn
Address: 1009 Craven St, Beaufort, SC 29902-5577
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Beaufort
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Beaufort
#2 Romantic Hotel in Beaufort
#3 Business Hotel in Beaufort
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Rhett House Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The multi award winning historic Rhett House Inn, located in Beaufort, SC, with its sprawling verandahs and white columns, is known for it's Southern Hospitality and has been the home away from home for many movie stars like Barbara Streisand, Ben Affleck, and Gwyneth Paltrow. Bordering the Intracoastal Waterway and in Beaufort's Historic District, the Rhett House Inn is a few walking blocks to all restaurants, bars, and shops. Complimentary champagne on arrival and after dinner deserts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your The Rhett House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Rhett House Hotel Beaufort
The Rhett Hotel
Rhett Hotel Beaufort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing