We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second review”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Econo Lodge Beaufort
Ranked #13 of 15 Hotels in Beaufort
Aiken, South Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
“Second review”
Reviewed April 12, 2012

Stayed here about 2 years ago and gave this place a poor review. Someone else made the reservations and we received some poor rooms. The reason I gave this place a second chance was that I was traveling with my grandsons and thought they would enjoy the indoor pool. I phoned the motel directly and let them know that I was an Elite Gold member and that I wanted a decent room this time. The room was much better than the one during my previous stay, but still not very good. The appliances did work this time, the bathroom door did shut fully, but the carpet still needs replacing and the walls need a coat of paint, along with some of the furniture. The sofa sleeper was "well used" so didn't bother making it up or letting one of my grandbabys sleep there. The mattress on the bed needs to be replaced. It did have a thick, soft mattress pad on it which helped, but there were still "dips" in the middle of the bed. Not easy on the back.
The pool area was clean, but had only 1 pool towel left in the cart. The hot tub was working but the water looked dirty, I'm assuming that's because the hot tub needs to be drained and repainted.

The desk clerk that checked me in wasn't very friendly and the one that checked me out was on her cell phone. She did delay her call long enough to take my keys, and then apoligized to her caller for the interruption. The housekeeper and groundsman that I talked to were very friendly. Thanks to the housekeeper our room was clean, including bed linens.

This place could be a gem with the right owner. A little paint, new carpet, some upgraded bedding go a long way. It's in the perfect location to attract visitors.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Teresa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    8
    8
    16
    49
See reviews for
40
12
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2012

Arrived Saturday from Boston, MA at 2:15 pm. I asked to check-in and was told that check-in was at 3 pm and if I wished to check in early I would be charged $15. Considering my family of four drove the 18 hours to get there for a family function I paid the additional $15. At first I thought the place was just old but after staying 3 nights I discovered that they had bed bugs. I have had no previous experience with bed bugs but after discovering very itchy bites on my skin after waking up I did some research and confirmed that they were bed bug bites. I proceeded to clean out our suitcases in order to wipe them down with alcohol as instructed by a website, I found dead bed bugs. Do not stay here!!!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cribbsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Beaufort hotels

Seven Lakes, NC
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2012

Nice location in Beaufort. Near shopping and dining. Looks to be recently renovated. Basic room, did have a refrigerator. Worst part was the WiFi wa difficult to get on and slow. If going to Hilton Head, better plan 45 minutes to an hour, depending on how far out you are going. At least an hour to Sea Pines area.

Room Tip: If WiFi is important, might be better to have a room closer to the front desk.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Catfish47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milledgeville, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2011

we came in for the marine corp graduation, we stay two night, in a king/ pull out sofa. the staff was very friendly and accommodating.Checking in went smoothly.Our 1st room didn't have a micro-fridge in it, but staff moved us quickly to another room. It was clean and comfortable. Parking lot was well lit. My son enjoyed the indoor pool. WiFi was good. Breakfast was not out early enough, we had to leave early for the ceremonies. Some accommodation should have been made the hotel was full of marine families.

Room Tip: request room on the front side, there is no parking on the back and its a wooded area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Marinemom31061
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2011

So outdated that even our dogs weren't happy. Obviously we should have left as the other review stated.
Very Low End !! They had a sign 15.00 per pet, but didn't ask or mention it. I am sure they know that they couldn't collect it.

Room Tip: Please do not stay here. They gave us a queen bed and were supposed to give us a king.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LovestoTravela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2011

This was one of the dirtiest and worst maintained hotels that I have every stayed in. We left after the first night. The reviews on line were misleading. We had 3 rooms booked and each was worse than the previous. I have stayed in hotels/tents from Tanzania to Columbia to 5 star hotels in Europe and the US. This was the worst. I slept in my clothes and wouldn't leave the luggage in the room for fear of bed bugs or roaches.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cracklepop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parkersburg, West Virginia
1 review
Reviewed September 4, 2011

Door security lock was coming off the wall. Put work order in as soon as we arrived and never got fixed in our 3 day stay. Lighting poor in room. Bugs got under door that had no theshold. Snake outside our door. Toilet leaked. Pool/Spa was never operable. Shower head only dribbled water and was hanging from wall. Furniture was badly soiled. Pictures on their website must be from when it was first built. Does not represent the hotel today at all. We booked the hotel to attend Marine graduation at Parris Island so there was no other hotel accomodations to be found within an hours drive. Did not realize there was a "roach motel" in the 21st century but this certainly fits that description. The breakfast area is aweful. The dairy frig has rusted hinges and filthly. A street person would even complain of this hotel and its accomodations. You will need a long hot shower after you get home after staying at this place. I have contacted customer relations about this hotel and have requested an inspector go there and go over every inch of this place. They need to lose their franchise. Total 'slum lord" there.

Room Tip: Stay at a Hampton Inn!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Disappointed092011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Beaufort hotels
0.6 mi away
Quality Inn at Town Center
Quality Inn at Town Center
#11 of 15 in Beaufort
225 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sleep Inn Beaufort
Sleep Inn Beaufort
#7 of 15 in Beaufort
348 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn & Suites Beaufort at Highway 21
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Comfort Suites Beaufort
Comfort Suites Beaufort
#9 of 15 in Beaufort
564 reviews
0.7 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Beaufort West
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Beaufort
Hampton Inn Beaufort
#6 of 15 in Beaufort
719 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge Beaufort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge Beaufort

Property: Econo Lodge Beaufort
Address: 2227 Boundary St, Beaufort, SC 29902-3831
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Beaufort
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 15 Hotels in Beaufort
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge Beaufort 2*
Number of rooms: 79
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Reservation Counter, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Econo Lodge Beaufort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing