We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Place--for a motel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Sea Island Inn
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Beaufort
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed May 16, 2010

This is a very nice motel. OK breakfast (no hot water for tea!). Excellent beds and pillows. Very noisy with a nearby wedding when we were there--but that wasn't their fault. Price is good compared to the very upscale bed and breakfasts nearby, but some of the bed and breakfasts have similar prices with more charm and better food.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emilee l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (821)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

779 - 785 of 821 reviews

Reviewed May 7, 2010

We stayed at the Sea Island Inn for 5 nights in April, between visits to Savannah and Charleston and it was just the best choice. We had a beautifully comfortable and quiet room (234) with a view of the pool and use of a patio table and chairs out on the (public) porch. The town is charming and full of good places to eat (we’d recommend the burgers at Luther’s, the sandwiches, salads and Cinnamon Rolls at Common Ground and sitting on the deck eating Shrimp ‘n’ Grits at Paninis. The waterfront park is a lovely place to sit on swinging seats and look out at the view.

The Inn has pleasant helpful staff, a really pleasant breakfast room (check out that great waffle machine which makes excellent waffles every time!) and a fridge in the room. There’s a computer for use down in the office too if you haven’t brought your own technology with you.

While you’re in Beaufort, try Jon Sharpe’s wonderful Walking Tour of Beaufort full of fun and fascinating information and the Prince of Tides boat tour. Go out to the Hunting Islands State Park too – the wild beaches are fabulous and there are great marsh boardwalks there too.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jojoDorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2010

We recently stayed at The Sea Island Inn for 3 nights and were very impressed. Our room smelled so clean and fresh as we walked in and, in fact was the same each day when we returned. A large room with microwave, small fridge and even a small table and two dining chairs. The bathroom was a good size, next to the bathroom was a mirrored area which was perfect for doing make-up....!
Buffet breakfast (included) was very good with the usual pastries plus scrambled eggs, sausage and a waffle maker. The ladies who were looked after the breakfast detail was very helpful and charming.
Outside our room (this is basically a motel concept) were placed a table and chairs so that we could sit outside with a glass of wine. This Best Western has a special recommendation by Best Western itself, and I can see why.
An added bonus is that the hotel is located right in the middle of everything.
I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Val065
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2010

Perfect location, perfect service, complimentary water and yummy Iced tea..the BEST continental Breakfast you will find with longer hours than most, authentic architecture that blends in to the southern surroundings, nice pool. I can NOT say enough nice things about this place and I will go back again and again and again!!

Stayed: July 2009, traveled with friends
Thank Merrobin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2010

Loved the location, the entire town is walkable from the hotel. Breakfast was more than enough and the staff helped with everything we needed, couldn't have asked for a better getaway!

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank abc123sc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2010

This hotel is in a fantastic location, right by downtown Beaufort. Easily within walking distance to the shops and restaurants along the bay.

The architecture is nice, brick and not cookie-cutter like most buildings these days.

Rooms are clean and tidy, flat screen tv with lots of channels, heat and ac work well, though noisy, coat rack, nice bathroom, fridge and microwave. Overall good for a place to stay.

Breakfast was great for continental.. eggs and sausage was available, along with orange and apple juices, grits, waffles, muffins, fruit and many other items. The lady serving breakfast was pleasant and efficient.

Unfortunately, a few things turned us off big time. I must first preface that my wife and I are both South Carolinians, and are therefore possibly more unnerved by some things than others might be.

Upon arrival, we went to the front desk to check in and were greeted by "Rose". Rose is, by accent, not from the South.. which is quite tolerable if one remains cordial and inviting. Rose is quite efficient and performs her job well, however, the harsh and aggressive demeanor is a put off. While we were completing our check in process, a woman came in, seemingly tired, with a question... she stated that she was in room 300 something.. and was trying to remember her room number when Rose said loudly "NO". The woman, not knowing what was going on, tried again to remember her room number by saying, "room 30..." and a loud "NO" was said again. This was repeated maybe one or two more times until Rose said "We don't have any 300's". A Southerner, or simply someone a little more humble and more people oriented may have said "Ma'am, I'm sorry but we don't have any rooms in the 300's, if you could tell me where your room is located I will try and help you with your issue".. or something along those lines. I can't tolerate rudeness, even when the person being rude doesn't realize it.

Also, there was little to keep sound from entering the room. The tv in the room next to us was on most of the night, and could easily be heard in our room, as well as the man talking loudly to someone.

As this is getting lengthy, I seriously wanted to like the quaint little brick hotel in downtown Beaufort (a town I have been going to since a child to go shrimping) but just couldn't. The lady at the front starting things off on the wrong foot.. as we say here in the South: "that dog don't hunt".

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PalmettoSC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2009

We stayed at this hotel a couple of years ago, enjoyed the visit and the hotel and staff were outstanding. Well, if there is a rating a better than outstanding; then, the hotel and staff should get it. We just completed another visit and found the hotel in great shape and the staff still very courteous and helpful. And it doesn't stop there. Included in the cost of the room is the usual continental breakfast, but the hotel also now offers fresh scrambled eggs, sausage, and delicious fix-your-own waffles. To top off our delightful breakfast, believe it or not, a real live Emily was there in the dining room the entire time, ready and willing to assist us with our questions or needs.

This place is on main street and right across from the waterfront park. Why would anyone want to stay anywhere else...we won't.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Retafblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Beaufort hotels
0.2 mi away
City Loft Hotel
City Loft Hotel
#1 of 16 in Beaufort
991 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Beaufort Inn
The Beaufort Inn
#3 of 16 in Beaufort
1,284 reviews
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn & Suites Beaufort at Highway 21
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Beaufort
1.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Beaufort
Hampton Inn Beaufort
#6 of 16 in Beaufort
769 reviews
2.2 mi away
Sleep Inn Beaufort
Sleep Inn Beaufort
#7 of 16 in Beaufort
361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Sea Island Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Sea Island Inn

Address: 1015 Bay St, Beaufort, SC 29902-5514 (Formerly BEST WESTERN Sea Island Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Beaufort
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Beaufort
#3 Green Hotel in Beaufort
#4 Romantic Hotel in Beaufort
#8 Business Hotel in Beaufort
Price Range: $157 - $187 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Sea Island Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the BEST WESTERN Sea Island InnStay in the heart of the Beaufort Historic District and explore the antebellum homes,plantations,and secluded islands of South Carolina Low Country at our charming Beaufort hotel located on the Beaufort River. Walk to quaint shops,art galleries,book stores,and a variety of cafés,bistros,coffee shops,and fine restaurants just steps from our Beaufort hotel.When you stay at our unique Beaufort hotel you'll also enjoy a perfect home base for exploring Hilton Head,Charleston and Savannah,which are less than an hour's drive away. Escape to our Beaufort hotel and experience Southern hospitality at its finest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Best Western, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Best Western Sea Island Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Sea Island Hotel Beaufort
Best Western Beaufort
Beaufort Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing