We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Shrimp and Grits very flavorful”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Plums

Plums
Ranked #13 of 160 Restaurants in Beaufort
Price range: $20 - $30
Cuisines: Seafood, American, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children, Dining on a budget, Scenic view, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: West
Description: Creative Lowcountry Cuisine.... Plums is known for our ever changing menus. We combine seasonal fresh local ingredients in Global dishes.
Fort Collins, CO
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Shrimp and Grits very flavorful”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2013

We had dinner here with another couple we met at our B and B, Cuthbert House Inn. The shrimp and grits were very tasty with a savory sauce, The crab cake appetizer was thick, tender with a decent flavor. The service was good.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DeniseB_CO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,337 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    487
    460
    245
    88
    57
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
32 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Don't miss free oyster Friday!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2013

My husband and I were in Beaufort for a weekend getaway in March. We arrived late afternoon on Friday and once we settled into our room at the Beaufort Inn, we went strolling around town. Luckily we ran across the sidewalk sign at Plums that said "Free Oyster Friday 5:00 - 7:00". We were skeptical, but decided to check it out. We sat down in the street side room near the oysters (you can also sit in the bar area for a water view). The deal was legit, and the oysters were very fresh local oysters. We both ordered a few beers and enjoyed several nice freshly shucked oysters each all for about 20 bucks. A nice little discovery for oyster lovers. We would have stayed for dinner but already had reservations elsewhere. If you love oysters and seafood, check out Plums.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank td193
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boothwyn, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lunch with a View”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2013

We arrived in the middle of the lunch rush to find there were no tables available inside, but we could be seated on the heated porch. Although it was windy and a little chilly, the staff promptly turned on the overhead heaters, and we were quite comfortable. Our server, Abby, provided
friendly and efficient service. Both my husband's crab cake po'boy and my fried oysters were tasty as were the sweet potato fries. It was quite enjoyable to sit out and enjoy the water view, and I ended up being happy that there was no room inside!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank retiredteach35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilson, North Carolina
Level Contributor
25 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Yum Yum for Plums”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2013

had a quick late morning lunch here after walking the riverwalk....so came upon Plums from the porch side....had a lovely little table with overhead heater so we were very comfortable while we ate our lowcountry gumbo....how delicious....absolutely the best and my husband doesn't usually like this sort of food....but he raved on its tastiness....lots of chicken and andouille sausage...okra....yum....very pleasant wait staff even offering to take a picture of us...I didn't have to ask....just great southern hospitality....thank you PLUMS!!!!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank meellie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, TX
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Plums right on target”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2013

Revisited Plums after 5 years on a wintry day in March. Filled with locals on a Sunday afternoon, good salads and sandwiches that met expectations. Nothing fancy, but good food and friendly service.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank divinewood56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Plums also viewed

Beaufort, Coastal South Carolina
Beaufort, Coastal South Carolina
 
Beaufort, Coastal South Carolina
Beaufort, Coastal South Carolina
 
Beaufort, Coastal South Carolina
Beaufort, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Plums? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing