We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rhett House Inn Dreamy!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Rhett House Inn
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Beaufort
Certificate of Excellence
Charleston, South Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Rhett House Inn Dreamy!”
Reviewed September 10, 2012

A weekend getaway for our anniversary. Beautiful building & atmosphere. Champagne at arrival. Bikes ready to go to explore town (you can walk too). Rooms large, we had room 4 with access to the Veranda, lovely. Huge Room. Sweets and drinks mid day. Desserts late night. Excellent Staff and access to the Sanctuary on Cat Island. The Rhett House Inn is a must! :)

Room Tip: We liked our room, 4.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Danielle H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anya C, Manager at The Rhett House Inn, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
Dear Danielle,

Thank you for choosing to celebrate your anniversary with us. The bicycles are a great way to explore our charming town. We are glad you enjoyed the amenities that we offer and we hope to welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,007 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    809
    128
    40
    23
    7
See reviews for
138
634
28
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (297)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Holbrook, New York
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
Reviewed September 5, 2012

I would highly recommend The Rhett House Inn. We spent three nights there for my nephew's graduation from Parris Island in August, 2012. The Inn is wonderful. We had three different rooms and they were all beautiful (as you can see on their website). I slept great. It was quiet at night and the bed was very comfortable. Everyone there was great and very accommodating. The food (especially the breakfast) and drinks they put out during different times of the day just hit the spot. It's a beautiful old building which they have kept in great shape. I was very happy with the special rate I was able to get. Beaufort is a cute little town with a beautiful riverside park and we found everything within walking distance of the Inn. We would definitely go back.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen71_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anya C, Manager at The Rhett House Inn, responded to this review, September 8, 2012
Dear Karen, Congratulations again to your nephew. The graduations at Parris Island are a wonderful experience. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay at the Inn and that you were also able to experience the charm of our beautiful town. We hope you are able to return and look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elora, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2012

David greeted us for check-in. We were provided with all the information of just the right amount and exactly what we wanted to know about the area, the shops, the dining and attractions -- things to do. The massive porches were a lovely spot for breakfast or relaxing at night. Our room was really comfortable and quiet. The room had a large flat screen TV and comfortable seating for a relaxing read or from which to watch your favorite TV show or movie.

Breakfast was served out on the huge porch for those who want to enjoy the beautiful morning breeze outdoors.

This property is within walking distance to the historic downtown area, waterfront (1 block) as well as pre-revolutionary war homes, and horse-drawn historic carriage tours. The scenery is beautiful.

We were able to get a special rate on our room which made this a very good value.

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 8 which is below the dining room. I would have preferred a room on the 2nd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ronniekayd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anya C, Manager at The Rhett House Inn, responded to this review, September 8, 2012
Dear ronniekayd, Thank you for your review. David has done a great job of putting together information about the Inn, dining, things to do and see as well as the history of the Inn and the area. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and our close proximity to the Historic downtown area. We hope to welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yardley, Pennsylvania
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2012

There are three B&B's in downtown Beaufort worth staying at, and this is one of them. While I liked the richly appointed decor of another slightly better, The Rhett Inn had a slightly better breakfast.

Room Tip: Stay inside the inn. We were in a room off the front porch, and while nice, we lost a bit of the his...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CathyLeming
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anya C, Manager at The Rhett House Inn, responded to this review, September 8, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Each of the Historic Inns have unique qualities and we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to welcome you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed August 28, 2012

Loved this place. true southern hospitality - and i work in the travel/hospitality business. Recommended because we do business with them, and i was not disappointed: lovely and warm welcome, evening tea, and the evening desserts available in the kitchen really fostered that Southern community/family feeling. The entire staff was lovely, the rooms clean, well-decorated, roomy, and charming. the terrace unbeaten. the breakfast delicious. totally worth the time, and i think one of the highlights of Beaufort, not to mention our week in South Carolina/Georgai. THANK YOU Rhett House!

Room Tip: i personally love the upstairs rooms with access to the top floor terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sleeloucks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anya C, Manager at The Rhett House Inn, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
Dear sleeloucks, On behalf of the entire staff we appreciate your kind words about our charming Inn and Southern hospitality. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakeside, California
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2012

We have stayed at the Rhett House Inn on several occasions and it has always been first class. The food is wonderfully southern....the rooms are sooooo comfortable and tastefully furnished...I have family in Beaufort but prefer to stay at the Rhett House when visiting them...it's soooo peaceful and the deserts are wonderfullllllllll...

Room Tip: All the rooms are wonderful...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Meg48_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anya C, Manager at The Rhett House Inn, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
Dear Meg 48_12, Thank you for choosing the Rhett House Inn time and time again. We always look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tequesta, Florida, United States
1 review
Reviewed August 24, 2012

Thank you for a wonderful stay in a beautiful setting. Beaufort is a hidden jewel in the Low Country of South Carolina, and the Rhett House makes it even more enjoyable. The staff was more than helpful with suggestions and dinner reservations. Breakfast was a delight as were the freshly baked goodies for tea, and the snacks late in the afternoon were welcome after exploring the historic sites. Another nice touch was dessert in the kitchen after a dinner on the water in town. All in all it was a perfect place to spend time.

Room Tip: Next time we will stay upstairs on the second or third floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nancy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anya C, Manager at The Rhett House Inn, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
Dear Nancy M., We are glad you enjoyed not only the Inn and the amenities we offer but our charming town. We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Beaufort hotels
0.2 mi away
The Beaufort Inn
The Beaufort Inn
#4 of 15 in Beaufort
1,186 reviews
0.2 mi away
City Loft Hotel
City Loft Hotel
#1 of 15 in Beaufort
942 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Sea Island Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Beaufort
1.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Beaufort
Hampton Inn Beaufort
#6 of 15 in Beaufort
711 reviews
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn & Suites Beaufort at Highway 21
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Rhett House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rhett House Inn

Property: The Rhett House Inn
Address: 1009 Craven St, Beaufort, SC 29902-5577
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Beaufort
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Beaufort
#2 Romantic Hotel in Beaufort
#3 Business Hotel in Beaufort
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Rhett House Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The multi award winning historic Rhett House Inn, located in Beaufort, SC, with its sprawling verandahs and white columns, is known for it's Southern Hospitality and has been the home away from home for many movie stars like Barbara Streisand, Ben Affleck, and Gwyneth Paltrow. Bordering the Intracoastal Waterway and in Beaufort's Historic District, the Rhett House Inn is a few walking blocks to all restaurants, bars, and shops. Complimentary champagne on arrival and after dinner deserts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your The Rhett House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Rhett House Hotel Beaufort
The Rhett Hotel
Rhett Hotel Beaufort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing