We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice could use some improvement.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Sea Island Inn
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Beaufort
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed May 16, 2014

We have been to Beaufort many times and find it to be a very beautiful and relaxing environment.

This was our first stay at this inn and we had a clean but small room. The grounds were well kept, the staff friendly, the breakfast room was spacious and clean, and the breakfast good.

It was almost impossible to hear the TV at a normal volume level when the air conditioning unit cycled on, which required a major increase in volume. When the cooling cycled off you could hear our TV in the parking lot. Also I found the bed way too soft but my wife was quite comfortable. You can't please everybody with the same bed.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tomc4263
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeaIslandHotel, General Manager at Best Western Sea Island Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 20, 2014

Thank you for your review. We are so disappointed you were unhappy with your stay. Please contact me directly at 843-522-2090 Ext: 260
Lisa K. Hudson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (787)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

516 - 522 of 787 reviews

Reviewed May 12, 2014

I booked rooms here (May 7-9 2014) for our son's graduation from Marine Corps Basic at nearby Parris Island. The building is red brick and I could tell it was old, and indeed, the structure was build in 1958 (per one of the front desk personnel.) However, any concerns I had were dispelled when we entered the office: fresh, clean, bright and the folks at the desk were friendly and cheerful. We were provided with tips and directions to the graduation, the restaurants and shopping within easy walking distance, and some of the local attractions. By the way, "free" breakfast is offered ranging from cold cereal to scrambled eggs and biscuits and gravy.

Our room, while not freshly remodelled, was current, clean and fresh. Very nice decor but not overdone. The usual amenities: wireless internet, lcd, microwave, fridge, coffee pot and non-smoking. House cleaning will provide daily service. Parking is a bit tight for larger vehicles.

The afore mentioned restaurants are just down the street, and although I didn't eat at any of them, I think they're all mid-priced. Steak, seafood, sandwiches; shopping at numerous small boutiques. All of the above are sitting on the edge of Port Royal Bay beside a nice bay-walk. Plenty of sail boats and motor yahcts, quite picturesque. Throw in the horse drawn carriage tour, the many antebellum homes, spanish moss festooned trees, many things to see and do - this is a nice getaway destination.

Room Tip: There are two or three room packages to fit your purposes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeaIslandHotel, General Manager at Best Western Sea Island Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2014

Thank you for the great review of our BEST WESTERN Sea Island Inn!! We are so very proud to host families coming to Beaufort for the relatives graduation from Parris Island Marine Corp Recruiting Depot. Do come back to see us again!
Lisa K.Hudson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2014

Typically only stay in Best Westerns outside of the U.S. but gave this a try and was not disappointed. I know some reviewers said it's only a motel but it is so much more. While offering the convenience of the motel/car outside of your room it had an ambiance to it and was amazingly clean. Everyone was helpful and the breakfast was above and beyond they typical offerings. Would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: There are no elevators so if you can't do stairs request a ground floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wineanddinennj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeaIslandHotel, General Manager at Best Western Sea Island Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2014

Thank you for giving a stateside BEST WESTERN property a shot. We are thrilled you were so happy with our little inn! Do come back-soon!
Lisa K. Hudson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2014

Remember this is a Best Western and it is one of the "best". It is not a five star hotel, but everything was very well done. Friendly staff and the best breakfast of any other Best Westerns. Great value. Overall we had an excellent experience.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank LeonNoel7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeaIslandHotel, General Manager at Best Western Sea Island Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2014

Thank you the terrific review our hotel! We hope you will come see us again!
Lisa K. Hudson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2014

Several friends traveled to Beaufort, South Carolina for a wedding; some of us stayed at the Best Western Sea Island Inn. It was perfectly located to take advantage not only of all the wedding activities (including the rehearsal dinner at a restaurant on Bay Street, the church where the ceremony was held, and the historic Inn where the reception (dinner & dance) took place), but to ALL attractions and events in Beaufort, being near the main street, the historic district, and the waterfront. With one exception, the Staff was extremely friendly, helpful, and efficient. Parking was easy and plentiful; the breakfast was a good array of hot and cold dishes and was well displayed and tended by the staff. Rooms were well laid out and furnished (including an excellent small refrigerator, microwave, and coffee pot with all accoutrements!), housekeeping staff was excellent. I don't travel with my laptop, but it looked like the Internet was easily accessed. I didn't avail myself of the other amenities (very inviting pool and a fitness center) but the hotel provided good information about all their amenities in the rooms. I would recommend the hotel for singles, families, or business travelers.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Cooley59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeaIslandHotel, General Manager at Best Western Sea Island Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2014

Thank you for sharing your story with the traveling public. While I am happy you were so thoroughly pleased with our service and accommodations, I am distressed that you found one of my people to be less than hospitable. Please accept my apologies for that and hope you will consider staying with us again.
Lisa K. Hudson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2014

Great location near downtown, many things within a short 5 minute walk. Marina right across the street and many scenic homes along the road. Enjoyed the breakfast and overall quiet of the hotel in general. Will be sure to stay here int eh futurew should the need arise!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeaIslandHotel, General Manager at Best Western Sea Island Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2014

Thank you for reviewing our little inn! We certainly hope to see you folks again real soon!
Lisa K. Hudson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2014

This hotel was very clean and very convenient to the downtown shops and restaurants. The staff was helpful and the view from the front of the hotel was splendid. Take the time to walk the neighborhoods surrounding the hotel and take a walk back in time. .

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank William S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeaIslandHotel, General Manager at Best Western Sea Island Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2014

Thank you for your review of the BEST WESTERN Sea Island Inn. We hope to see y'all again soon!
Lisa K. Hudson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Beaufort hotels
0.2 mi away
City Loft Hotel
City Loft Hotel
#1 of 15 in Beaufort
966 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Beaufort Inn
The Beaufort Inn
#3 of 15 in Beaufort
1,230 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Beaufort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn & Suites Beaufort at Highway 21
1.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Beaufort
Hampton Inn Beaufort
#6 of 15 in Beaufort
741 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Rhett House Inn
The Rhett House Inn
#4 of 15 in Beaufort
1,020 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Sea Island Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Sea Island Inn

Address: 1015 Bay Street, Beaufort, SC 29902-5514 (Formerly BEST WESTERN Sea Island Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Beaufort
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Beaufort
#2 Family Hotel in Beaufort
#3 Green Hotel in Beaufort
#4 Romantic Hotel in Beaufort
#8 Business Hotel in Beaufort
Price Range: $165 - $191 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Sea Island Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the BEST WESTERN Sea Island InnStay in the heart of the Beaufort Historic District and explore the antebellum homes,plantations,and secluded islands of South Carolina Low Country at our charming Beaufort hotel located on the Beaufort River. Walk to quaint shops,art galleries,book stores,and a variety of cafés,bistros,coffee shops,and fine restaurants just steps from our Beaufort hotel.When you stay at our unique Beaufort hotel you'll also enjoy a perfect home base for exploring Hilton Head,Charleston and Savannah,which are less than an hour's drive away. Escape to our Beaufort hotel and experience Southern hospitality at its finest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Best Western, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Best Western Sea Island Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Sea Island Hotel Beaufort
Best Western Beaufort
Beaufort Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing