We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Rhett House Inn”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Rhett House Inn
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Beaufort
Certificate of Excellence
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
1 review
“Rhett House Inn”
Reviewed August 14, 2012

The Rhett House Inn is a very charming place! We loved our stay at the Rhett House Inn! The room was large and beautiful. The breakfast was fantastic. The staff was extremely nice and helpful. We loved being able to walk to the waterfront area. We would love to have an opportunity to return to the Rhett House Inn.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anya C, Manager at The Rhett House Inn, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
Dear Sarah C., Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to your return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

986 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    793
    127
    38
    22
    6
See reviews for
137
615
28
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (293)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Florence, South Carolina
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2012

thrilled with our stay. we are seasoned travellers and have stayed at boutique hotels and inns across the country and elsewhere and our stay at the rhett was as memorable as any we've had. because of work limitations we had to arrive very late and the staff were able not only to accomodate our inconveniently late arrival, but were kind enough to save us two delicious desserts and have them and two glasses of champagne waiting for us in the room. the inn is beautiful and very well maintained. breakfast on the veranda is a wonderful touch and definately a step up from the typical boarding-house style breakfasts at b&b's where you eat with ten or twelve of your closest fellow travellers. if you like that sort of social thing first thing in the morning, there is also a dining room. highly recommend room number three because it has access to the second floor porch with a delightful hammock and the breeze off the river is magic. visual effect of the hotel, quality and state of restoration of the interior and furniture, helpfulness of the staff and quality of the breakfast are all excellent. i wish we could've stayed longer!

Room Tip: room 3 has the hammock on the porch. ... staff and visitors say room 2 is haunted.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank byron n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anya C, Manager at The Rhett House Inn, responded to this review, August 8, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. It was our pleasure to welcome you and have champagne and dessert awaiting your arrival. We are glad you appreciated the charm of the Inn and the staff. We hope to welcome you back on your next visit to Beaufort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summerville, SC
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2012

This was our first experience with a Bed and Breakfast. We thought the staff would be real snoody. But to our surprise the staff was exceptionally friendly (Yevonne)and very helpful (knowledgable of the surrounding area). The staff made us feel at home. The breakfast was very delicious. The waiting staff (Tisha) was excellent as she took time to speak with us. We definitely will be back and tell all of our friends about a wonderful experience

Dwight & Sharon
Summerville, SC

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank D-S-Lynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anya C, Manager at The Rhett House Inn, responded to this review, August 8, 2012
We are so glad your first experience staying at a bed and breakfast was so memorable. We have a wonderful, sincere staff who loves what they do. Thank you for your wonderful review and we look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, UK
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2012

We have just returned from two wonderful days at the Rhett House Inn and it was everything we hoped for and more. Travelling from the UK for our first visit, we were greeted warmly with a glass of champagne. Our room (no 8) was beautiful, exactly how it looks on the website. We enjoyed a lovely breakfast, afternoon tea and lemonade!, cookies and wine and cheese before dinner and scrumptious desserts before bedtime. If you think you might not be around for desserts, mention this and a selection will be saved for you. We borrowed beach towels and chairs for an afternoon on Hunting Island. The service was attentive yet discrete. We hope ( or should I say will!) return one day soon.

Room Tip: Room 8 is very spacious and easily sleeps 4. Although it is on street level, it was a quiet and peac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank J0Hill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AMC20, Manager at The Rhett House Inn, responded to this review, July 28, 2012
Thank you for your wonderful review. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and all of the goodies we offer. We are glad you had a chance to visit Hunting Island State Park. It is such a beautiful beach to walk, swim or climb the lighthouse. We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellabell, Ga
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 22, 2012

We were only able to spend one night at The Rhett House Inn, but it was a delightful experience. We stayed in one of the cottage rooms and it was just perfect. The staff is outstanding, pleasant and very accomodating. I look forward to returning to spend a weekend.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pam C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AMC20, Manager at The Rhett House Inn, responded to this review, July 28, 2012
We look forward to your return visit. Beaufort has so much to offer one day is just not enough to experience the history and charm of the area and the Inn. Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2012

We went to Beaufort for my wife's pre-birthday festivities, and it turned out to be the opening weekend of the town's Annual Water Festival. The RHI was just right in terms of price, location, amenities, and service.

We stayed in Room #5 of the main dwelling for 3 nights. Our room had a super comfortable queen bed with equally comfortable pillows. The room was on the top floor, literally at the top of the staircase. But it was very quiet at night. The bathrooms are adequate and the towels are extremely soft and smell great. The breakfast, included in the cost of the stay, was very good, especially the grits. Plus, the kitchen and dining staff were outstanding. They showed immense pride in their work, care for their customers, and love for their town.

The RHI provides well-conditioned bicycles and locks in the cost of the stay too, which made it easy to get around the town, particularly in the early morning hours when all is quiet. The RHI also has a charming living room with delightful snacks and beverages throughout the day and a delightful array of desserts in the evening. It will even hold aside your dessert of choice until you return from your evening. Nice touch! Additionally, the RHI also stocks a small evening wine table with decent wines and alcohols ($6.00/glass is a fair price with all mixers complimentary). Furthermore, the RHI provides free Wi-Fi with a strong signal throughout the entire inn and on it verandas. And the off-street parking was a plus.

One small issue: In the RHI's handout about the history of Beaufort, it rationalizes slavery in a way that some may find curious, even odd in the 21st century. That is, it rationalizes slavery as a once universal phenomenon, even a contemporary one, suggesting that slavery in America was just a basic part of world history and not much of a serious issue (i.e., everyone did it and so it couldn't have been that big of a deal in human history). The RHI may want to reflect on that message, especially given that it will bother many guests who read it and may cause others to wonder about its "true" meaning.

Nevertheless, the RHI is a fine establishment. We truly enjoyed our stay and look forward to staying there in the future.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank MiLOtheTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anderson,s.c.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2012

My husband and I stayed last week At the Rhett House. We thoroughly enjoyed room 2 . It was clean and very confortable. We enjoyed having a private door to the second floor veranda. We were able to get a small breeze during the late afternoon. My husband and I both agree it was one of the best b&b's that we have stayed. We really appreciated late night homemade deserts, champagne when we check in, as well as the lemonade and snacks that were provided. I give the staff 5 stars for going out of their way to send me my electric rollers that I had forgotten and left in the room.. Beaufort is a beautiful place to visit and you need to top off the experience by staying at the Rhett House.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wright51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AMC20, Manager at The Rhett House Inn, responded to this review, July 28, 2012
We are so glad you enjoyed our Southern hospitality. It was our pleasure to send you your electric rollers. We all know what it is like when you accidentally leave something behind. Thank you for taking the time to write a review and we hope to welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Beaufort hotels
0.2 mi away
The Beaufort Inn
The Beaufort Inn
#4 of 15 in Beaufort
1,145 reviews
0.2 mi away
City Loft Hotel
City Loft Hotel
#1 of 15 in Beaufort
912 reviews
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Sea Island Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Beaufort
Hampton Inn Beaufort
#6 of 15 in Beaufort
673 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Beaufort
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn & Suites Beaufort at Highway 21
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Rhett House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rhett House Inn

Property: The Rhett House Inn
Address: 1009 Craven St, Beaufort, SC 29902-5577
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Beaufort
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Beaufort
#2 Romantic Hotel in Beaufort
#3 Business Hotel in Beaufort
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Rhett House Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The multi award winning historic Rhett House Inn, located in Beaufort, SC, with its sprawling verandahs and white columns, is known for it's Southern Hospitality and has been the home away from home for many movie stars like Barbara Streisand, Ben Affleck, and Gwyneth Paltrow. Bordering the Intracoastal Waterway and in Beaufort's Historic District, the Rhett House Inn is a few walking blocks to all restaurants, bars, and shops. Complimentary champagne on arrival and after dinner deserts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Jetsetter and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Rhett House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Rhett House Hotel Beaufort
The Rhett Hotel
Rhett Hotel Beaufort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing