We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Old bull tavern”

The Old Bull Tavern
Ranked #2 of 160 Restaurants in Beaufort
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $18
Cuisines: Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The Old Bull Tavern is a modern day Gastropub serving old world recipes prepared with care and where possible with locally sourced ingredients. The beverages offering includes craft cocktails, regional beers, and a comprehensive wine list.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Old bull tavern”
Reviewed November 8, 2013 via mobile

Delicious food with unusual mixing of flavors. Great prices. Attentive, friendly service. Enjoyed mixed grill and beef tenderloin with large wonderful salad for two. High noise level only negative. Well worth the visit!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank paulnichols18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marshalljohn1, Owner at The Old Bull Tavern, responded to this review, November 29, 2013
Paulnichols18,
Thanks for the post and thanks for joining us. Happy to hear you had the kind of experience we work hard to provide. Get back in here soon.
Best,
Chef John Marshall
and the staff of
The Old Bull Tavern
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

900 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    695
    154
    41
    8
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Hernando, Florida
Level Contributor
42 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Real good -- no bull!”
Reviewed November 6, 2013

The Old Bull knows what hospitality should be! Brian went out of his way to make our evening (40th anniversary) special.
Noise? We sat in the back among some other quiet couples and had nothing to complain about. I could see that the folks up front and at the bar were really enjoying themselves. Once the food is served, however, the silence takes over, everyone is quietly awed.
We ordered our drinks and pleasantly chatted with Jen, our waitress. She was very nice and very proud of the Old Bull.
For an app we had the chicken liver pate. With the toasted bagette slices (nice big holes to hold the pate!) we were back in Paris!
Our entrees were the pork shoulder and the lamb shank -- absolutely delightful. We switched plates so we could both enjoy! It was up to me to finish both plates though!
Our only disappointment -- we were there on a Saturday night and couldn't come back the next night -- the Old Bull is closed Sundays...

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank billcanoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marshalljohn1, Owner at The Old Bull Tavern, responded to this review, November 29, 2013
Billcanoe,
Glad we could be part of your anniversary celebration. So happy you enjoyed the experience.
Best wishes for many more, I hope you will spend them in beautiful Beaufort, on the banquette
in the back of our little gastropub. Thanks and congrats.
Chef John Marshall
and the staff of
The Old Bull Tavern
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaufort, South Carolina
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“So noisy”
Reviewed November 3, 2013 via mobile

Great food! Great service! Great drinks! Great people! Way Way to noisy! I mean really noisy! I did not want to talk anyway, because the food was really good.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Paddle12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marshalljohn1, Owner at The Old Bull Tavern, responded to this review, November 29, 2013
Paddle12,
Glad you found the food, drinks and service to be "great".
It can get really loud in here, my suggestion is to ask for a table in the back of the restaurant.
Hope to see you again soon.
Best,
John Marshall
and the staff of
The Old Bull Tavern
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“good food and drinks”
Reviewed November 2, 2013

Deviled eggs with wasabi and prosciutto were exceptional. Also enjoyed the wine makers salad and Purgatory cocktail. Noisy but friendly and fun place to eat. Prices reasonable, too.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank AnnClarkeSnell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marshalljohn1, Owner at The Old Bull Tavern, responded to this review, November 29, 2013
AnnClarkSnell,
Thanks for joining us. Glad you enjoyed the experience.
Hope you get a chance to travel from Asheville on a regular basis, and that you'll join us again. We'll try to keep it fun for you.
Best Regards,
Chef John Marshall
and the staff of
The Old Bull Tavern
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Modesto, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best Vacation Meal”
Reviewed October 22, 2013

If you are in the Beaufort, SC, area, don't miss out on having a meal at the Old Bull Tavern. We made reservations for a Tuesday evening and glad we did. It is a small place and there were people waiting for tables when we arrived. My husband had the lamb shanks and said it was the best meal of our vacation. I had the ricotta gnocci and they were pillows of goodness. The service was terrific.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Judean2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marshalljohn1, Owner at The Old Bull Tavern, responded to this review, November 29, 2013
Judean2013,
Thanks so much for your visit and kind post. Glad we could provide "the best meal" on your vacation. Hope you have opportunity to come back to beautiful Beaufort and our little gastropub soon.
Best,
Chef John Marshall
and the staff of
The Old Bull Tavern
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Old Bull Tavern also viewed

Beaufort, Coastal South Carolina
Beaufort, Coastal South Carolina
 
Beaufort, Coastal South Carolina
Beaufort, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to The Old Bull Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing