We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfectly fine hotel and close to PI for USMC graduation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn & Suites Beaufort at Highway 21
Ranked #5 of 15 Hotels in Beaufort
Certificate of Excellence
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Perfectly fine hotel and close to PI for USMC graduation”
Reviewed July 9, 2011

My daughter and sister and I stayed here for two nights for my nephew's graduation from boot camp. I stay at a lot of hotels and a lot of Holiday Inns. We arrived very late (2300) and check in was still very smooth. Lobby had obvioulsy been newly remodeled. Elevators were clean, worked well and had helpful info on the various specials (recommend the 4.99 breakfast special). We had a "suite" which was 2 queens in one room and a pull out sofa in the other with microwave and half-fridge. Daughter and sister raved about how comfy the beds were. A/C worked great. Bathroom was so clean I couldn't tell it couldn't tell it had been used before (no stray hair...). Pull out bed was not so great (3" foam mattress), but what do you expect - fine for two nights. The hotel was having issues with the internet and went through the trouble of putting a letter under every door explaining the problem and that they were working on it - that is simply attentive management!! Paid roughly 150/night including taxes.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank phsinv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

487 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    280
    138
    32
    26
    11
See reviews for
189
134
26
67
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tucker, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2011

We have checked this property out in advance and made sure we only spent time in Beaufort from Tuesday through Friday due to a weekend convention in the city, which to us meant that all the hotels there will likely fill and that the resulting service may not be as good.

Upon checking in we noticed that our room while clean overall, did have 3 spots on the carpet at the couch that looked like blood or possibly grease, that have not been looked after throughout the period of our stay.

The main problem we encoutered was inability to access the wireless internet in our room. Once we were able to actually be "in" the system would immediately pull us out. We are fully experienced with passwords and upon calling the front desk, all they did was to refer us to an 800 number that kept advising us that the system is "slow." My wife even approached the Chief Engineer about the problem and he was of no help although very polite.. Frankly, the business center computers worked just fine so, it seems that it is really a question of not paying enough for the service to the rooms. .

Our encounters with all employees were pleasant and we did use the restaurant. There are a couple of suggestions for the restaurant breakfast service: . Have sufficient pens available when presenting the check. The server should have a computer station in the restaurant area, rather than having to walk to the front desk in order to have a room charge validated.

Overall I would still recommend this hotel but, having noticed that they won the 2010 Award they should strive to have better internet service.

Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank gorgonzola_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saddle River NJ
Level 6 Contributor
349 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2011

In our opinion this is a very lovely, clean, and total relaxing hotel close to down town and has all of the anemities one needs while staying in Beaufort.
The pool is lovely, fitness center is up to date, the grounds are well kept, the patio out from the bar area allows you to inhale the sights and sounds of the marsh and the staff is excellent.
This is our third time here and I would rate it a A for sure. You cannot beat their breakfast, and the orange juice is so fresh like we just squeezed those oranges our selves.
There might be other 's in the area, and they might be cheaper, but our room was just lovely and you would have never known that there were 3 weddings in this hotel.
We slept soundly.

Room Tip: I do prefer a higher level room, myself,
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fitterSaddleRiverNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pepperell, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 15, 2011

I stayed here when my brother graduated from the USMC recently. I had a reservation problem that I discussed with the front desk, who were rude and unhelpful. I then requested to speak with the manager, who was also rude and unhelpful. Although the rooms were clean enough and the location close to Parris Island, I would not recommend this hotel, nor will I ever stay at a Holiday Inn again.
Also, the pool was indoors (who has an indoor pool in SC), it was very small, and had an extreme amount of cholirine in it, to the point my eyes were watering. Also, there is very little space to lay out in the sun. The only redeeminjg quality was the bartender, who was very curteous and helpful when we had some questions on dining spots in the area.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eflynn35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2011

We went to pick up my son for graduation from USMC bootcamp. Easy to find the base, very clean. great bar and pool. Would stay here again. Beds were REALLY nice and was happy with my decision.

Room Tip: I would sign up for their rewards program before
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank janeinpenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2011

We LOVED this Holiday Inn! It is gorgeous and the rooms are wonderful. They have a nice quaint bar with outside seating for nice chill nights and a wonderful resteraunt with in room service as well. It's located near downtown but not in downtown. The ONLY con and it's not a negative con just a con, is that it's not really near anything. A couple bars in walking distance and some chain resteraunts that you can get anywhere. Other then that we loved the area and this hotel made it better!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scgurl185
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2011

We were in town for a wedding, with the kids at home and a nice romantic getaway in our sights. We booked the jacuzzi room, and couldn't wait. On the morning of the check-in day, the hotel called to notify that they did not have anymore 2 queen jacuzzi suites available, but there was a king jacuzzi suite available...no biggie, although it's discomforting to know they overbooked. We arrived and checked in and everything was perfect, with a glorious view overlooking the winding marsh. We laid down to take a nap, but were awoken an hour later by a loud dripping. Basically, the suite above us had a major leak which made our ceiling CRACK and begin steadily dripping water into OUR JACUZZI. I went to the front desk to let them know that our ceiling was literally falling in to be told that they were all out of jacuzzi suites...Okay, this is a bummer for sure but it's just one of those things...the issue is that the room they moved us to was a standard king room (nice and all, but ignores the whole point as to why we picked this hotel) with a view of the PARKING LOT. Oh, and they dropped the rate to only $10 under the best available rate. After 3 failed attempts to talk to a manager over a span of 36 hours, I simply gave in and sucked it up.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ASANT12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Beaufort hotels
0.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Beaufort
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Beaufort
Hampton Inn Beaufort
#6 of 15 in Beaufort
719 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sleep Inn Beaufort
Sleep Inn Beaufort
#7 of 15 in Beaufort
348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Comfort Suites Beaufort
Comfort Suites Beaufort
#9 of 15 in Beaufort
564 reviews
1.7 mi away
City Loft Hotel
City Loft Hotel
#1 of 15 in Beaufort
947 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Beaufort Inn
The Beaufort Inn
#4 of 15 in Beaufort
1,196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn & Suites Beaufort at Highway 21? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn & Suites Beaufort at Highway 21

Property: Holiday Inn & Suites Beaufort at Highway 21
Address: 2225 Boundary St, Beaufort, SC 29902-3831
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Beaufort
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Beaufort
#5 Romantic Hotel in Beaufort
#9 Family Hotel in Beaufort
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn & Suites Beaufort at Highway 21 3*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the best hotel in Beaufort, SC! You'll discover Southern hospitality and charm at the new Holiday Inn Hotel Beaufort, nestled in the heart of South Carolina's Lowcountry. Our location is just off Highway 170 and Route 21 and overlooks the Beaufort River in Beaufort, SC, an antebellum seaside town surrounded by history and beauty. Our hotel in Beaufort, SC welcomes the family and friends attending the year-round graduation ceremonies at the Parris Island Marine Recruitment Center, six miles from our hotel. Beaufort's downtown is rich in history and just one mile away. Enjoy a relaxing and educational horse-drawn buggy tour to discover the secrets of historic Beaufort. And it's easy to spend a day on the inter-coastal waterways of Seabrook Island or Hilton Head Island, as both are just a half-hour away. The Holiday Inn Beaufort is designed to meet the needs of corporate, government, groups and leisure travelers. We are centrally located to Beaufort s business district, two miles from the University of South Carolina at Beaufort and just minutes from Beaufort Memorial Hospital. Our guests can relax around our indoor heated pool & whirlpool or enjoy a workout in the fitness center. A 24-hour business center allows you to catch up on work or check your email. The Holiday Inn Hotel Beaufort welcomes you with top-notch service and true Southern hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, IHG, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn & Suites Beaufort at Highway 21 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Hotel And Suites Beaufort
Holiday Inn Beaufort
Beaufort Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing