We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5-star food and service”
Review of Emily's Restaurant

Emily's Restaurant
Ranked #11 of 161 Restaurants in Beaufort
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $30
Cuisines: Seafood, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Large groups, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Batesburg, South Carolina
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“5-star food and service”
Reviewed October 12, 2011

If you are ever in the Beaufort area you HAVE to go to Emily's. Our experience there was amazing, from the fabulous service provided by Vanessa (who was also very knowledgeable and helpful in our ordering process) to each delicious bite of 5-star quality food. There is not one negative thing to be said. We can't wait until we have the chance to go back to Emily's!

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Aly E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

621 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    365
    152
    69
    18
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Allendale, South Carolina
2 reviews
“Will be back to try more!”
Reviewed October 5, 2011

Came in to town to visit friends at the beach. We were looking for something different so we went to Emily's at locals suggestions. Yummo!! So glad we did. The food and service were excellent. I had steak dinner that I am now convinced is the best thing I have ever tasted. My friend had the shrimp and grits and even the tapas were out of this world. Thanks Emily's! We loved Vanessa too as our server. Sue

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SueFisher1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fripp Island, SC
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“What a Nightmare!”
Reviewed October 3, 2011

We arrived as a party of 13 at 7pm for a 7:30 reservation which had been made well in advance. We were seated right away...good start. Three people ordered cocktails...all of which were watered down. The server did not take our food order until 8:15. At 9:30, our food started coming out...in pieces...two served...wait....three served....longer wait. At 5 minutes until 10, I was finally served. Four of the meals were inedible....overcooked steak, tough veal, etc.
The manager came out and explained that his kitchen staff had been drinking all day. Sorry for the problem...$10 off.
A terrible situation....handled very poorly!

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank christinefripp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A Hidden Gem behind Bay Street”
Reviewed September 26, 2011

Known more to the locals than tourists, Emily's is one block off the beaten path in beautiful downtown Beaufort. The proprietor is extremely friendly and the staff service is great. After starting off with the oyster appetizer, we followed with the steak au poivre and shrimp and grits dinners. It was all delicious! (Locally caught Beaufort shrimp is the best, and we found out that Emily's had previously won the top award for the best shrimp and grits at the annual Beaufort Shrimp Festival.) Emily's also has a very wide selection of tapas, which I and some friends sampled at the bar on a previous trip... every selection was a delight. The patrons were all very friendly, and it made for a wonderful evening.

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank archigator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A fabulous restuarant in a beautiful seaside town”
Reviewed September 21, 2011

We stumbled into Emily's. The food was extraordinary. We had Tapas or small dishes. We shared a salad with the best balsamic dressing. (I don't like balsamic) We ordered and split mussels, quail, stuffed mushrooms and boar sausage. Everything excited our taste buds. Presentation and service was excellent.The staff is friendly and didn't let me water glass go down more than half way. I drink tea and was given a second tea as I finished my first and that was a first. Coffee is always refilled with having to be asked, never tea. The decor is warm and inviting for conversation and eating.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BBSD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Emily's Restaurant also viewed

Beaufort, Coastal South Carolina
Beaufort, Coastal South Carolina
 
Beaufort, Coastal South Carolina
Beaufort, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Emily's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing