We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly Staff, Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Sea Island Inn
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Beaufort
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed June 28, 2011

Upon check-in, the woman at the desk was SUPER friendly! Weeks prior when I'd made the reservation, again, I received warm friendliness. Excellent location, in the heart of the historic section with the beautiful houses. Horse-n-buggy across the street. I understand it's hard for management to provide wireless connection, but they solved the problem by putting a cable wire in each room, so now there's internet for everyone. Breakfast was great. NOTE TO OWNER: don't say "continental" because you go a step above that, you serve eggs and sausage and gravy. Hey! Bed mattresses were fine, tho I prefer plush to hard. You give lotsa pillows, yay! Have to close toilet lid to flush, oh well. One SMALL complaint (easily fixed)... we took a day trip to Savannah, and they kindly supplied directions. But the directions are incorrect... they forgot a step after the bridge. We got lost! Beside that miner deal, we were very happy. A friendly staff really makes our stay enjoyable. When we return, we'll stay here.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JodyPony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seaislandinn2, General Manager at Best Western Sea Island Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 12, 2011

Thank you for review! You were lucky enough to be greeted be either Rose, Christina, or Lisa-all uber-valued emmployees. As for us getting you lost, we are SO sorry! Unbeknownst to us the last section of SC 170 West has been changed to SC 315 South! We will make the changes asap. Again thank you for the compliments and we apologize for the directions. Please come see us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (785)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

724 - 730 of 787 reviews

Reviewed June 14, 2011

We were awakened at three in the morning with a group right outside our rooms window. In fact the windows edge was being used as a shelf to place their drinks. We were on the ground floor in Room 121 which very close to the office and had security camera's trained on the area. They "partied hearty" for an hour and a half while the office staff did nothing. There was also noise from the balcony above and other locations. They seem to have zero control of the facility and like to "laugh it off". I almost forgot, roaches in the bathroom.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
4  Thank JRH75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seaislandinn2, General Manager at Best Western Sea Island Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 27, 2011

Thank you for contacting Trip Advisor regarding your recent stay. Please accept our apologies for any inconvenience you encountered. It is our goal to provide the highest level of customer service and safety to all our guests. We rely on our guests to let us know when we have fallen short. Comments such as yours permit us to target areas of concern and take the necessary steps to remedy the situation. If the author of this review would please contact me directly at the hotel so that we can rectify the situation it would be greatly appreciated. Again, please accept our sincere apologies. We look forward to bringing you resolution and satisfaction concerning this matter.
Lisa Hudson
General Manager
843-522-2090 Ext. 260

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2011

This was my first trip to Beaufort, so I was checking out what's good or not. I first stayed at the Comfort Suites for two nights which is inexpensive and fine, but two miles outside of the historic Beaufort area and the harbor. Beaufort is a beautiful small historic town with many southern mansions located around a riverfront park area that's quite scenic. The "downtown" area with the mansions facing the river is centered around Bay Street and the park.

Because I wanted to see more of the Beaufort area, I returned the following week for another two days. I had seen the Best Western hotel which has a perfect location facing the river area on Bay Street next to downtown. So I stayed there. It's an older two-story hotel with an attractive brick facade and outdoor corridors to the rooms. The building has been maintained well, and overall my room was nice, albeit a bit dated. But no complaints except that I was surprised to discover the hotel building has no wireless internet. Unfortunately, my Apple laptop only uses wireless connections, so I was without internet service for two days.

My overall stay was decent, and the value is okay. I recommend the Best Western if you really want to stay in the heart of Beaufort where you can walk everywhere and relax in this small town. Stay at the Comfort Suites if you want a less expensive comfortable chain hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank chessie3315
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seaislandinn2, General Manager at Best Western Sea Island Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 3, 2011

Thank you for your review. As for your issues with our Internet connection, due to the age of our building, standard wireless connections will not work in all areas. We do however have wireless access in our public areas including the lobby and in the pool area. We are working on a wireless soultion for our guest rooms that should be completed by the start of Summer. Again, thank you and we hope you will give us another try soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2011

This was an older hotel that obviouly had recently had some very nice remodeling. The rooms were freshly decorated and inviting and the bed was heavenly after a long dirve. Very comfortable and clean. The bathroom was smaller that the ones you find in a newer hotel but adequate and again very clean. The location was perfect - within sight of the river and very easy access to to riverwalk for a peaceful stroll. I loved that they had umbrella tables outside the dinning area so that you could sit and sip your morning coffee outside under the tress after breakfast. If we come again I would love to spend more time at the hotel and exploring the area nearby..

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank happytravelers1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seaislandinn2, Manager at Best Western Sea Island Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2011

Thank you for the positive comments! Our team is dedicated to upkeep and appearance of our little Inn. Thank you for noticing. We look forward to your return!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2011

I can't say enough about the hotel. From the minute we walked in, the staff was very friendly and helpful with suggestions on where to dine and our breakfast was wonderful as well as the restaurant we ate at. The location is great for walking around along the waterfront, shops, art gallarys and restaurants. The room was beautiful decorated as well immaculatly clean. Thank your for a wonderful stay!

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Breckinsgram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seaislandinn2, Manager at Best Western Sea Island Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2011

Expericences like yours is what drives our entire staff every day. If fact, our goal is 100% guest satisfaction and we won't rest until we achieve it. Thank you so much for the the kuddos. We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2011

Great Location, manager was very nice to us and honored an internet rate that had expired. Rooms were on the small side but the location and the good free breakfast made up for that.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hudy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seaislandinn2, Manager at Best Western Sea Island Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2011

Yes are lucky to have such as awesome location! Thank you for your positive remarks and hopefully on your return visit we can get you into a bigger room. Come again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2011

Rose at the front desk was extremely friendly and helpful upon check-in, giving us their local guide to the city with staff restaurant recommendations. The room was great, like new and fresh, 2 queen beds, fridge, microwave, table & chairs, with internet access. The breakfast was quite extensive offering one hot item (eggs or biscuits & gravy), plus all the usual cereals, fruit, waffles, muffins, bagels, juices, coffee, etc. The breakfast room was a separate area across from the office, which I really liked...more like a restaurant feel than sitting in a hotel lobby to eat. It also had outside tables to sit and have a cup of coffee in the morning or a glass of wine (BYOB) in the evening while viewing the marina which was right across the street. This hotel location was excellent, right across the street from the marina, tour buses & carriages, and the waterfront park. It's also at the edge of the historic district within easy walking distance to historic homes and all the shops and restaurants. The hotel grounds are well landscaped and clean. It's safe, quiet, friendly, and relaxing. It was by far the best vacation spot I've been to and the proximity, cleanliness and price of this hotel was exceptional. Oh yes...and the parking is free and close.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JAMinGA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seaislandinn2, Manager at Best Western Sea Island Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2011

WOW! We are absolutely overwhelmed by your glowing review! Thank you and PLEASE come back and see us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Beaufort hotels
0.2 mi away
City Loft Hotel
City Loft Hotel
#1 of 15 in Beaufort
966 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Beaufort Inn
The Beaufort Inn
#3 of 15 in Beaufort
1,230 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Beaufort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn & Suites Beaufort at Highway 21
1.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Beaufort
Hampton Inn Beaufort
#6 of 15 in Beaufort
741 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Rhett House Inn
The Rhett House Inn
#4 of 15 in Beaufort
1,020 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Sea Island Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Sea Island Inn

Address: 1015 Bay Street, Beaufort, SC 29902-5514 (Formerly BEST WESTERN Sea Island Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Beaufort
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Beaufort
#2 Family Hotel in Beaufort
#3 Green Hotel in Beaufort
#4 Romantic Hotel in Beaufort
#8 Business Hotel in Beaufort
Price Range: $165 - $192 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Sea Island Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the BEST WESTERN Sea Island InnStay in the heart of the Beaufort Historic District and explore the antebellum homes,plantations,and secluded islands of South Carolina Low Country at our charming Beaufort hotel located on the Beaufort River. Walk to quaint shops,art galleries,book stores,and a variety of cafés,bistros,coffee shops,and fine restaurants just steps from our Beaufort hotel.When you stay at our unique Beaufort hotel you'll also enjoy a perfect home base for exploring Hilton Head,Charleston and Savannah,which are less than an hour's drive away. Escape to our Beaufort hotel and experience Southern hospitality at its finest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Best Western, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Best Western Sea Island Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Sea Island Hotel Beaufort
Best Western Beaufort
Beaufort Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing