We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not happy”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Sea Island Inn
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Beaufort
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed April 23, 2009

my husband and i dedided to visit based upon the location of this hotel
at first glance it was lovely, great location, and walking distance to marina
our concern was the odor.
my husband felt that they had just sprayed for roaches and the smell was so bad we decided to put ont he air condition which puffed out dust and particles in the air we asked for a change of room and was told they were sold out.
I also noticed they had not cleaned under the beds as well.

He started to cough and it was like a hair ball in his lungs and this precipitated to the worst week we had at hilton head which followed thereafter and caused us undue stress for months seeing a respiratory specialist in nj
i wrote them and never heard back
sadly i will never recommend them.

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank fitterSaddleRiverNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (821)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

795 - 801 of 821 reviews

Reviewed March 13, 2009

I wouldn't have wanted to stay at any other place. Our rooms were very nice although the bathroom was a little small. We could walk to everything in town and any tours. It is across from the marina so it has a very nice view. The breakfasts were very good and the lady who worked in the breakfast area was so nice and friendly as was the staff in the office.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PASANDYBAY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2009

This motel is clean, modern, and nicely located. No WiFi, but at least you get an Ethernet cable attached to a DSL modem (not exactly "high speed" Internet but sufficient for casual use). The beds are comfortable, but the bathroom is very cramped due to small space and a very awkward layout. It's impossible to turn on the tub faucets without being a contortionist (you must lean way over the sink to reach the tub faucets). The toilet paper is attached to an open spindle, which practically guarantees that you'll knock the roll onto the floor several times during your stay. And the toilet can't be flushed without closing both the seat and the lid (I suppose that some people might consider this an asset rather than a liability).

Many other Beaufort motels are a lot farther away than this one, so the Best Western merits consideration if you don't mind the minor hassles mentioned above.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MichiganBanjoMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2009

After emailing the local Chamber of Commerce, the BW Sea Island Inn mailed us a post card with a discount for the first night. The discount was an added incentive, but I liked how they took the time (and the opportunity) to mail the card directly to us. I booked through the Internet at the BW web site. We were delighted with the location. The Sea Island Inn is located in downtown historic Beaufort, right on the marina. There's a wonderful little park with swings where you can sit and watch the sunset. The price was affordable and the room was absolutely lovely. Their complimentary breakfast was good. The staff is friendly and helpful, especially since we had to have brakes put on our car prior to leaving. There are restaurants within walking distance. We ate at Luther's. J.J. was an excellent waitress and the pork chops were simply fabulous! There is a great seafood restaurant within driving distance, but a little hard to find. It's worth finding because the food is excellent. It's called the Dockside. Jared was our waiter and he not only had a great sense of humor, he told us some great stories about the area. It's just a short drive over to Hunting Island State Park from the hotel, where you can hike the trails or climb to the top of the Lighthouse, which affords an excellent view. You can walk from the hotel and check out the local graveyards and churches, which are full of history and look at the mansions, art, and architecture of the area, all while staying at a great location like the Sea Island Inn provides.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank MBrown4059
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2008

US Marines graduation from boot camp. Excellent choice. Pleasent quiet, secure area. In downtown 10 min from Parris Island. Easy to get to base. We had a great time and the service was great. The rooms where clean and bright. TV, Mirco, mini frig.what else could you ask for. The room had 2 queen beds and a table to eat at. Would stay again if needed to. This was very clean., room by the pool and was not loud.

1  Thank nay007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2008

Very pleased with this older hotel, more like an Inn. Right downtown in Beaufort. Close to everything. The continental breakfast was unbelievable, hot and cold items. And all the staff were so sweet and accomadating. I would recommend this hotel for families and girl trips, but also golfing guys too, cause it is very affordable. We went for a girls trip for the shrimp festival and it was perfect. Thanks to the hotel for a great stay. And Beaufort is an excellent place to go for a long weekend.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank TRAVELERLOVE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2008

Motel in the historic district, had large, comfortable, very clean rooms (not usually found in some of the motel chains). Staff was excellent. Our experience is that Best Westerns located in historic districts are typically very nice). The Beaufort one is located just across the street from Beaufort Bay (Intracoastal Waterway) Except for some sightseeing at other islands and Hunting Island State Park - we didn't need to use our car as one can walk the historic district quite easily and there are a number of restaurants and shops within the immediate area. Truly enjoyed our visit and the Best Western and plan to return again next year for a longer stay

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lily040
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Beaufort hotels
0.2 mi away
City Loft Hotel
City Loft Hotel
#1 of 16 in Beaufort
991 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Beaufort Inn
The Beaufort Inn
#3 of 16 in Beaufort
1,284 reviews
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn & Suites Beaufort at Highway 21
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Beaufort
1.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Beaufort
Hampton Inn Beaufort
#6 of 16 in Beaufort
769 reviews
2.2 mi away
Sleep Inn Beaufort
Sleep Inn Beaufort
#7 of 16 in Beaufort
361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Sea Island Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Sea Island Inn

Address: 1015 Bay St, Beaufort, SC 29902-5514 (Formerly BEST WESTERN Sea Island Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Beaufort
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Beaufort
#3 Green Hotel in Beaufort
#4 Romantic Hotel in Beaufort
#8 Business Hotel in Beaufort
Price Range: $157 - $187 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Sea Island Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the BEST WESTERN Sea Island InnStay in the heart of the Beaufort Historic District and explore the antebellum homes,plantations,and secluded islands of South Carolina Low Country at our charming Beaufort hotel located on the Beaufort River. Walk to quaint shops,art galleries,book stores,and a variety of cafés,bistros,coffee shops,and fine restaurants just steps from our Beaufort hotel.When you stay at our unique Beaufort hotel you'll also enjoy a perfect home base for exploring Hilton Head,Charleston and Savannah,which are less than an hour's drive away. Escape to our Beaufort hotel and experience Southern hospitality at its finest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Best Western, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Best Western Sea Island Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Sea Island Hotel Beaufort
Best Western Beaufort
Beaufort Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing