We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good choice”

Breakwater Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Breakwater Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #10 of 164 Restaurants in Beaufort
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $19 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Romantic, Business meetings, Special occasions, Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Port Republic
Description: Chef Lang and Chef Shaw's version of 'New Southern Cuisine' contains the past, present, and future all at once. Younger, lighter, and fresher than traditional Southern 'Old School' deep-fried fare while acknowledging culinary influences from the world beyond. The bar at Breakwater exudes a lively energy with locals and travelers alike. The atmosphere is fun and friendly and warm Southern hospitality is a signature of the restaurant. Now Open and Accepting Reservations!
Reviewed December 26, 2013

Food was delicious, place decorated in Art Deco style. Good dining choice for Beaufort, short walkable distance from Bay St

Thank JoyceGHouston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (551)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

360 - 364 of 551 reviews

Reviewed December 7, 2013

I can't believe that the two best menu items they have had have been taken of. We go especially for the Shrimp Pot Pie and Spoon Bread. Earlier they took off the spoon bread and last night we show up and the shrimp Pot Pie is gone. Probably will not be going back. $8 caesar is tiny and $17 sampler plate i under-supplied as well.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 6KenK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DRLTraveler, Owner at Breakwater Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2014

Ken K, we always appreciate hearing from our guests and we do listen! We make changes to our menu seasonally and unfortunately your two favorites were removed during the last menu change. However, I am happy to let you know that the shrimp pot pie is back on the menu. The spoon bread will probably remain off the menu as unfortunately it was not a popular menu item. Also we have changed the Caesar salad presentation (it's chopped now) and lowered the price to be consistent with our other salads. Thank you for your review and I hope that you will try us again the next time you are in Beaufort.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2013

We had an enjoyable dinner with our daughter and her husband over the Thanksgiving weekend at Breakwater. The service was attentive and the server efficient and knowledgeable. The food was attractively presented and of very good quality and the menu was both varied and traditional. The cost to value was more than reasonable and we had a thoroughly enjoyable evening! We highly recommend the beignets for desert!
Jimmy and Catie Brown

Thank Jimmy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2013

Some of the best food ever and pairing it with the large, high quality selection of wines makes it the perfect meal! Look for the chef's specials, they are usually unbelievable & use as many locally grown/raised items as possible!

Thank BEAUFORTTRAVELLER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2013

We wanted a very nice restaurant for out last night in Beaufort, South Carolina. After reviewing several places, we chose Breakwater Restaurant. In walking downtown later that afternoon, we found the restaurant, but it was closed. We knocked on the door, and Donna let us in. We were pleasantly surprised to learn she was the owner. She let us tour the restaurant, and view the menu. We decided to make reservations for dinner that evening, and are very pleased that we did. This was the BEST restaurant experience we had while visiting Beaufort. The service was excellent, and the food was simply outstanding! My wife and I both had the fried chicken, and I've got to say that we both agreed that this was the 'best' chicken dinner we have every had. Our friends both had the filet mignon, and said the same thing about their steaks! For a special evening in Beaufort, you have got to try this restaurant!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Dave S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Breakwater Restaurant also viewed

Beaufort, Coastal South Carolina
Beaufort, Coastal South Carolina
 
Beaufort, Coastal South Carolina
Beaufort, Coastal South Carolina
 
Beaufort, Coastal South Carolina
Beaufort, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Breakwater Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing