We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Must stop and must visit if in the area”
Review of Emily's Restaurant

Emily's Restaurant
Ranked #11 of 161 Restaurants in Beaufort
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $30
Cuisines: Seafood, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Business meetings, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Must stop and must visit if in the area”
Reviewed November 3, 2012

Great food, great portions. Our waitress Vanessa was superb, knowledgeable on wines and menu. Cozy place with upscale food at great prices. A must visit if in the Beaufort area.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Aterho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emilysrestaurant, Owner at Emily's Restaurant, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Thank you for your wonderful review of Emily's. We really appreciate this and will be sure to tell Vanessa that you liked the service that she provided.
Thanks again!
Mary, Tommy, and the Great Chef Mike
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

610 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    360
    148
    67
    18
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Blue Hill, ME
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Emily's, always...”
Reviewed November 2, 2012

Our family has been eating at Emily's for years, usually to celebrate a birthday or some other family event. Sadly, our parents have passed on, but my sister and I returned to Beaufort a couple of weeks ago for a visit. Naturally, we had dinner at Emily's. We shared several tapas, all delicious as usual. Our service was friendly and competent, provided by Mariah. We left marveling at how wonderful it is that Emily's has maintained such a consistent high level of dining.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mariah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emilysrestaurant, Owner at Emily's Restaurant, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Thank you so much for your feedback of Emily's. Glad that your experience went well! We really appreciate you taking the time to write a review and hope that your experiences at Emily's will always be great.
Thanks again!
Mary, Tommy and the Great Chef Mike
mary@emilysrestaurant.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
90 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“What were you thinking?”
Reviewed October 30, 2012

OK, people: take responsibility. We went to Emily's because so many of you wrote nice reviews, but it wasn't very good. The place is nice enough; we sat away from the bar in a dining room with pretty starlights and eclectic art on the walls. We had two overlapping waitresses; perhaps one was a trainee. Lots of cheer and laughter but pretty crummy service. The wine list was bleak although by-the-glass prices for supermarket wines and beers were fair. The food? I ordered what they called a tapa but was really a half-dozen oysters casino. The oysters were smothered by salt, bacon, cheese and crust so that perhaps there was no oyster at all, just a half shell. The house salad was a kitchen sink affair -- nice greens and tiny, tasteless shrimp, bell pepper, red onions, canned artichokes, a store-bought tomato; even a baby gherkin, drenched in vinaigrette. The dinner special was 4 scallops sautéed with peanuts and served on a citrus and balsamic reduction that overwhelmed them. The she-crab soup was short on crab but pleasant enough and the shrimp and grits was generous but sodden and salty with chunks of supermarket kielbasa instead of tasso ham. "How'd you like it?" one of the wait women asked. Not so much, I said. "Oh, I'll tell the chef," she said. End of conversation.

OK, it's Beaufort, not Charleston. But still....

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank William H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Okatie, South Carolina
1 review
“Judy in Okatie”
Reviewed October 29, 2012

We had a family (22 members) dinner on a busy Saturday evening. The service given is by Ed, Jay and London was outstanding. The food was wonderful and arrived in a timely manner. Our family could not have been more pleased. This will definitely become one of our go to places in Beaufort.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Judy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emilysrestaurant, Owner at Emily's Restaurant, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Thank you so much for your review. Ed, London and Jay are great and we are so glad you enjoyed their service!
Thanks Again,
Tommy, Mary and Great Chef Mike
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garnet Valley, Pennsylvania
1 review
“Delightful!!”
Reviewed October 24, 2012

This was our second time to Emily's and each visit was delightful. Great menu, lots of choices, interesting tapas. Food was terrific. Vanessa added her personal "magic - warm, lively, fun - to make our visit special. We'll be back again.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tfg78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emilysrestaurant, Owner at Emily's Restaurant, responded to this review, October 27, 2012
Thank you so much! You are so kind to write and visit Emily's again! We will let Vanessa know that you thought everything was good.
Again, we really appreciate your wonderful review.
Mary and Tommy Winburn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Emily's Restaurant also viewed

Beaufort, Coastal South Carolina
Beaufort, Coastal South Carolina
 
Beaufort, Coastal South Carolina
Beaufort, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Emily's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing