We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Experience!”

Beaufort Kayak Tours
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Owner-operated Beaufort Kayak Tours provides narrated natural and cultural history tours in the scenic waters of Beaufort County. Kayak with Kim and David to visit historical downtown Beaufort, the secluded ACE Basin, or the palm-studded lagoon of Hunting Island. Discover our area's Civil War history, the impact of rice culture, and the mysteries of the salt marsh and barrier islands. Please visit our website for more information.
Virginia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great Experience!”
Reviewed February 25, 2011

We had the pleasure to go kayaking with David on 2/24/11. He was a great kayak instructor as we were 2 kayak novices. We enjoyed the kayaking in the Beaufort river along with David's knowlegeable history and nature tour! We hope to try the Hunting Island trip next time we are in town. We highly recommend this tour to others!

Visited February 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank BeachLover1399
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    134
    3
    0
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Level Contributor
80 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Highly recommended!”
Reviewed February 17, 2011

Hubby & I went to Beaufort for a weekend getaway. We took the late afternoon/sunset marsh kayak tour. What a great time! Kim & David obviously love what they do. They were so accommodating & patient with first time kayakers. They are very knowledgeable about the area, the ecosystem and the wildlife we saw. They were also personable and friendly. They make it interactive- you "dock" on land & get out & talk about the ecosystem- my husband was like a kid playing in the mud- when he got to dig around for little "mud crab" things. It was very worth it and we'll do it again someday.

Visited March 2010
Helpful?
2 Thank pitahead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
43 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Memorable experience”
Reviewed November 24, 2010

There are many Kayak outfitters providing services in the Hilton Head Island area. Various packages and adventures are available and after some research we chose Beaufort Kayak Tours. We also wanted to visit Hunting Island and take a carriage ride through historic Beaufort, so starting our day early, with a kayak tour made sense.
It turned out to be a great decision. We contacted them and spoke to Kim who provided detailed information and answered all our questions. In our group of four, we had seasoned, experienced kayakers, to a novice who was not confortable on water. Kim assured us that we would all equally enjoy the tour. She also emailed us the directions to the meeting point which was on Hunting Island.
The dirve from Hilton Head Island to Hunting Island was 1.5 hrs - we were fortunate to encounter no traffic delays as the bridge to Lady Island was not up. Once we arrived at the meeting point, Kim and Dave lead us to the water and instructed the group on how to hold the paddle and manouver the kayak. The setting was lovely!
The equipment was all top notch and of good quality - the kayaks were excellent and not the cheap kind that most outfitters provided. We took the guided tour through Hunting Island and leisurely explored the surrounding salt marshes, palmetto fringed beaches - one which was featured in the movie Forrest Gump as the setting for Vietnam War scenes, and stopped to walk on the sand bar that jutted out into the Atlantic Ocean.
Kim and Dave are certified Master Naturalists and it is evident that they enjoy their work and love the area. They provided commentary on many of the sights we saw and also educated the group on the impotance of maintaining the area's ecological lifecycle.
The balance between kayaking and several well planned stops was pertectly timed, as it allowed the novice in our group to rest, while maintaining the interest of the rest of the clients.
The lagoon is home to an abundance of wild life and taking a trip with Beaufort Kayak Tours introduced us to many that call this area home. I highly recommend this tour provider and it was well worth the effort to drive from Hilton Head Island. Don't forget to visit Beaufort as well.

Helpful?
4 Thank CatharineB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“My favorite vacation experince.”
Reviewed October 16, 2010

We took this tour last summer with three generations of the family ranging in ages from 11-70. We were all rookie kayakers. We had a great time, learned so much and became lovers of kayaking.

Helpful?
4 Thank anothersixtieschild
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benicia
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Thank You, Thank You, Thank You!”
Reviewed September 12, 2010

Dave and Kim,
Kevin and I just wanted to thank you again for the fabulous Kayak Tour! It was a highlight of our trip to the East Coast. We also wanted to thank you for suggesting the all you can eat BBQ at the town square...oh my goodness, all of the samples were fabulous and it was geat to taste so many of the signature foods for the area. It too was a highlight!! The other couple that was on the kayak tour suggested that while we were in Savannah we stop by the Bohemian Hotel to admire the art and we did... If you have their contatct info, please let them know that they were right, the art was beautiful and we went to the top of the building to have a sweet tea and admire the view. They had a great suggestion!
Again, thank you so much for a wonderful afternoon. We will never forget our first experience Kayaking!!
Kevin and Tricia Peck

Helpful?
3 Thank trida2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Beaufort Kayak Tours also viewed

Beaufort, Coastal South Carolina
Beaufort, Coastal South Carolina
 
Beaufort, Coastal South Carolina
Beaufort, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Beaufort Kayak Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing