We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just what we were looking for!”

The Old Bull Tavern
Ranked #1 of 163 Restaurants in Beaufort
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $18
Cuisines: Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: The Old Bull Tavern is a modern day Gastropub serving old world recipes prepared with care and where possible with locally sourced ingredients. The beverages offering includes craft cocktails, regional beers, and a comprehensive wine list.
Reviewed April 26, 2013 via mobile

Regular Beaufort visitors came to town looking for a good cocktail and dinner as well. Bypassed the usual picks when we spotted Old Bull Tavern, and the atmosphere, service and food did not disappoint! Sat at the bar and had exceptional service from both bartenders. Tried several of their signature creations including Orient Express, Purgatory and Lucky Peach - all wonderful. Enjoyed these drinks with some tavern cheese and toast bar snacks. Chose a winemakers salad and two small entrees of gnocchi and soft shell crab. Best gnocchi I've found in years! Would absolutely recommend to locals and tourists alike! Can't wait to go back soon!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank KRyeJo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marshalljohn1, Owner at The Old Bull Tavern, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2013

Thanks so much for stopping in to the Old Bull Tavern. I am pleased that you had an opportunity to try a few of our signature cocktails. Your bartenders, Matthew and Ryan work hard to keep the offering interesting. The kitchen was happy to hear that you enjoyed the Gnocchi - they put the dimple in each and every one.

Hope you get back to beautiful Beaufort soon, and that you come and see us when you do.

Best Regards,

Chef John Marshall

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (991)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

950 - 954 of 992 reviews

Reviewed April 22, 2013

There wasn't a lot on the menu that I liked but I ordered the spaghetti with meat sauce and it was very good. The service was excellent. We spoke with the owner and he was very friendly and even gave us some tips on what to do in Beaufort. Very nice experience.

Thank Vicki M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marshalljohn1, Owner at The Old Bull Tavern, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2013

Vicky M
Thanks for visiting the Old Bull Tavern. Sorry our menu was not what you had in mind on your visit, but I am glad you found our Fettucine Bolognese to your liking. We make the pasta in house each day, and the meat sauce is a slow cooked combination of beef, veal, pork in a tomato base. The menu changes frequently and is posted in the window. Next time you are in Beaufort, check it out, we would love to have you back. Glad your service was in order, and that I could give you a couple tips about the area.

Best Regards,
Chef John Marshall

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2013

What a fabulous dinner! Every restaurant needs staff like Gabriel who are not only attentive without being intrusive but also knowledgeable and passionate about the menu. My husband is a lover of craft beer and Gabriel made several recommendations even going so far as to bring him a sample to make sure it was a hit. The appetizers which we ordered upon seeing them at the tables next to us- bruschetta and the steamed buns and pork bellies were wonderful and unlike anything I've tasted before. The drink which was recommended for me after describing my tastes was the Orient Express- a complex vodka drink- was very unique and refreshing. But the most fabulous item was the homemade linguini with porchetta and sausage with a lemon cream sauce. A delight!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Alyssa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marshalljohn1, Owner at The Old Bull Tavern, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2013

Alyssa S,

Thanks for visiting The Old Bull Tavern. I have a staff that I am very proud of and it's always great to hear that they took care of you. From Sebastian, Jimmy, and Andrew in the kitchen, Ryan and Matthew behind the bar, Gabriel, Elysse, Ariel and Jen on the service staff, it was a pleasure -
Best Regards,
Chef John Marshall

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2013

Believe. Visiting from England, we read the reviews on TripAdvisor and booked for Saturday. The restaurant, service, owner and food are divine. Taking the best American ingredients to produce inspiring food that travels across Europe. The restaurant was packed and the 'noise' that some reviewers have referred to is simply people enjoying themselves in a wonderful atmosphere and having fun.
Eclectic menu comprising Morrocan beef and lamb shank as well as middle plates of confit of duck and pastas. Started with the soft shell crab in a tomato sauce, the crab was sensational and complemented by the sweetness of tomatoes. Include in your choice the bar snacks, we had the pork belly buns which were inspiring.
John Marshall and his team have created something very special. Enjoy it and do not lose what you have created. When we return to Beaufort, I hope we will still be able to get a table, as this place has really taken off.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Victoria D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marshalljohn1, Owner at The Old Bull Tavern, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2013

VictoriaD,
When I shared with the staff that we had our first reservation call from England, everyone was
amazed. So happy you found our place to your liking. It was a pleasure to meet you and a pleasure to serve you.

Best Regards,
Chef John Marshall

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2013

There is not a large sign out front but the fire pit on West Street near Bay guides you into one of the best venues in Beaufort. We stayed nearby in March and stopped in every evening. We had already made plans for dinner very evening but we did try the bar snack menu. The food was good, service was very good, and the ambiance excellent. Owner John Marshall greets you warmly and has a friendly goodbye when you leave. We will stop here for dinner the next time we are in Beaufort.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 50Stater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marshalljohn1, Owner at The Old Bull Tavern, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2013

50Stater,
Thanks for stopping in each evening you were in Beaufort, and for your kind words. Glad you enjoyed the drinks and bar snacks. We look forward to your return visit to sample the rest of the menu.
Best,
Chef John Marshall

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Old Bull Tavern also viewed

Beaufort, Coastal South Carolina
Beaufort, Coastal South Carolina
 
Beaufort, Coastal South Carolina
Beaufort, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to The Old Bull Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing