We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best tasting pizza in the lowcountry”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Upper Crust

The Upper Crust
Ranked #53 of 160 Restaurants in Beaufort
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
33 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Best tasting pizza in the lowcountry”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2012 via mobile

From start to finish Upper Crust is on top. Fried cheese is a taste of heaven, best french fries around, pasta and dishes are excellent, but the pizza is the highlight. Any pizza you can add or take away and they all come out with the best quality. Anything on the menu is a winner!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jfolds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    36
    13
    1
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Pizza is awesome”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2012 via mobile

If you ever visit Beaufort SC this is a must place to eat. The food is awesome and the service is excellent. It was a little hard to find, it sits off the main road and it's not visible at all from the road. But it's was so worth it once we found it.

Helpful?
Thank Christina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina
1 review
“Bad service, bad pizza, just bad, bad, bad.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2012

First, it was a hassle to even find the place. We got directions there from a local who worked at a bar and grill, then spent atleast 10 minutes circling the area and trying to cut through traffic to get to the place. When we got there it took a while for the waitress to notice there were three hungry people at the door, waiting to be seated. She led us to a table that had not been cleaned off, handed us some menus, and took our drink orders. I don't think the drinks got refilled in the hour+ we were there, but I may be wrong. Oh, and the water tasted like dirt, but that might just be what tap water tastes like in Beaufort. Well, a minute later she came to take our order; when we said we might need another minute to decide, she left and returned 15 minutes later. We ordered the veggie pizza (very expensive) and a salad. The salad was pretty good, strange dressing but it's hard to mess up a salad. Apparently it's not so hard to mess up a pizza, however... After what was probably 35 minutes of waiting and talking and twiddling of thumbs, she brought over our pizza, almost dropping it in the process. So we prepared to dig in... Whoever was in the kitchen making the pizza had no idea what they were doing. The cheese wasn't salty AT ALL, had absolutely no flavor to it. They had added so many veggies that the crust on the bottom was completely soggy. The only edible part was the outer crust, which was still slightly undercooked. The whole pizza was overall disgusting, difficult to force down. At the table, we made slightly awkward conversation about the food with each other, no one wanting to admit how bad it was. Then one of us went out and said "this kinda of sucks" and we all agreed it was pretty much the worst pizza ever. We each had about one slice each and wondered what to do with the rest. Looking around, the couple at the table next to ours had disappeared, possibly walked out without paying the bill and left the majority of their pizza and salad on the table. The large group beside us was leaving too, and we heard them joking about how they didn't even want the leftovers, calling out "free pizza, anyone?" and one muttered "they might as well call this place the lower crust". But, being thrifty folk, we didn't want to just leave it behind to be thrown away. We tried to call the waitress to get a box, and it took 10 minutes for her to come over. Then it took 10 more minutes for her to bring back a box. We tried to get a check, which took 5 more minutes. Then she brought us the wrong check, for someone else's table. Ironically, if we hadn't said anything and just kept that check it would have cost 5 dollars less for us. It took 10 more minutes to get her to come over and exchange the checks. Then 10 minutes more of waiting for her to pick up the credit card and receipt. So, terrible terrible service. Left a decent tip anyways, just because we'd feel bad. I would have felt perfectly justified just walking out of there and leaving the food and the receipt, seeing as we hardly ate anything and didn't enjoy it anyways, but we paid and left. We ended up taking the leftover pizza back to our hotel, trying later to microwave it and eat some more, but it was completely unbearable. I'm not a picky eater and it was just impossible to eat. I wanted to just throw it away, but we decided to give it to the dogs when we got back home. Actually even they didn't eat it (because it had gone bad in the the car and ended up getting thrown away, not because they were too picky, although that would've been funny.) So overall: Terrible service with a highschool waitress, terribly soggy and tasteless pizza. I don't know why the place was so crowded, unless they were all tourists like us, and the place only makes good food for the locals? We wanted to support a local business, but should've just ordered Domino's. Would have been cheaper, quicker, and ACTUALLY EDIBLE.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank J H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south carolina
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best in the area”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2012

Out of the way location hidden from the highway, but sure worth the look. Our service was very good, and the Cast Net pizza was delicious. We knew the address, and still had a hard time finding it, and we live on St Helena Is a half a year for two years now!
Behind a building for sale across from Greyco. You have to drive back there because you cannot see it from Parkway.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank wecwec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boylston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
46 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Best Pizza on the Islands”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2012

Have visited this pizzeria several times while vacationing on nearby islands. It is located in the rear of a small plaza on Rte 21 and only its sign is visible from the highway.

The pizzeria is small, but offers a good variety of pizza, calzones, Italian dishes, and freshly-made salads. The restaurant is neat, clean, and the staff is courteous and helpful. Pizza is hot and tasty with a choice of fresh toppings. Salads are fresh, ample, and delicious. THE place to go for pizza while visiting the islands.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Maureen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Upper Crust also viewed

Beaufort, Coastal South Carolina
Beaufort, Coastal South Carolina
 
Lady's Island, Coastal South Carolina
Beaufort, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to The Upper Crust? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing