We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Glad we Stopped In”

Breakwater Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Breakwater Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #7 of 161 Restaurants in Beaufort
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $19 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Business meetings, Bar scene, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Port Republic
Description: Chef Lang and Chef Shaw's version of 'New Southern Cuisine' contains the past, present, and future all at once. Younger, lighter, and fresher than traditional Southern 'Old School' deep-fried fare while acknowledging culinary influences from the world beyond. The bar at Breakwater exudes a lively energy with locals and travelers alike. The atmosphere is fun and friendly and warm Southern hospitality is a signature of the restaurant. Now Open and Accepting Reservations!
Sewell, New Jersey
Level Contributor
101 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Glad we Stopped In”
Reviewed March 18, 2013 via mobile

We had just arrived in town for a 2 night stay tired from 10 hours on the road. This restaurant was recommended by our hotel whic was right ne t door. We were greeted by Juliet our designated bartender/server who was pleasant and made us feel welcome . She recommended a nice glass of wine from their extensive selection. Not really wanting a full meal we decided to eat light and Juliet recommended their tapas special that night which was the mini shrimp pot pie - delicious - we added a New England clam chowder for me - personally taste tested by Juliet who from Massacheuttes would not the southern chef serve unless it passed her taste test! My wife had the goat cheese and beet salad - so after a few glasses of wine and a few cold Miller Lites for me and all is good - thanks again to Juliet for taking care of us!!

Helpful?
Thank Pat D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

529 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    358
    114
    41
    10
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gulfport, Florida
Level Contributor
241 reviews
166 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Beautiful atmosphere, great food & service!”
Reviewed March 1, 2013

First of all, when you walk in to Breakwater, the ambiance suggests that the LAST thing you want to order is a hamburger! I had made a reservation & we ended up in Beaufort about 90 minutes early. The hostess was very gracious & told us she could accomodate us earlier, but if we wanted to take our time & have a cocktail at the bar, it was ok too.We had drinks in the bar, very beautiful with a white granite. There were nice pieces of artwork throughout, high ceilings, with a modern flare. We had a wonderful server who explained all of the specials( & told us their price!), but a very sweet southern gal.Because we were new diners, the chef sent us all a fried goat cheese ball with a sauce. It was delicious! We had calamari & tuna tartare with avocado, both very tastey, with nice sauces. Our entrees were pasta with shrimp, mussels, clams, scallops & oysters in a tomato stew and grouper with lemon grits & green beans. The pasta in the seafood dish was a little under cooked, there were several pieces of shrimp & a few mussels, but only one scallop for each of us. The grouper was delicious according to one of our friends. It was a little pricey, but very classy.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank natnpr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
81 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Pass This One By....Not Worth the Time, Money or Dining Experience”
Reviewed February 27, 2013

I've been working on a project in Beaufort since mid-November of 2012 and will be here through mid-June of 2013. I was told to visit Breakwater by several people in the Beaufort community with a few warning me about their over-priced food and beverages. I ate their tonight and couldn't wait to leave. I ordered the French onion soup for an appetizer, which was VERY mediocre, and they don't offer a large selection of food items. What I did see didn't seem to appeal to me and they are very over-priced for what they do offer. I decided on ordering the hamburger and french fries, which was so bland and almost tasteless that I almost didn't take the remaining half with me. My server, Lisa, was "adequate", but she didn't seem to have very much knowledge of what to suggest in either the wines or the food.
Don't waste your time or money and try the other great restaurants in the area like Emily's (exquisite and a great value for your money), Papaya's Thai Cuisine, Plum's Restaurant on Bay Street, Q on the Bay....even Panini's, which we didn't care for a great deal but is much better than this place. My advice is to drive right by it and not be tempted by the appeal of the restaurant being located in a great place in downtown Beaufort, including the view of downtown Beaufort from the windows. Run Forest Run!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank travelingshoesbecky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lovely Anniversary Celebration”
Reviewed February 26, 2013

My husband and I recently celebrated our anniversary at Breakwater Restaurant. The food was excellent and the service was great! Our server couldn't have been nicer. When she found out it was our anniversary, she went out of her way to make sure our dinner was enjoyable. Upon our return to Beaufort, we will return to this restaurant.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank simo640
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pawleys Island, South Carolina
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Perfect Evening”
Reviewed February 13, 2013

We celebrated Valentine's Day early with a stop by Beaufort and ate a wonderful evening meal at Breakwater. We were seated at a perfect table for two looking out on the street. From our greeting at the door to our leaving the restaurant an hour and a half later, our total dining experience was superb. Amber, our waitress, was both gracious and efficient, the perfect third party who contributed greatly to our evening. My lamb and my wife's tilefish (the special of the evening) were both outstanding. And try the desserts, ours were worth the extra pounds. All in all, our gratitude is yours, Breakwater - we'll be back.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pawleysross
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Breakwater Restaurant also viewed

Beaufort, Coastal South Carolina
Beaufort, Coastal South Carolina
 
Beaufort, Coastal South Carolina
Beaufort, Coastal South Carolina
 
Beaufort, Coastal South Carolina
Beaufort, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Breakwater Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing