We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gastropub Excellence”

The Old Bull Tavern
Ranked #1 of 163 Restaurants in Beaufort
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $18
Cuisines: Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: The Old Bull Tavern is a modern day Gastropub serving old world recipes prepared with care and where possible with locally sourced ingredients. The beverages offering includes craft cocktails, regional beers, and a comprehensive wine list.
Reviewed July 1, 2014

While in Beaufort, SC for some leasure time, had the opportunity to go to the Old Bull Tavern. Good thing we arrived when they opened as we had no reservation. We were seated immediately but those wandering in with no reservations after 5:30 had little to no luck securing a table as they were booked. We started with chicken liver pate and pork belly buns. My wife did not like the pate as well as her favorite restaurant in Aiken but----the pork belly buns were most excellent. Next time, that will be my entree they were so good. After a Pimm's cup cocktail and an LBG (Lemon, Basil, Ginger & Vodka) we ordered dinner. The ricotta gnocci with shrimp and the duck confit were superb. What a delightful dining experience and our waiter Gabriel enhanced the experience significantly. This is now on our "must come back" list.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Anthony L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marshalljohn1, Owner at The Old Bull Tavern, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2014

Anthony L,
So nice to read we are your "must come back" spot in Beaufort. That's exactly what we strive for and it always a pleasure to see a familiar face grace our doorway. Happy we could provide you and your wife with a nice evening.
Kind regards,
John Marshall and the staff at Old Bull Tavern

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,005)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

784 - 788 of 1,005 reviews

Reviewed June 30, 2014

Being from Chicago, we have a wide choice of fantastic restaurants and the Old Bull Tavern would fit right in with them. Outstanding drinks, great menu, and atmosphere all add up to a wonderful night. We go here every time we are in town and it never fails to deliver. I can't recommend high enough.

Thank roberttO5735CI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marshalljohn1, Owner at The Old Bull Tavern, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2014

Robert T,
Thank you for taking the time to share your "Incredible" review. Nice to know we have become a regular spot for you when you are in town. We look forward to seeing you again the next time you visit beautiful Beaufort.
Kind regards,
John Marshall and the staff at Old Bull Tavern

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2014

Just a block off Bay Street, there is a small restaurant with a small sign that says "This is our sign". At Old Bull, they aren't flashy because they don't have to be...the food speaks for itself. Chef John and Oscar have a passion for food and it's contagious. The food is local and fresh and is allowed to shine. The burger is the best I've ever had, with nothing other than goats cheese...simply delicious. Try the Orient Express or the Purgatory if you're perusing the bar menu!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank MSaltrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marshalljohn1, Owner at The Old Bull Tavern, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2014

MSaltrick,
Thank you very much for your "Amazing" review. It was especially nice to read that you noticed our passion for providing a warm atmosphere along with great food and drink. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Kind regards,
John Marshall and the staff at Old Bull Tavern

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2014

I had a hard time selecting an entree because the menu is odd and not southern. It's European. But, everyone at our table (11 of us) walked away full and happy. I was worried about eating the lamb but my friend who is local recommended it. She was right. YUM! It's a little bitty spot with a whole lot of culinary umph!

Thank sandra s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marshalljohn1, Owner at The Old Bull Tavern, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2014

Sandra S,

Lovely to know your were brought to our little gastropub by a local.
We are itty bitty in size, but we try to make up for it in heart.
Thanks for coming, thanks for posting.
Best,
John Marshall

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2014 via mobile

This restaurant was highy recommended by the person whom we stated with. The food was great and the service was excellent. Any of the dishes you try will appeal your taste buds. We ended up eating here a number of time and were very satisfied. My wife and I especially loved their salad and desserts. Regardless of what you order you will be satisfied. Try the burger - the best I have ever tasted. While you are there say Hi to the manager, Oscar and Gabriel, the waiter. They will make you feel right at home. You can bet that when my wife and I return to Beaufort we will eat at the Old Bull Tavern.

Thank Angelo A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marshalljohn1, Owner at The Old Bull Tavern, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2014

Angelo A,
So pleased to read you enjoyed your first visit with us so much that you came back a few more times while you were town. We look forward to seeing you again and hopefully earning a five star rating.
Kind regards,
John Marshall and staff at Old Bull Tavern

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Old Bull Tavern also viewed

Beaufort, Coastal South Carolina
Beaufort, Coastal South Carolina
 
Beaufort, Coastal South Carolina
Beaufort, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to The Old Bull Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing