We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“another pat on the back”

Breakwater Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Breakwater Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #7 of 161 Restaurants in Beaufort
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $19 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Special occasions, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Port Republic
Description: Chef Lang and Chef Shaw's version of 'New Southern Cuisine' contains the past, present, and future all at once. Younger, lighter, and fresher than traditional Southern 'Old School' deep-fried fare while acknowledging culinary influences from the world beyond. The bar at Breakwater exudes a lively energy with locals and travelers alike. The atmosphere is fun and friendly and warm Southern hospitality is a signature of the restaurant. Now Open and Accepting Reservations!
Beaufort, South Carolina
Level Contributor
229 reviews
154 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“another pat on the back”
Reviewed April 6, 2014

We have come to view Breakwater as one of the best restaurants in Beaufort and our experience covers years and at their two different locations. We had friends from the Northeast who are accustomed to top notch restaurants. They were highly pleased with everything about Breakwater from dirty martinis in the bar, wine selection, appetizer, entree, to dessert. Service was at its usual high level with knowledgeable and friendly staff. Trigger fish was excellent and as one other reviewer pointed out, the asparagus and carrots with the fish were a special treat. Calamari continues to be among the best I have had in several locations throughout the world. My oldest son put me on to the roasted brussel sprouts and they were as good as he billed them. If you are looking for a good meal and dining experience for dinner in Beaufort make a reservation at Breakwater.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WRHOTEN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

525 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    355
    113
    41
    10
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Evanston, Illinois
Level Contributor
45 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“A gem in Low Country!”
Reviewed March 27, 2014 via mobile

Several local folks recommended Breakwater and they did not stir us wrong! Our waitress was knowledgeable about the menu and spent time with us, but was not intrusive. The fish we had, salmon and trigger fish, tasted freshly caught and the vegetable accompaniments were excellent.
Wide selection of drinks and a great bar area. Tapas is also available.
Chic but understated and not stuffy.
Stop by and you won't be disappointed. These locals sure know where the food is superb!

Helpful?
Thank Marsha3312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaufort, South Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Wonderful Service”
Reviewed March 25, 2014

After walking out of another restaurant for deplorable service our party of five walked down to Breakwater on a busy Friday night without reservations. The Breakwater staff was extremely helpful and after a brief wait which we happily did in the bar area we were seated and had a wonderful dinner. Needless to say we will be returning to Breakwater and the other restaurant has lost our business for good.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank K O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Greenville, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful food, poor quality drinks”
Reviewed March 6, 2014

We ate dinner with friends at Breakwater last week. Our service was very good from the start, with an attentive knowledgable waitress. We all enjoyed our dinners, commenting on the variety of entrees available. I ordered a vodka collins with dinner; when it arrived, the first sip told me that the bartender either didn't know what it was or wasn't interested in asking anyone. I could not even describe the taste. Later, my 2nd drink was Sprite & rum, hoping that would be an improvement (& hard to mess up). Honestly, I could not taste the rum, and the soda was flat. Admittedly, I did not comment to the waitress about it. We have dined at 40+ restaurants in Beaufort. Breakwater has wonder food, but I would hesitate to order a drink there in the future.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank bonsaiwino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
56 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Wonderful Dinner”
Reviewed March 4, 2014

Had the opportunity to meet a friend in Beaufort Monday evening, and went to the Breakwater restaurant and Bar. Pleasantly surprised when we went in - well appointed and not too loud, even though they had a large crowd for a Monday evening. Waitress service in the bar was quite good - we hardly noticed as we were attended to.
We decided to have dinner, and it was a good decision. Our waitress was knowledgeable and very helpful. I chose the Blackened Mahi with garlic mashed and seasonal vegetables. Anne had seared scallops with seasonal vegetables. Dinner was a delight - perhaps some of the best Mahi that I've ever had. Service was very good, and the dessert selection was perfect.
A very nice dinner, excellent service and I am looking forward to going back soon.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kenw29419
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Breakwater Restaurant also viewed

Beaufort, Coastal South Carolina
Beaufort, Coastal South Carolina
 
Beaufort, Coastal South Carolina
Beaufort, Coastal South Carolina
 
Beaufort, Coastal South Carolina
Beaufort, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Breakwater Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing